We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Archway Motels

Show Prices
#17 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Archway Motels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Archway Motels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 18 June 2015

I love this place because in the morning, when I am eating my Museli I can look out at the mountains (on a clear day) and take in the grand view and wish I could stay longer. The owners are always very friendly and now that I've become a regular, I get the same room, making it feel like home....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HobbyRep
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Firstly thank you so much for your very positive feedback. After nearly 9 years at Archway its appreciative guests like yourself that really make the hosting all worth while. We are privileged to live in such a beautiful place with surrounding mountains & lake. We are not a new or trendy accommodation- but would like to think guests find it...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

We just stayed one night. Wanaka is a really lovely little town. The scenery along the lake is really nice. The owners of this motel were very nice and friendly. Our room was grand, it looked a bit older but was a decent size and really clean. The kitchen had a hob. As seems to be the case in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank champkis
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comments as we really appreciate them. We were pleased you enjoyed the facilities & unit and were comfortable. Wi-Fi these days is expected to be free. We do offer for 1 or 2 people at least 200MB for 2 devices free as a starter and if staying more nights at least 500MB. We hardly charge...

Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Perfect. A very comfortable room with all the facilities I required. Staff were very friendly and very helpful and their advice was spot on. Late book-in time along with a breakfast order was handled with ease. Nice and quiet but only a short walk into the heart of the city Will definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roscoe25
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, our service & the chalet unit. We do try and accommodate our guests needs and a late check-in & breakfast is no problem at all. It was very helpful & considerate of you to let us know you would be arriving outside office hours and we could...

Maleny, Australia
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We couldn't fault Archway Motels Wanaka. It's located opposite the DOC offic, and only a few minutes walk from town. Management was warm, friendly and very helpful. Our chalet was beautifully maintained, and equipped with everything we required. We had access to an outside BBQ, folding clothes drying rack, heater, electric blankets and extra woollen blankets. It's often the small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosella19
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

How wonderful to have such appreciative guests!!! It was our privilege to have you stay. Thank you for your very positive feedback- we value all guest experiences and views. We are always aiming to add or change things to increase your comfort, convenience and make the most of what is on offer.We hope most of your experiences were positive through...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2015

This motel has large comfortable and well equipped rooms in a lovely garden setting. It is well back from the main road so very little traffic noise. It maybe older but that is not relevant to the comfort . Barbecues outside almost every room and a sheltered seating area with table for outside meals. Good laundry facilities and good facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your complementary views & feedback. In Wanaka there are very few if any "new motels" as such but we are very lucky to be close to town but set back with peace & quiet space & shelter. We are always trying to upgrade the facilities & rooms so hopefully next visit we will have some new experiences...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

This motel is a bit older and the rooms aren't large but all essentials are provided and the garden setting is very pleasant. Our room looked towards the main road in to Wanaka but was set well back with grass and trees between us and the road. The kitchen area is well equipped with a double hob, microwave and electric...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane47uk
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback & positive comments .We really value your opinions. Perception is everything and we often "compare" based on the last place we stayed or the last holiday we had. A guest just commented yesterday about the comment of the room being on the smaller side and they felt it was quite generous compared to where they...

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 31 January 2015

they had good BBQ grills outside each room. room was spacious and comfortable. kitchen well equipped. big bed. staff was really nice! a little bit outside the city center but as Wanaka is so small, that does not matter so much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiff_girl87
nz
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We had 2 nights at the Archway Motels last week and wish we could have stayed longer! Our room was a self-contained stand-alone chalet away from the road so very private and quiet. It was clean, comfortable, roomy and well-equipped. Handy to grocery store for supplies and national park headquarters for info. Lovely helpful staff:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avoca063
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 December 2014

The motel is older but in reasonable condition. However our room smelt damp and we were bent out of shape getting up in the morning, the bed was terrible. Bridget was very helpful however checking we had made it through the pass before they closed it. Handy to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy v
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid comments we always value and respect guests views. However we must say we were shocked as we have not once had a comment that our beds are terrible. They are less than 2 years old and have luxury mattress toppers & bedding on these king beds. Compared to the motel when we took them over...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 November 2014

We stayed here the one night during a tiki tour of the lower S Island. I had asked for a certain room via my booking which was accommodated. We were warned that the room was a bit smelly due to previous nights occupants. Paul showed us in and immediately we were hit by a very strong smell! The smell you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seascape1066
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your review is a little confusing for viewers so we wished to clarify the situation. We did mention about the pasta smell which was from the microwave. We spent 5 hours attempting to rid the microwave and room of any residual odours.( We have many remedies so 90% they work well). However, the lovely...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.3 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.3 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
731 reviews
0.5 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
479 reviews
2.6 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.5 km away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: RM395 - RM725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Archway Motels staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Singapore

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Archway Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't want to walk up a hill make sure you have a car”
 of 5 bubbles lochlanna, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the family unit nearest the office.”
 of 5 bubbles linzj2014, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was towards the back and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you check that the wifi key works first before the owners settle in for the night.”
 of 5 bubbles manic_cornflakes, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are perfect for large families or groups.”
 of 5 bubbles kimdes0956, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5