We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Talbot Hotel

View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Talbot Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Talbot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 320: English reviews
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This has got to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, it ruined our family mini break and I definitely won't be returning. I used booking.com to book my hotel for 2 adults and 2 children, ages 7 and 6, I typed in the location of the wedding we were attending on Saturday night and it gave me some...

5Thank harricw12
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your complaint however if the fault was the hotels we would accept it. However on this occasion you booked a double room for two guests hence the £65.00 price.( a family room would not cost just £65.00) You booked through a booking agency booking.com we checked your reservation with booking.com and they confirmed that you only booked...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Water poured through the ceiling in the first room, bathroom was in need of a refit, we were moved. Room number two was a small double really only a single. Moved again to a reasonable twin, unable to use shower, no hot water in the basin. No hairdryer in the room, had to ask at reception for one, no fun...

4Thank alibeez66
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We booked the 2 Superior rooms.On arrival we had to pay first before we were given the keys.....and we were refused a refund when we returned to Reception a few minutes later having viewed ...and smelled, the rooms.The hotel said that these were their 2 "best" rooms....so we can only guess what the other rooms were like!

3Thank DarcieDog
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed as a family evan our 10 yr didn't like this place . Room was large but over looked the smoking court yard it's old building but needs a lot of tlc . Breakfast was they the night before so the cakes and croissants were all sitting there when we went to bed . We did try to eat...

4Thank kslena
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Nostalgia and decadence what a charm in Stourbridge. Stayed over night for one night only Saturday April 9th. On arrival I was greeted by the very welcoming and courteous Shaun whom I believe is the Manager. A very clear and concise information about the room and the key access after hours and the included breakfast in the morning. I savoured...

Thank Lita2009
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I stayed here for a conference which was being held in the hotel and was very disappointed. The room itself was warm and the bed comfortable and clean but the hotel itself is very tired and dropping to bits. The cooked breakfast was swimming in grease, however some fruits and pre packaged pastries were available, and the pretence of quality...

4Thank DurhamAndypandy
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

stayed here on 26th march was not happy with hotel there was no heating and hot water to get a shower and Unclean went down to the restaurant desk seen the manager he sed the heating comes on at 5:00pm and the hot water went back down to the desk there was a other man on desk told him I...

6Thank Bill P
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

Four of us stayed for one night midweek. The hotel is an historic building and the character of the place has been well preserved. Friendly and efficient staff, and first rate cleanliness. The hotel has the advantage of being bang in the middle of the High Street, with easy access to the other bars and cafes. Value for money is...

Thank sjstilliard
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

I arrived at the hotel at 9pm and there was no one on Reception. However, there was a note saying to call a number and someone would come. I called it and after 10 minutes no one arrived so I went to the bar and found the barman who was the person I spoke on the phone with, who was...

9Thank Andy M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with work for the night and thank heavens it was only once. Walking in you are hit with the aroma of old stale cigarettes which was even stronger in my room, number 17. Completely out-dated, freezing cold, stained walls, dirty carpets. Reading all these reviews and also having one of my colleagues waking up to a huge bed...

11Thank Ffiffienlli

216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (210)
Room/Suite (67)
Bathroom (28)
Dining (11)
View from Room (3)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourbridge
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
3.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Hagley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Himley House Hotel
Himley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Himley
359 reviews
10.6 km away
Hogarths Stone Manor
8.2 km away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: High Street, Stourbridge DY8 1DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Stourbridge
Price Range: RM232 - RM394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Talbot Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Talbot Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved our special day and the staff and manager were on hand, helpful and friendly, would stay again”
theharpers2017, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Please don't go”
daveb569, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try a different hotel”
DownSouth88, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No Lift and lots of stairs”
lamptechonthenet, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have fun in room 19”
AlanL13, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$52* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates