We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Buena Onda

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Buena Onda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Buena Onda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2016

the main hostel was full so we were given a private room with shared bath in the annex which is one black west of the main hostel. the hostel is clean, the bed was comfy, the free coffee was excellent, but the noise level in the room.... INSANE. the windows of rooms 3 & 4 face the sidewalk of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10flags
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you a lot for your review. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Unfortunately our main hostel was full when you arrived. The rooms in our economic hostel you mentioned, indeed are noisy, this is why we always tell this to our guests before they decide to stay in one of...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

Private rooms were full so I ended up in the dorm. Comfy beds, clean bathroom and the separate locker room makes for a quiet dorm. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, good breakfast, lots of info about tours available, lots of cosy common space, quick laundry service, good wifi (although not always in the dorm). Restaurants nearby so no need to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siel
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, It was a pleasure to have your as our guest. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to give the best service to our guests. Trying to give all the information you need for a joyful stay in Matagalpa. We work together with Matagalpa Tours and other tour providers...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We booked into room D - second floor - which was a good room as it was large with a double bed (two single beds pushed together); basic bathroom with shower ; plenty of windows so you got a nice cross breeze and could easily hear the roosters / dogs at 5ish; above the laundry room, a comfy chair to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreshGuru
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear traveler, We appreciate the time you took to write this very detailed review about us. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There is one thing I would like to make clear though, as we remember it very well. We did arrange you the airport transportation in very short time but you were not willing...

Calgary
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

We came without a reservation just as darkness was arriving. As a group of six, we can sometimes be a bit difficult to accommodate. However, in addition to the main building, they have a few rooms in a building a few doors down. These were somewhat dark, but with lots of space and storage. Floors and beds were impeccable. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kottbullar
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you so much for this great review. We are happy that we could still accommodate all of you in the early evening. You've been wonderful guests, we hope to have you back some day.

Reviewed 20 November 2015

We went to Matagalpa without any reservations, and this place was recommended to us. While not fancy at all, we were amazed at the place! They have everything from $8 bunks in a dorm to a private king room with en suite bathroom (which is what we got). For $30, we got the room, free internet (the fastest we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennings W
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you so much for this great review. It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The climate in Matagalpa is indeed lovely. We hope to have you back some day soon.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

This is a very nice hostel with a good dorm with huge lockers and bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately you have to pay extra to use the kitchen and it is not well equipped, but at least there is one. Be sure to double check on their tour recommendations. We went to the chocolate factory -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sissel I
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are happy to inform you that we do not charge kitchen use anymore thanks to our guests recommendation, just like yours. Thank you for writing this review. The waterfall and the chocolate factory are tourist attractions that are recommended throughout the country and in most travel books. We do not feel like it is our fault that...

Key West Florida
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I stayed La Buena Onda for 3 weeks I was studying Spanish and having some dental work done at Sonrisa Sona which is a very good dental connection A great place. Private rooms are large and the staff is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reuben D
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Reuben D, It's been a pleasure to have you as our guests. We hope to have you back again soon. Thank you a lot for taking the time to write us this great review.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 November 2015

This is a great place to stay. Beds in the dorms are good and affordable, there is a nice TV area with lots of movies and the central courtyard has hammocks to chill out in. Breakfast is good, but tiny, so you will definitely need to get another one somewhere else. The staff is friendly but not too knowledgeable about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roelvdk
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you a lot for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologizes for the misunderstandings regarding to your onward travel. We will talk about this with our staff to see where this went wrong. We have all bus schedules available of the buses that depart from Matagalpa. Sometimes bus...

virginia
Reviewed 2 November 2015

I stayed in one of the private rooms with a private bath. It was huge, clean, and included breakfast. I had a queen size bed! It was immaculately clean.The upstairs balcony gives you a nice view of the city. The common areas are spacious and the wi-fi was solid (except in my room) when I was there. My room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luke47
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy about the fact that Gerald did a good job explaining you about what to do and where to go in Matagalpa. Our apologize for the noise ( music ) that day. A couple of days per year, shops in the neighborhood use big speakers to promote their discounts....

Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the dorm for three nights and as previously mentioned it was a fantastic dorm and the entire place was sparkling with cleanliness. I have never seen such a clean bathroom in a dorm with 7 beds! It felt like at someones home. All Staff was very nice and attentive. The check-in as well as other services provided (laundry,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VanitaO
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you a lot for your review. The positive things you write about our hostel and staff makes us feel very proud. We are very sorry about the water problem, unfortunately there is never a schedule for it. We do not know that water gets shut off on forehand. If we did, of course we would notify everyone...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
0.4 km away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
35 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
109 reviews
20.0 km away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hostal Ulap Yasica
Hostal Ulap Yasica
#2 of 26 in Matagalpa
71 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostal Martina's Place
Hostal Martina's Place
#1 of 15 in Matagalpa
126 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Hermosa
Hotel Villa Hermosa
#3 of 26 in Matagalpa
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to La Buena Onda, Matagalpa's first Hostel! Use us as a base to explore the beautiful city of Matagalpa and it's surrounding mountains and coffee farms, or just come relax with us and enjoy some amazing coffee and food from our cafe. Come swing in a hammock in our patio or on our balcony, take advantage of our free internet, cable TV or a DVD, or grab a book from our extensive library. We have dormitories and private rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Buena Onda

Address: Matagalpa 61000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Price Range: RM71 - RM156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Buena Onda staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Buena Onda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private room D was very nice and included breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles KristiK616, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The double room D was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles berendino, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a family it was nice to be on the first floor close to the common space.”
 of 5 bubbles scheidrews, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Know what you are getting before you book. Private rooms are the "hotel" category.”
 of 5 bubbles jcrew7, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Maybe ask for a room in the first floor ?”
 of 5 bubbles jerome_53000, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5