We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harpers Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Harpers Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Harpers Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We staid one night. Very convenient (by car) to the downtown area. Breakfast was wonderful and the owners are so charming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and thank you for the great rating. The views are pretty awesome too.

Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2012

As the title says, a warm welcome and friendly hosts Jo & Ian could not have been any more accommadating. The friendly enviroment they have created in thier spacious home is every thing you could want from a B&B. The fine balance of being hosts while giving your own space has been achieved here with great effect as help is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed your company and I know the fishing was a great experience as well. We would love to have you return again some time.

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We wished we had stayed longer in this lovely place; Harpers and Wanaka deserve more than one night. The hospitality was warm but not intrusive, and the opportunity to chat to our hosts about New Zealand over breakfast was greatly appreciated. The view from our room was the best we have had in three scenic weeks in NZ. We just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe068
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Once again we are delighted with this positive review. We know we live in a special area and love to share it with our visitors. Thank you and we look forward to your possible return one day.

Dunedin
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This was the first stop on our week long holiday in December, and what a great way to start! Jo and Ian were wonderfully welcoming, and the tea and cakes were very much appreciated after a long day's drive. Jo was happy to book us a table for dinner and to phone the cinema to check the listings for us,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We enjoyed the company of both of you and would be delighted if you paid a return visit.

adamsmt25
Reviewed 6 December 2011

With time running out on our 2 week NZ trip, my wife and I decided to drive 7+ hrs in a day from Queenstown to Fox Glacier and back again to stay at Harpers in Wanaka. Fox Glacier was outstanding and we hit the road at about 6:00, hoping to arrive in Wanaka by 9:00 or so. We had planned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamsmt25
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We do appreciate your positive review. Maybe you may be able to return to our very special region in the future and spend more time.

Sydney
Reviewed 29 November 2011

It was lovely to stay with Jo and Ian. I was made to feel very welcome. Their local knoweldge is exceptional and they are more than happy to assist booking anything you may want to do and have so many useful suggestions for places to go and things to see. I was even lucky enough to borrow Ian's bike to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We think we live in a very special place and you obviously enjoyed it too. We look forward to your return.

Dunedin, NZ
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Ian and Jo are excellent hosts and we really couldnt have wished for any more from our stay. They are extremely warm and kind people, and the room was just as warm and cosy! From the moment we arrived and saw our names hand-written on the guest board on the cute blackboard we felt at home and there were lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank osmanahmed
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

What lovely comments. We also enjoyed your company very much and would be delighted to have you return. It is guests like you that make having a B&B so interesting.

Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Jo and Ian were delightful hosts, their B & B providing a good night's sleep, hearty breakfast and good recommendations for activities in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pcgolden
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review for us. We enjoy having guests to stay and do our best to give them a happy experience.

huntsville
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We had been recommended to stay at the Harper's Place and were not disappointed. Local knowledge, great connections and ideas about where to go from there. Ian and Jo are well known in the B&B community and all there ideas that we followed up on verified their excellent knowledge and reputation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baker2
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate positive feed back and enjoyed having you spend time with us.

Blackburn
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Although we were only staying here one night this is definitely one Bed and Breakfast where a week would still be too short a time! The location was stunning; the accommodation excellent and the company splendid! We were made most welcome into the home of Jo and Ian and I would have know hesitation at all in recommending Harpers to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tandemtwins
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Maybe we will see you return to this part of the world one day.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.0 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
656 reviews
0.9 km away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#10 of 57 in Wanaka
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
2.6 km away
Websters on Wanaka Lodge
Websters on Wanaka Lodge
#19 of 57 in Wanaka
79 reviews
4.5 km away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#17 of 57 in Wanaka
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm, friendly homestay within 5 minutes walk to lake and 15 minutes walk to town. Enjoy sharing breakfast stories with your hosts who have traveled quite extensively. Comfortable rooms with views of mountains and our extensive garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harpers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 95 McDougall Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: RM444 - RM507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harpers Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are just two rooms (1double, 1 twin) both of a very high standard of furnishing and decoration. We had the upstairs double with Great Lake views.”
 of 5 bubbles HarryB226, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The double room is larger and nicer than the twin room.”
 of 5 bubbles rosie_lusznat, 13 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The one on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles S4598DYcarlosl, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Stay at least 2 nights and enjoy the peace. Queenstown is far more commercial.”
 of 5 bubbles stevesyred, 9 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Upstairs room has great view of lake.”
 of 5 bubbles 255pauln, 16 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5