We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waitomo Caves Hotel

Hotels.comUS$54*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$59*
US$54*
US$59*
US$59*
US$54*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Waitomo Caves Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waitomo Caves Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 467: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Hotel sits up high and you have great views from the grounds. This is an old hotel with an interesting history. The value of our nights stay was really reasonable. We used the spas which were brilliant after a long cold day. Not many staff but they were helpful. Our room was probably one which had not recently been refurbished...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna B
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely hotel. It certainly commands a fabulous view of the countryside with it's hilltop positioning doesn't it! The spas are very popular, particularly in winter, so I'm glad that you made use of our the facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when the refurbishment programme...

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

What was touted as a romantic retreat quickly gave way to mould and dicrepitude. Old world charm is one thing. Tasteless squalor quite another. Don't judge this hotel by its webpage! Avoid at all cost

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thalaciphalos
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. Unfortunately your room was the last one available. We are working very hard to get through our refurbishment programme, room by room and have already completed a considerable amount. The mould you are referring to was spots on the ceiling paint in a very small patch, high...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Cold unheated rooms. Heater too small to make impression Wiring faulty Didn't know there was a spa no info about Hotel available Only 1 member of staff there Food OK but mostly cold food Adequate breakfast Disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that aspects of your stay didn't meet with you approval. We have certainly had some very cold nights in the central North Island recently and whilst our staff do their best to provide a warm room - heaters, extra blankets and electric blankets. Our room compendiums should have outlined our spa facilities...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Our family very much enjoyed our stay in this beautiful old hotel. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and they bent over backwards to make us comfortable. The building is surrounded by beautiful, gently decaying gardens that beg to be explored. Loved the nighttime soak in the hot tub and the delicious breakfast next morning. Dated, but clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank V B
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

We prefer the word historic but dated I guess can apply when you compare to modern day furnishing! Great to hear that your family enjoyed you stay and that the staff were attentive to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Thank you for your comments.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Spent one night here while visiting waitomo caves with my young son. Loved the hotel, had amazing service, the decor is dated but that just added to the fun and the atmosphere. Great value for the price with free unlimited wifi, and the spas are fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosieposie66
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful to read your comments - thank you for sharing them with us. We pride ourselves on offering a terrifically priced product - particularly for the un-refurbished rooms. The wifi and spas are a neat free bonus of staying with us. I will pass your 'great service' comments onto our hard working team. Thank you for your feedback.

Hong Kong
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We booked the hotel for its great location to the Caves and seeing the hotel pictures online. The room cost quite a bit and expected some level of comfort given the pictures of rooms on the website. Their phone is faulty and our calls or messages were not returned prior to arrival about what time the restaurant closed (early it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fairlieflyer
Corinne C, Owner at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that aspects of your stay fell below your expectations. We have certainly had some very cold nights in the central North Island recently and whilst our staff do their best to provide a warm room - heaters, extra blankets and electric blankets, we simply cannot meet all your suggestions - for example, it would be...

Reviewed 20 July 2016

Really nice hotel for the cost ($70 NZD when we booked). Included a continental breakfast free of charge as well. It is a very retro hotel but it was pretty cool. We also liked the modern hot tubs they had installed. Beds were comfortable and had electric heaters within them, which my girlfriend loved. The hotel itself is obviously very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John Z
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We believe we provide exceptional good value for money and are very pleased our guests agree with us. Great to hear you enjoyed the comfortable beds and the terrific location close to the Waitomo Caves. Please do visit us again!

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

When you're prepared for an old school experience this hotel really lives up to the expectation. It was old, but absolutely gorgeous. From the chandelier to the fountain in the dining area, even to the little old touches in our room. This place is full of old world charm. The carpet in the room was obviously old, but who cares...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jemma C
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Waitomo Caves Hotel. We are thrilled you loved your time with us and enjoyed the charm and character of our hotel. Great to hear you loved everything and would like to stay again. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 15 July 2016

My family and myself stayed at the Waitomo Caves Hotel as part of a school holiday trip. We wanted to show our children (11y and 14y) the central North Island as a change to the typical Gold Coast/fiji trips. We stayed night in Rotorua Millennium, Taupo De Bretts, The Chateau Tongariro, and Waitomo Caves Hotel. We did a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James G
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are thrilled you had a great time at our hotel and enjoyed everything it has to offer from hospitality to history. We look forward to your next visit!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 July 2016

This hotel really needs a lot of money spent on it, however, it is quirky and the rooms were warm. The bathrooms are very old. The photos are not a real image of the hotel, it is more tired than it shows in the photos. The restaurant, however, in the morning for breakfast was beautiful and sunny and welcoming, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise C
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I can assure you the photos on the website are recent and not 'doctored' in any way. Thank you for you comments about the restaurant. I am delighted you found it sunny and welcoming and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Other (40)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
1.3 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
231 reviews
6.5 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
78 reviews
0.4 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
0.4 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
361 reviews
13.6 km away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waitomo Caves Hotel provides a taste of the early 19th Century grand tour hotel experience in our own time. Majestically positioned on a promontory above the Waitomo village and the world famous Waitomo caves the hotel offers sweeping views across the lush farmland, the hills and bush of the King Country. The hotel boasts sparkling crystal chandeliers, a vast art collection, spacious clean rooms, deliciously comfortable beds and a decadent spa area. Stay with us and experience the elegance of travel from a bygone era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Price Range: RM262 - RM406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waitomo Caves Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Waitomo Caves Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get an upstairs room looking up the valley.”
RogerFranken, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room”
campouk, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room! Or ask for the room where Queen Elisabeth stayed in decades ago!”
JohannaVantaalta, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good luck.”
lorrainesF9409OW, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try the breakfast, buffet and Al a Ca rte well worth the money.”
940royg, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$54* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$59
TravelocityUS$54
TripAdvisorUS$54
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates