We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach

Save
Share
1956 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/11/22
Hotels.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/11/22
Algotels
US$192
View deal
Booking.comUS$243
TravelocityUS$214
PricelineUS$214
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (478)
360
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (400)

About

#57 of 93 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
2096Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 733
  • 691
  • 413
  • 155
  • 104
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
craigb31 wrote a review 9 Nov
Edmonton, Canada128 contributions34 helpful votes
It was an ok place to stay for my first visit to Hawaii Positives: Fast and efficient check in and check out. The hotel was relatively clean and quiet Housekeeping - was the 5th day for me as I was there for 7days - I was able to swap towels with the staff when I saw them in the hallways Point of improvement - The hotel charges a resort fee. According to their website, for the privilege of paying the resort fee you get: Daily Resort Charge will be added to the room rate and includes: WiFi; 10% off Hiking Hawaii Café, Trees Restaurant, beach chair/umbrella rental; movies/games; 2 beach towels; Kualoa Ranch 2 for 1 tour; CinemAttraction 2 for 1 entrance; 20% off sail; 15% off Lappert’s ice cream; cultural activities. I had to pay the Resort fee, but I was not allowed to get any of these benefits as I had booked the room through a third party. If we are not allowed to get any of these, why do we have to pay it. It's just extra revenue for the hotel with no benefit to me - just the extra cost. There are restaurants around there (5 minute) that are cheaper than Trees, and I ended up going there. Would I go back - maybe nothing stood out enough to give it a definite yes or bad enough to say forget it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Craig, We are ecstatic to see that you had a peaceful stay with us. Thank you for the feedback on the resort fees. We will certainly discuss this internally. If you are ever back in the area, we hope you give us another chance. David Means, Interim General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott S wrote a review Feb 2022
6 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Had stayed at this Doubletree by Hilton a few times and each stay has more than met my expectations, including my most recent visit to this property. I love the fact that this DTbH is centrally located, the staff is always so welcoming and who can forget those warm chocolate chip cookies that Doubletree by Hilton is known for; the Hiiking Cafe that adjoins the hotel was also a great place for breakfast. (I forget the owners name, but she does have that same last name as me, anyway---she was awesome!!!)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 26 Feb 2022
Dear Scott, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Honolulu. It's great to hear you and your family are returning guests, and you enjoyed our lovely accommodations, convenient location, delicious dining, and exceptional service. We hope to see you again at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach. Come back soon. Fernando Vazquez, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MariusAviation wrote a review 9 Nov
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Numerous visits to this property, always a hot water problem. Checkin is ultra slow. Staff definitely does not make you feel welcome. Lower rooms are RedRoof in quality with really small bathrooms. Pool is small and shaded by noon. Breakfast is very poor. Parking is $50 per night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share your constructive feedback. Thank you for the opportunity to host you again as our valued guest, and we hope you enjoyed your time exploring our beautiful island. Rest assured, our housekeeping team will ensure our accommodations are fresh and clean. Parking can be a challenge in Waikiki Beach, so we're pleased to offer the option of on-site parking. Our rates are published online so they can be reviewed before arrival. We'll strive to improve, and we hope to have another chance to change your perceptions. David Means, Interim General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angel F wrote a review Oct 2022
Ko Samui, Thailand4 contributions2 helpful votes
Worst hotel checkin experience ever. Staff didn't full explain anything. If you are a civilian, no military, hotel staff don't care about civilans at all. Hotel Director wants to charge civilians for the parking and resort fees and taxes. Staff doesn't want to answer questions, and front office staff talks down or demeans guests. Does this sound like a place you want to stay? The lift for handicapped was not working, and probably never will. Not a priority for guests, they possibly expect cripppled people to walk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Angel, We are sorry to hear about any aspects of your time with us that you found to be less than ideal. Our team works hard to provide the most efficient, so we are sorry to hear this wasn't your experience and that information was thoroughly explained. Please know that we welcome and appreciate all of our guests equally. Your feedback will be reviewed with the appropriate staff to ensure that we are meeting our own high hospitality standards. That being said, if you wish to discuss your experience, please consider reaching out to us at the property. Our lines are open, and we look forward to hearing from you. David Means, Interim General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelinKiki wrote a review Oct 2022
Maryland291 contributions130 helpful votes
The hotel is fine. It's a standard Doubletree hotel. We booked a Corner King 1 BR Suite with 2 balconies, and requested an upgrade to the top floor rooms with the big lanais. We didn't get that upgrade but we were offered the room with the murphy bed (and a significantly worse view). We kept the original room we booked and had amazing views. The room was also a good size for what we needed. Yes, it's a bit beat up and showing the wear and tear, but for Hawaii prices, it was pretty good. The resort fee is not anything special. We paid $35/day and didn't use any of the "inclusion" and in fact, had to go down to specifically request the list of things we were supposed to get. Meh. The breakfast was fine, but it's a small buffet. Also, the daily credit for Honors members doesn't cover it. Location was great - walking distance to everything we wanted to do. Biggest peeve was the elevators. They were slow and small. There was lots of waiting for one, and when one did finally arrive, they were then packed full of people.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Corner King gave us great views with 2 balconies!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 11 Oct 2022
It was such a pleasure to welcome you to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach! We appreciate you taking a moment to mention our spectacular views, and it's fantastic to know that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. That being said, your feedback regarding aspects of your stay that could have been even better is gratefully received and allows us to review and improve guest satisfaction continually. Should your travels bring you back to the area in the future, we hope you'll consider staying with us again! Fernando Vazquez, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Todd C wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
Check-in experience was a little less than desirable. Some information was omitted. The resort fee is a huge ruse. Seems like everyone does this as the standard, but it added exactly ZERO benefit to my stay. It's $35/day for the "privilege" of really not that much and the not much are things that are included at other, similar properties. Had an $18/day credit toward a meal at their lobby-level restaurant. For the breakfast buffet, which was pretty standard Hilton fare, that reduced the $27 rate to $9. That was probably more in line with its value, though similar items are included at other Hiltons. I am guessing it goes to wait and kitchen staff on hand. The facility was a bit dated, but I didn't go to Hawai'i to hang out in the hotel. It was passable for what I needed, but expected more from a Double Tree, especially in Waikiki.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Dear Todd, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. Any fees that we have goes to ensure that each guest is having a phenomenal experience. We welcome all guest feedback, and you can be confident that we will discuss yours to ensure that everything is in top-notch condition. It would be an honor to have another chance to impress you. Fernando Vazquez, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hinrichsudo wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Clean Hotel with Balcony, clean and spacious rooms, nice staff ( but don’t rely on wake up calls), parking and close to the beaches. Shops, Restaurants and banks all close to the hotel. 10 min walk to the Ft. Russel beach
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 Oct 2022
We are delighted that you were able to spend some time at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach! From our clean and comfortable accommodations to our advantageous location, we're excited that you had a great time with us. It is our hope that we will be able to have another opportunity to provide you with an impressive experience in the future! Fernando Vazquez, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daxa M wrote a review Sep 2022
Bradford, United Kingdom27 contributions11 helpful votes
I would not rate this place at all. It gave false reviews . Very rundown is the hotel a horrible smell in the bedroom . It sure does updating . We were suppose to stay 10 days but we checked out after a night and moved to another hotel . I couldn’t bear to stay there made me feel very gloomy as soon as I saw the room . Plus we paid nearly 300 pounds for a night which was so expensive for what it was . I could have stayed can I have my money back . I don’t recommend this hotel . One of the staff was very sympathetic with us . She was helpful .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 25 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always endeavor to provide a high-quality experience for all of our guests, so it is deeply disappointing to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. Your feedback regarding our accommodations will be discussed with our team to ensure that we are meeting our own high hospitality standards. Thank you, and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Fernando Vazquez, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TWAjunkie wrote a review Sep 2022
Palm Springs, California84 contributions53 helpful votes
Doubletree Alana couldn't have been better. Great room and view, great beds, great bathroom, wonderful bar (and bartenders, and Maria, the waitress there), excellent caring front desk clerks (go Wendy!) and all around excellent place to stay near everything.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 25 Sep 2022
The views are beautiful, and we're so pleased they helped make your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach special! It's also great to know that our comfortable rooms and friendly staff impressed you. If your adventures bring you back to the area, please come see us again. Fernando Vazquez, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rondeang wrote a review Sep 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution
In spite of requests for quiet room they put us across ice maker that run’s all night. They required us to pay additional to accommodate us to our need (1 king bed got me and my wife) inspite of being available during our checkin.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 23 Sep 2022
This is not what we like to hear. We are so sorry that your room was not to your satisfaction. While we are always happy to accommodate where we can, sometimes, it's not possible, and certain room categories may require an additional fee if not booked initially. Our apologies for any disappointment in this respect. Overall, we hope you had a fabulous time here in paradise. Fernando Vazquez, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$256 - US$361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
317
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON HOTEL ALANA - WAIKIKI BEACH: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 835 Photos (Honolulu, HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Nearby attractions include Honolulu Cookie Company (0.4 km), Waikiki Starlight Luau (0.5 km), and Ala Wai Canal (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tropical Tribe, goofy cafe & dine, and Aloha Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (3.6 km), Iolani Palace (3.5 km), and Shangri La (5.1 km).
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.