We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sazani Beach Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sazani Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sazani Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2014

A beautiful spot to relax along the eastern shore of Nungwi - super quiet except for the waves crashing on the beach. For us (myself and my partner), we were very happy with the ethics of the hotel which is connected to an NGO who work directly with the village - the only hotel of it's type there and a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer M
sazanibeach, Manager at Sazani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and it was an absolute pleasure to be your hosts. Karibuni sana Sazani Beach! Cathryn

Richland, Washington
Reviewed 2 September 2014

After only a few days from home I begin to miss my dogs tremendously. Luckily, Sazani has a wonderful resident dog named Juwa (spelling?). He is friendly, kind, and fun, and on numerous occasions, greeted me at my cabin door to go for a walk on the beautiful beach. He was truly, the best thing about Sazani. I would rate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle F
Germany
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here with my family and loved (almost) everything about this place. Rooms are basic but very spacious, the seaside is amazing and staff are vey friendly. This place deserves a high mark because of its excellent value for money: set between two hotels where rooms cost between 700 and 2,000 USD, this place offers triple rooms at just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trip_lover_1982
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We went there as my partner had stayed there on numerous occasions, was always pleasant, very basic and staff friendly. Three years later it appears it has really gone down hill. The food was beyond basic, rooms shoddy and not that clean, hot wart was lacking, when you wanted to flush the toilets or have a shower you had to...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank C K
kigali
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Basic room but all you need; clean, hot water, privacy, comfy bed, bednets...... and the sound of the waves :) Its right next door to the huge & expensive, err, forgotten its name sorry... but that means you have decent facilities on day rates if you want it, and other meal options (the menu at sazani is a bit limited).

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gazt0p
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Sazani was a great choice for me travelling on my gap year, more pricey than the obvious student appealing b&b's in the village, However worth the extra price, with amazing friendly staff, who make you feel like part of the family. I spent 10 days at the hotel and the time flew by before i'd even realized. the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Callum M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you want to get away and hide from the outside world, it was first staying at Sazani Beach and I will definitely be going back. Beautiful beach and garden, clean rooms, helpful staff and nice food. There's a really friendly feeling about the place, highly recommended if you're the kind if person...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RhiannonUmi
Sweden
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were a bit disappointed when we arrived at Sazani (I had read the reviews but I didn't think the place was so worn out) and saw the family bungalow that we had booked. The room itself was ok, very basic but ok. The beds were confortable. The bathroom was terribly worn out, when taking a shower you had water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna65Sweden
sazanibeach, General Manager at Sazani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Anna for taking the time to submit a revue on Sazani beach We value honest ,constructive feedback and take guests experiences very seriously. I can only apologise for your less than satisfactory stay here with us. Unfortunately the problems with the water supply over the four days could only have exasperated things.The system simply could not cope with...

Magdeburg, Germany
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went there this spring because of the good reviews and the fact that the hotel was run by foreigners. However, it was all but a pleasant stay. The rooms where alright, although a bit dirty and not maintained well - especially the bathrooms with broken tiles and shelfs. The power was turned off most of the time. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthias R
sazanibeach, Manager at Sazani Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We were just as disappointed to read your review as you appear to have been from your stay. Our rooms are clean, simple and quality checked daily. In our ambition to be as sustainable as possible we do not have or provide the services that other hotels do, such as AC or a pool and we do not promote our...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The room is very humble. There's no AC, but the fan works really fine. It was amazing sleeping with the sounds of the tidal hitting the stones. It was the best beach that we've visited in Zanzibar, such a peaceful place for those who want to rest all day long. The hotel is located around 3km until the best point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuizaNunes

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Nungwi
620 reviews
2.2 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
584 reviews
0.2 km away
Warere Beach Hotel
Warere Beach Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
120 reviews
0.5 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahili style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible lodge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Lodge

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Price Range: RM458 - RM616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sazani Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Lodge Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sazani Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Arusha, Tanzania
3 months ago
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Stockholm, Sweden
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sazani Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for 9 if low season. Otherwise, ask for any single bungalow.”
ADTLilongwe, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is free wifi at Reception/”
gracem223, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“i stay in the number 7 and love the view.”
amdulcharlotte, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in rooms 6 & 7 and they had absolutely beautiful views!”
indig0224, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If you are a family, take a house with 2 rooms.”
papymaster24, 26 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5