We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Base Backpackers Wanaka

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Backpackers Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Base Backpacker costs 32$ a night, without WiFi. New World supermarket is just next door. The rooms are somewhat clean but mine smelled terrible. The bunk beds are big enough but they make horrible noises. The showers are brand new and very clean. The kitchen is the worst part of it. It is to small, it's really dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffen S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, shared accomodation with good wifi, people were friendly, kitchen was nice and large and well equipped although the frig was overflowed. Reaonsable prices and nice people, bed was comfortable and bathrooms were fine I'd stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't book really expecting much. Ended up booking a shared private room with ensuite because the price was ridiculously low compared to anything else in Wanaka and ended up leaving extremely impressed. Very clean but simple accomodation which is all you need when your skiing at the nearby Cardrona and Treble Cone ski resorts. Next door is a supermarket where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here a few nights, all the staff were really helpful. The kitchen was clean and tidy. The town is lovely and there's beautiful walks around to lakes to do. Base was great, rooms are nice, tiny bit on the small side if every bed is full. But there's a big reception area and tv room free for all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lcol3121
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night and I'm sorry to say it was awful. The room we were given had filthy sheets which had clearly been slept in many times previously. The girl at reception kindly moved us to another room but the sheets here also dirty. Very disappointing as it wasn't particularly cheap

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bourkecm
Sophie H, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback, I apologise that you didn't have a pleasant stay in our hostel. We have housekeeping staff that clean the rooms on a daily basis so i cant understand why you had dirty sheets in 2 different rooms and i will be taking this up...

Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight. First go at backpacker accommodation. Pleasantly surprised. Had a twin room with ensuite booked before arriving in NZ. Stongly advise to book ahead if you want similar facilities. Bathroom was the width of the shower, then the door, then opposite shower was a toilet. Hand basin (small) in between shower and toilet. Door touched one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malgor2480
Sophie H, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your 1st backpacker experience at Base Wanaka. I apologise that the room size didn't meet your needs and our rooms do vary in size i hope next time we can arrange a larger room. Its good to hear you weren't...

Reviewed 21 October 2016

I traveled New Zealand with Kiwi Experience and they recommend us to stay at Base in Wanaka. It's a great hostel, nice kitchen, good location (close to supermarket, restaurants and waterfront), comfy rooms and very friendly staff. They also have a really cool pub downstairs (try the teapot cocktails).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulinha d
Sophie H, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your lovely feedback and hope you choose to stay with us and other Base properties in the future. Kind Regards

Kilgarvan, Ireland
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Pros: good location, nice staff. Cons: The kitchen is tiny for the amount of people that the hostel can sleep, with no oven, very little cutlery, limited amounts of pots and pans and It always seemed to be dirty. It says on tripadvisor and hostel world that wifi is free which it isn't. Tv room has no channel just dvd's....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithicus
Sophie H, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. I apologise that you didn't enjoy your stay here at Base Wanaka and I hope you bought these issues up with my staff members during your stay as these issues are definitely ones that could have been fixed. With our high turnover of guests...

Hong Kong
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The location can't be beat. You are a few blocks away from the beautiful waterfront, where there are many restaurants for all budgets. There is also a big supermarket next door to stock up on water or breakfast if you don't choose their $5 buffet breakfast option. Parking is a block away in a big municipal lot and reception told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hkg2009hkg
Sophie H, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay here at Base Wanaka and we hope to see you here again in the future, thank you for bringing the water pressure to my attention I will look into that. Kind regards Sophie Heath General...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Had a fab stay here, was over visiting friends, and stayed here upon recommendation. The dormitories are clean, fresh and well maintained. The bar was great - reasonably priced food and drink. Would definitely recommend Base to anyone looking for greatly priced accommodation in Wanaka! Keep up the great work guys and hope to see you again on my trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank york-uk123
Sophie H, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. Really pleased to see you had a great stay here at Base Wanaka and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Sophie Heath General Manager Base Wanaka

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.0 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.1 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 48 in Wanaka
293 reviews
0.1 km away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
339 reviews
0.1 km away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#14 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
0.9 km away
Fairway Motel
Fairway Motel
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Wanaka

Address: 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: RM187 - RM360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Wanaka 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Base Backpackers Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers Wanaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The location was excellent as it was close to all of Wanaka and there parking was off street but reasonably close on the surrounding streets. ”
 of 5 bubbles rodneyp797, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fresh bathroom floor towel Turn on heater whenever you want Thicker pillow Window didn't shut properly ”
 of 5 bubbles 553jakec, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room over reception had great views and were quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Lizridge, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“ASK FOR A QUIET ROOM (not sure if any of them are though - Terrible noise!)”
 of 5 bubbles nicolacQ6972YB, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles williaml21, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay