We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waiorau Homestead

Travellers' Choice award winner
23/06/2017 24/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Waiorau Homestead
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 333: English reviews
Start your review of Waiorau Homestead
 Click to rate
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Magical, spectacular, awesome. These are words to describe the setting of Waiorau Homestead. Cadrona is between the towns of Queenstown and Wanaka and the perfect location to base yourself for a stay in the Otago region. Ann and Blythe put the H into hospitably. Everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided and your hosts are extremely helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilHume
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay at theWaiorau Homestead was oh too short! This luxuriously appointed B&B is a gem placed in a beautiful setting. Our hosts– Ann & Blythe– were quite delightful and, if anything, over-accomodating. We did not have dinner here, but breakfast was varied and plentiful. This was one of our favorite nights in New Zealand!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ira M
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Ira How lovely to hear from you and thank you so much for taking the time to do this review for us us - we enjoyed having you and Donna here, although it was only a short time. See you NYC sometime, Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had a fantastic experience. The property is beautiful - Ann and Blythe were both lovely, highly recommend having dinner there. Rooms were immaculately appointed. Lovely walk to the Cardrona hotel for a drink from the property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Mark, so pleased you enjoyed your time at Waiorau and thank you very much for taking the time to do a lovely review for us. All the best. Ann & Blyth.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We only stayed one night (unfortunately) however the homestead was one of the most beautiful and luxurious stops on our trip. Hosts are wonderful and room/spa was very comfortable and clean. The homestead is about 15 min out of wanaka but the drive didn't bother us at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdg614
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you for taking the time to do this review and please do stay longer next time. Kind regards, A & B

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The home and surroundings were beautiful. The bed was small and unfomortable. Breakfast was real good with enough diversity. We had booked dinner. It was expensive (restaurant prices), but real good and big portions. What really was a disappointment was the wine was not included. This we did not know.. So when we were offered a glass of wine, we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anoniem_38
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Dear guests, we are pleased you enjoyed your meals with us. We have had many similar positive reviews over the years. Apologise if there was a misunderstanding over the wine - we always offer a complimentary glass either before or at dinner. Please let us know your details and we can sort that out. Kind regards, A&B.

Orinda, California
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Beautiful property, lovely room and scrumptious breakfast. So sorry we only stayed one night as we would have loved to have sat in the hot tub and enjoyed the stars a bit more. Loved that the property was out of town, very quiet and very close to the Cardrona Hotel, which made for an easy commute for yummy dinner at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Ellen Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review for us and we enjoyed having you to stay as well. And yes, stay longer next time! kind regards, A & B

Twizel, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 April 2017

A great stay in a quiet and relaxing location. The spa was a godsend after the Wanaka half marathon and the food was amazing. Mikes only comment was he wished he hadn;t filled up on snack food before he came out as he was unable to eat as much of the dinner as he would have liked as it was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Anna, thank you very much for taking the time to do this review - we appreciate our guests letting us know their feedback. And yes perhaps a longer stay next time? We look forward to meeting you soon. A&B

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 April 2017

This place is a bit pricey, so we only stayed one night - our last night before going back home. But we should have stayed at least two nights! Beautiful rooms, house and views. Perfect place to stay between hikes in the Wanaka area. Our room had a certain luxury feeling to it, and the common living rooms is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin_B_10
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Karin, thank you very much for your lovely and comprehensive review - we really appreciate our guests taking the time to give us feedback and sorry you didn't stay 2 nights - but perhaps next time! We hope you enjoyed all of your trip to NZ. All the best, A&B

Woodbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Waiorau is " awesome"... everything from the room to the bonus of A gourmet dinner... Book this place period !!! The location is only 15 minutes from Wanaka and the Cardrona Distillery.. a international award winner is next door

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Eric, thank you very much for doing this review for us and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us - like the "awesome"! Hope the rest of the trip went well. All the best, Blyth & Ann

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

This is truly a first class B&B deserving a full five stars. Beautiful setting, great hosts, wonderful room, and fabulous food. Blythe and Ann are true professionals who are not only knowledgeable about the area but also truly delightful people. If Blyth is cooking dinner when you're there don't miss the chance to experience his offering.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dojoe
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Dojoe, Thank you for taking the time to do this lovely review - we are very appreciative of our guests taking the time to do reviews for us. Delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and we would love to see you here again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
23/06/2017 24/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
21.3 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
762 reviews
22.2 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
424 reviews
22.2 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
25.2 km away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
1.2 km away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#6 of 52 in Wanaka
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: RM585 - RM1,068 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waiorau Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hukapapa is the room with the best views”
, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Harakeke room is great”
ValK866, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any, I am sure they would all be fine. However be advised that the room which states it has a bath, the bathroom is just across the hall.”
Knights59, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All gorgeous”
victorial453, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely and have Maori names. Look on the website to make your choice.”
SKIClub, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$165* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$165
Orbitz.com
Agoda.comUS$166
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates