We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Moorings

Show Prices
#2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Moorings
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
Start your review of The Moorings
 Click to rate
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Moorings. The room was comfortable and views just wonderful. Very friendly hosts made us feel welcome and the location was very handy as well, with just a short walk to the main shopping area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaudeb
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night - booked two rooms - and found the welcome to be very friendly and the rooms to be spotlessly clean. As this is a motel we can't comment on service, food or other amenities but it ticked all the boxes for us in every other way. Plenty of on site parking, 2 minutes walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice spot with great views, rooms are basic but what was most disappointing was that our room was not made up whilst we were there. Also, found the rooms to be very noisy as you could hear chairs moving upstairs, and you could also hear conversations outside the room (pretty much word for word). Enjoyed the sun on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyoflux
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I apologise for the failure to make up your room. Our policy is to always make up rooms unless we are requested not to - it could have been the door card was around the wrong way? It is unfortunate you did not bring it to my attention so we could put things right. Our internet...

Auckland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment as a family. The apartments are up the hill from the units and do not have views of the lake except from a small view shaft from the outdoor table. There is a spacious living and dining area, bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor and a separate bedroom with two beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwjg
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped in at Wanaka and found the Moorings. Host Peter was more thank helpful. Excellent value apartment They also had umbrellas to borrow. Provided good info on places to eat too. Nice and central would love to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Easily the best place we have stayed in NZ so far. From the very start, the owners and staff provided the very best customer service. Everyone was extremely hospitable. We managed to snag the last available room, a one bedroom studio with a lake view, which I highly recommend. They offered free wifi and free parking. Easy walk to restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tortor904
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this motel many years ago, when it was brand new and not surrounded by other accommodations. The view then was gorgeous, and it is still stunning. It's worth taking your own food, getting a takeaway pizza or Thai meal, and sitting outside on the lawn to watch the sun set. We went for the view, and were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaNZ
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were welcomed by the manager and shown our clean comfortable apartment. He told us about the things to see in Wanaka and surroundings including the Wanaka Tree. The situation was good with a small outside seating area which had the sun in the afternoon. Despite being next to the SH84 the apartment was quiet and we slept well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fisbis12
Oxford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Believe what every one has said this place is superb. The owners are friendly, helpful and care deeply about the motel. They go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. We stayed three nights and enjoyed every minute. Don't bother looking anywhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wych
Seneca, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed one night at The Moorings. We were pleased to find that all rooms have a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was large and had a small kitchenette. The bathroom was average size and could use a bit of an update, but was impeccably clean. Parking can be a bit of a problem, but there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keoweecruiser

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
491 reviews
1.9 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
747 reviews
2.4 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
325 reviews
0.3 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
258 reviews
0.5 km away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: RM598 - RM1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Moorings staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Moorings staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good size two bedroom apartment”
annehL8831JZ, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ensure you get one of the units at the front with unobstructed views.”
LindaNZ, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ground floor facing the lake.”
petercB8069JU, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have balconies overlooking the lake. Lovely, but there is some road noise if you have the balcony door open.”
jdesmond1217, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper level room if available.”
  • Looking out the main front doors across the lake.
  • The main room.
  • View from the room across the lake.
Y8411OIsteven, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5