We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka

Show Prices
#5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 311: English reviews
Start your review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had no problem with the actual accommodation here. The rooms were spotless, the ladies on the front desk were absolutely lovely and we really enjoyed the hot tub and sauna. I didn’t even mind paying for Wi-Fi or the café/bar that felt a bit like a high school cafeteria. HOWEVER, while checking in, my friends and I stupidly agreed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Moorookian
Kaydee G, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Hello Moorookian, Thank you for taking the time to review Wyndham Resort Wanaka. Although I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean and tidy facilities along with our lovely reception staff I apologise your were disappointed with your Wyndham Ownership Update. Most of our guests and owners really appreciate the presentations regarding the wonderful travel world of Wyndham especially...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved our stay in wanaka. Awesome town and this is a great resort. Heated pool with slide, spa and sauna. We had a 1 bedroom and it was great. Friendly, welcoming staff. Walk into town from resort. Walking to lake wanaka from resort. Well equipped rooms and overall nice resort

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
Management response:

Dear Andrew Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Wanaka certainly is a great town and we are pleased to hear you made the most of the Resort facilities while you were here & were happy with your apartment. We pride ourselves on our welcoming & friendly staff here at Wyndham Wanaka. We hope to see...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Accessed by an outside stairway the accom is more motel like than a hotel. That said the room was spacious, spotless and well equipped complete with covered balcony. Large comfy bed in our Alpine Studio, along with a powerful shower and little kitchen area ( no sink). Lack of free wifi is just penny pinching in this day and age.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blade4ever
Management response:

Hello there Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with us at Wyndham Wanaka. We are pleased to hear you were happy with the facilities in your Alpine Studio and that you found it spotless and comfortable. We hope you will come and stay with us again. Kind regards Rachel Read

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room wasn't terrible, very basic. However it was on the outside of the town with no cellphone reception. Wifi was not complementary and was very expensive to buy, it's 2017 wifi should be included in the room cost along with every other accomodation we have used. Also had a very insistent staff member that made our trip a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maddieis2017
Kaydee G, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Hello Maddieis2017, Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at Wyndham Resort Wanaka. I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Our WIFI is charged at the rate of $6 and can be used by up to 4 devices. We do however offer free WIFI for our Wyndham Rewards members. This...

Woodland, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort quiet and pleasant, and the staff is helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious and clean. The pool area has good seating areas and BBQ. The pool towels were a bit worn. There is a small café and bar with breakfast and dinner options. The resort is a short walk to town if you choose not to rent a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gshe2016
Management response:

Hello there Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you found your room spacious and clean and were happy with everything in the Resort. We love our location and the stroll along the lake to town. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Rachel Read

rotorua
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We arrived early evening and found this place taking their last room, a 2 bedroom unit. It was very spacious and clean, would be a great place for a family to stay with the large swimming pool area close by

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosscoRotorua
Management response:

Hello there Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. It is great to hear we were able to help with your accommodation at this busy time of the year. The pool area is a lovely place to spend time & relax. Thank you, hopefully we will see you again. Kind regards Rachel Read

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Hotel was clean and friendly, but lacked free Wifi. Location was excellent for access to town centre and all amenities. Cooked breakfast was a bit basic, but continental breakfast was adequate. The lack of a restaurant forces you to seek out the many town restaurants available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGFFCA
Management response:

Hello there Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to provide feedback. We think the location is great too, it is a lovely stroll along the lake to town. We offer cafe and bar style food here at the Resort. As you say there are lots of great restaurants in the town centre should you...

Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful spot to relax! Rooms were very clean, staff were lovely, especially "Katie" and the bloke at the bar and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed a bike ride, which you can hire from here. Pool was fresh and water slide was a good laugh! Lucky for the hot tub to warm up in! Highly recommend this spot! We cant wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bek a
Management response:

Hello there Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us, it sounds like you had a great time and took the time to enjoy our pool area! The bikes are a great way to soak in Wanaka, with the many biking trails around the lake. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind regards Rachel Read

Coniston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We stayed 2 night during our 2 weeks in NZ. It was one of our most expensive stays but also one of the best. Check in staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and very nice with everything we needed. Pool is ok but small. Location is a little out of town but this did not bother us. My only negative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James J
Management response:

Dear James Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you decided to come and stay with us during your time in New Zealand. I am sure the two weeks flew by and we hope you got to have a good look around and the weather was good. It is great to hear that you were happy with your...

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We were a last minute booking so were one one bedroom one living room unit for our family of four. There was a slight mix up and we had a portacot in our room instead of a roll away but that was quickly remedied by the friendly staff Kids loved the pool with slide. Location is a bit of walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara G
Management response:

Dear Cara Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear your children loved the pool area, it is a lovely place to spend time. We love the quiet location & walk along the lake to town & yes we do have bikes for hire, they are a...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
731 reviews
2.5 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.2 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
479 reviews
2.3 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
254 reviews
2.3 km away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka

Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Hotel Mount Aspiring)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: RM412 - RM806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view from 307 is quite restricted, but room itself is quiet and pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles SGFFCA, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The ratings are for Deluxe and Presidential apartments, I'd make it 4 for standard 1, 2 and 3 B/R ones based on past experience.”
 of 5 bubbles growingold_never13, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if you have big luggage as there are no elevators!”
 of 5 bubbles 829animeshj, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best view high floor with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles SJDW2011, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick one close to the spa if you want direct access from your rooms sliding doors - very handy for the quick dash.”
 of 5 bubbles KimblyAnn, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5