We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar

Save
Share
Naro-Moru Nanyuki Highway, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$108
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Nanyuki Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Soames Hotel and Jacks Bar is a beautiful newly constructed hotel and restaurant, located 7km from Nanyuki town on the Nanyuki Naro-Moru highway. An out of town hotel, set within a 100 acre private property overlooking Mount Kenya. Its classic contemporary style with a clean cut modern look, simply and tastefully furnished, is a great place for a meal out or an overnight stay. In the heart of the main hotel lounge area is Jack's Bar, serving freshly brewed Ethiopia coffee, cocktails and drinks with a good selection of wines, and a tempting snack menu. The cuisine is excellent, serving favorite dishes from all over the world, using the best and most fresh ingredients available, and home-made as much as possible. The hotel has 12 double en-suit rooms, with a double or twin bed configuration, flat screen TV, modern bathroom facilities and a dressing room / work space. All rooms have tea and coffee facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Darts
Airport transportation
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
143Reviews0Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 44
  • 2
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Angela W wrote a review May 2021
Pasadena, California36 contributions23 helpful votes
After the worst night's stay we've ever experienced, we came down the road to stay here and it was SUCH a beautiful, fantastic change (for not much more in price)! The rooms are gorgeous - simple, spacious and luxurious. Love the art around the rooms and reception! This was a very restful, comfortable, relaxing place to stay and recuperate from a Mt. Kenya hike! Meals are ordered a la carte which is not too common right now with the pandemic. Bar is reasonably priced and we had a nice chat with the bartender! Everything feels clean and safe, and while there is a mosquito net, you really don't need it as they spray for mosquitos every day. Breakfast on the patio is gorgeous and there's a beautiful view of Mt. Kenya from everywhere! Would absolutely stay here again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view of Mt. Kenya!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Traveler wrote a review Mar 2021
Kyiv (Kiev), Ukraine531 contributions114 helpful votes
Overpriced for what you get. Hotel is in a middle of grass field There is nothing there but man made pond. There is no landscape, no flowers. Lobby is nice. Room.is large but there is no screens on windows so you can't open them.for.fresh air. There is no fan, no AC. TV has 7 channels. The worst is stuff. There is no receptionist. Bartender / manager is not pleasant . And all stuff are like that. Upon entering we were just standing there helpless while they were passing us without even asking if we need anything . Get your act together people. Learn some hospitality and how to treat your guests
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Phillipa Bengough, Owner at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Responded 8 Mar 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to review Soames Hotel. We always appreciate the feedback we get, and will take on your comments positively and constructively. We are an 'out-of-town' hotel and have never pretend to be anything other than this. If you were looking for a more wilderness place to stay there are many lovely options. We keep our grounds simple to conserve the amount of water necessary to keep them going. When we started this project 8 years ago there was literally nothing here so we are happy to at least have some medium size trees growing. All our rooms have 5 big windows and double doors. They all open up fully and we do not need screens as we have so few insects. The bed has a mosquito net for night time use. As for 'value for money' we rate along the same lines (or lower) than most similar properties in the region. I am sorry for the poor service you received - we mostly get excellent comments about our team - almost all have been here since the start. I believe it was not intended, and we are grateful you pointed this out so that we can look at ways to ensure guests on arrival get a little more attention. Hope you enjoyed your time in Nanyuki.
Read more
Alexander K wrote a review Jan 2021
4 contributions
So’ames, what a wonderful little oasis with great views. We had been invited along by friends who couldn’t stop raving about it and they weren’t exaggerating. The food was absolutely delicious, the wine fantastic and the staff incredible, very warm, welcoming and efficient. We will definitely be returning and can certainly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Mutiga wrote a review Jan 2021
Nairobi Region, Kenya3 contributions1 helpful vote
4th visit and we continue to love Soames. Quiet, neat, serene and excellent food. The staff too are friendly and accommodating. Well organized with good views of the mountain and a convenient location off the main road and to the wider region. Did I mention the food?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Grace K wrote a review Nov 2020
Juja, Kenya25 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stay with friends in the cottages for two nights. The staff were welcoming and helpful.The entire grounds, buildings and rooms were well kept, clean, cosy with a simple farmhouse concept. Meals are prepared fresh and decent portions of not too hungry😋. We appeciated beautiful sights of Mt. Kenya from the cottage rooms and outdoor dining area. Overall prices are slightly on the higher side.The double room was Ksh 11,000 for BB that accommodates. The Menu at the time due to COVID was alacarte and not buffet on average meals range ksh 1000-2000.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceLaikipia CountyNanyuki MunicipalityNanyuki Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Which popular attractions are close to Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Nearby attractions include Equator Marker (6.0 km) and Lewa Downs Primary School (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trout Tree, Cape Chestnut Laikipia Sip & Dine Nanyuki, and Carol's Cafe.
Does Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar have airport transportation?
Yes, Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
Is Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.