We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hunter Hideaway Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We chose HHC for a recent visit to the Hunter because it was pet friendly and looked perfect for what we were after - some space and privacy. It didn't disappoint. Fab stay! Already planning a return!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hunter Hideaway C, Owner at Hunter Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Simone for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your 2 night mid week stay with the 2 pets and I hope you return again shortly where you will be more than welcome. More 

Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I am giving Hunter Hideaway 5 stars because this suited my partner & I perfectly. Not far off main roads & central to all our needs. Older but very well kept & clean with new furnishings cabin. 2 bedroom with a big comfy bed in big main room. Gas fireplace in living area was great. This was so much better... More 

Helpful?
Thank shazbone
Hunter Hideaway C, Owner at Hunter Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Sharon, Thanks for the great review and glad you enjoyed your 4 day stay. It's really appreciated when guest "get" what we are doing at Hunter Hideaway. It would be a pleasure to host you both again shortly. Cheers Paul. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

My family & I stayed here for 2 nights and thought that the cabin was comfortable & well equipped with all that you would need for a family...air conditioning, fireplace, 2 bedrooms, tv, full kitchen. We stayed with my baby and the kitchen had everything we needed. We stayed in summer, but this place would be lovely in winter as... More 

Helpful?
Thank liknudse
Hunter Hideaway C, Owner at Hunter Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Linda, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the kangaroos performed for you. Thanks for leaving the cottage clean and tidy. I hope to be able to accommodate you and your family again. Regards Paul More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We were looking for accommodation in the Hunter Valley for a family that wasn't at a resort. We found the accommodation what we expected and really enjoyed the "away from it all" feel. The girls really liked the kangaroos that were about as well as the other wildlife. Still was located close enough to all of the wineries to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
Hunter Hideaway C, Owner at Hunter Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, It was a pleasure to host you and your family. Good to hear the local kangaroos entertained your girls. I am glad you enjoyed the privacy and seclusion as well as being close to all that Hunter Valley Wine Country has to offer. Regards Paul More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Booked the Hideaway Cottage for a girls weekend to the Hunter Valley. Finding accommodation that sleeps 6 on a budget was a first challenge, which is what brought us here. Very secluded, very rustic - may or may not suit everyone. One large bedroom had a queen sized bed whist the other room had two sets of bunks that swayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrissyGirl-in-London
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We stayed at the Hunter Hideaway cabins on a Friday & Saturday night. We arrived on dusk and the first thing you notice is the long driveway & kangaroos. We stayed in the Merlot cabin. We loved the fire place! & recomend keeping the air con on warm through out the night, as in winter it was freezing!! once the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha_Hughes2014
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We stayed here on a Saturday night and loved the late checkout on Sundays 12pm, the cabins are spaced out so you feel secluded without feeling isolated. There are several curios locals (kangaroos) who like to check out their temporary neighbours from a distance. They come and feed and dusk and dawn and get quite close to the cabins its... More 

Helpful?
Thank dreamlife7374
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Hunter Hideaway Cottages is my favorite accommodation in the Hunter Valley. This is because you get your own private cabin surrounded by nothing but bush and kangaroos! Yet it's close to Pokolbin and most things the Hunter has to offer. I love having my own kitchen and the kids get space to run around, be noisy and messy and enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank ben o
Hunter Hideaway C, Owner at Hunter Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Ben, It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your family once again. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottages and pleased that the kangaroos entertained your children. As the other 3 cottages have an outside area for a small fire I will now set up Merlot cottage with one as well after seeing your photo. I hope... More 

1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

My family and I booked the hunter hideaway for a weekend (Chardonnay cabin), and when we arrived I took one look at the milk crate (that I believe may be doubling as a table) and started to worry. After scanning the cabin, the ripped furniture and the shockingly small shower, we decided to leave. We didn't even get a refund..... More 

Helpful?
Thank kuwtk
Hunter Hideaway C, Owner at Hunter Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Kuwtk, Please contact me if you would like to discuss your concerns in the review. As the review is dated early July and also informs you stayed early July I am not aware of any customer who booked Chardonnay cottage or any other cottage that did not stay or requested a refund during this time. There is a table... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2015

I enjoyed our stay a lot. Accommodations are basic. But you have tons of space. There are kangaroos around a lot (which was great for the kids). Plus, i made a mistake with dates. The owner, Paul, was good about it and didn't make me pay more. I really appreciated that. I would recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Trivialpursuits

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.8 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
10.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.4 km away
Madigan Wine Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
311 reviews
6.1 km away
Emma's Cottage Vineyard
Emma's Cottage Vineyard
#4 of 9 in Rothbury
32 reviews
3.8 km away
Manzanilla Ridge
Manzanilla Ridge
#1 of 9 in Rothbury
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hunter Hideaway Cottages

Address: 234 Tuckers Lane | North Rothbury, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Price Range: RM396 - RM1,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunter Hideaway Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hunter Hideaway Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hunter Hideaway Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the cabins appear to be similar, the one we stayed in was " CHARDONNAY"”
 of 5 bubbles ian253, 15 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Tips - bring your own shampoo and conditioner, dishes should be cleaned othervise surcharge might apply.”
 of 5 bubbles 858elenaa, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Chardonnay for group of 4-6 all day”
 of 5 bubbles H5216JKjamesa, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Use the Information center for best deals on accommodation.”
  • Kangaroos within 25 meters of the cottage.
 of 5 bubbles j_geb, 18 Apr 2013 | Read review
“The Chardonnay cabin has two bedrooms and one bath (shower only).”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingTex, 10 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay