We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moonlight Bay Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Moonlight Bay Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The art in the hostel is amazing. The staff is very helpful for figuring out how to get to all major spots to visit. You could show up here and stay for a week with no plans and figure out an amazing time.

Helpful?
Thank Kingsy C
State of Bahia
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have come back to Moonlight Bay Hostel every time I visit Puerto Rico because it is perfect every time. The staff is very helpful, the location is perfect for visiting the jungle and the small islands Culebra and Vieques!! I'll be back next year once again! Me encanta este lugar porque todos alli son bien genial y amable! Regresare... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jussfor A
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel's only redeemable quality is that it is close to the ferrys. It was not that nice, the A/C did not work nor the fans. The area is not great, and taxis are non-existent. I would highly recommend spending the extra money on a local hotel if you are planning on taking the ferry in the morning.

Helpful?
Thank Deanna G
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The location is perfect, very close to the ferries and the staff are very friendly ..... bathrooms, sheets and place in general is clean compared to other hostels.... i recommend it to single and group stays.

Helpful?
Thank Sherif Z
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2016

the environment is very friendly.....the staffs are very much helpful....the location is best as the ferry is very near to it so that you can start early for the ferry......you can even cook here which helped me a lot......and about the rate....it is cheapest I think.....

Helpful?
Thank Ayan C
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The guy with whom we made the reservation was upfront about the location and clear about what was offered. Everything was very good except the shared bunkroom. The bunk beds were VERY clean. The room had a musty smell and one of the volunteers seemed to think the air conditioning was broken. The guy who manages the place (forgot his... More 

Helpful?
Thank OpheliaW906
Sam C, Manager at Moonlight Bay Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the honest and helpful review! We are sorry you weren't able to enjoy the pancake breakfast, but we hope that you enjoyed your time on the island. Our collective apologies for the AC mishap that occurred in your room. The incredibly hot temperatures put quite a strain on all of our units, but we do understand your... More 

Queens, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I booked it due to reviews, however, this place is filthy. I was not expecting much expect a clean bed to sleep and place to shower for the price. The bathrooms and rooms are not kept clean. I do understand that this is a hostel but to say it is clean it is not. I will say the staff is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chala518
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

I've never been to a hostel before so I was quite surprised that I would like it this much. I was drawn in by the price. Very affordable for being in Fajardo.Nice people, nice staff, and very clean. We actually got a private room for couples and it was great. I felt very safe there and comfortable. Has multiple bathrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisachavez07
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I had an incredible stay at Moonlight Bay. I arrived late at night after taking the ferry back from Vieques, and was greeted by work exchangers and one of the managers, Peter. Everyone was full of smiles and made me feel right at home. I loved how the hostel was filled with a variety of travelers from around the globe... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShayZeem
Mason, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Well, to be honest. I am writing this review from the computer at this hostel itself. I stayed here only for one night. Checked in late, after coming from culebra ferry. The location is best if you want to catch an early morning ferry. This place is right in front of the ferry boarding and ticketing location. Bathrooms and dormitories... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prateek S

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
0.7 km away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
937 reviews
10.3 km away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
21.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.1 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 km away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Moonlight Bay Hostel was just voted "The Best Hostel In Puerto Rico" by HostelWorld, the largest hostel booking site in the world! The Moonlight Bay Hostel in Fajardo, Puerto Rico is brand new and was founded by experienced world travelers with knowledge of the needs and desires of the typical hostel guest. With over $30,000 in renovations/improvements, a brand new 1,600 sq ft rooftop terrace and the expertise gained from visiting hostels in over 60 countries, our founders have discovered what it takes to truly make a hostel a "Destination" in itself! Your stay at Moonlight bay Hostel includes:-FREE sleep on: Brand new premium memory foam mattresses.-FREE air conditioned rooms.-FREE "do it yourself" all you can eat pancake breakfast daily.-FREE coffee & tea -FREE access to our Wi-Fi hotspot.-FREE towels and linens provided.-FREE usage of our in room security lockers.-FREE access to the largest Roof Top Terrace in Puerto Rico!-FREE access to our Roof Top terrace!-FREE phone calls to the USA and Puerto Rico!-FREE secure luggage storage.-FREE monthly Full Moon Parties!-FREE hot water showers.-And for your convenience and protection, all rooms are keyed and our staff is on-site 24-hours a day.Located 60 yards from the Bay and a popular port cafe and Bar, Moonlight bay Hostel is a 2 minute walk to the Culebra & Vieques Island ferry! Our Superb location, giant roof top Terrace, brand new facilities and amazing prices make staying in a Fajardo hotel crazy! Our Amazing location also puts you closer to the Fajardo Bio Bay and El Yunque rainforest entrance than any other hostel in Puerto Rico!With '5-star' amenities, amazing staff, prime location and the biggest outside hostel gathering area in Puerto Rico there is no better place to stay in Fajardo so come join us to keep the Puerto Rican Party going! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Hostel

Address: 478 Calle Cometa, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Price Range: RM116 - RM331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonlight Bay Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moonlight Bay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hostel Puerto Rico/Fajardo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moonlight Bay Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ferry is two minutes away”
 of 5 bubbles jussfora, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one with AC or more of a draft.”
 of 5 bubbles 868deannag, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“good place”
 of 5 bubbles 905sherifz, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you are looking for cheap.....go for 6 bed room....otherwise double bed room is good”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the all-girls dorm, but all rooms seemed great”
 of 5 bubbles ShayZeem, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay