We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Adventure Lodge & Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Adventure Lodge & Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Adventure Lodge & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 400: English reviews
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Did the crossing this weekend with my brother and had a great time -- despite atrocious weather and limited visibility at the summit. Would definitely recommend the Freedom Package -- good simple accommodation, excellent food with generous portions, great transportation, and nice t-shirt. We certainly felt we got more than what we paid for. Lorraine was especially kind and welcoming.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnetteSanFrancisco
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Adventure Lodge, the package we put together was to give value to our customers wanting to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, but also to know that every thing is taken care of and you can enjoy your holiday. It is wonderful welcoming people from all over the world. More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Upon arrival we discovered that the room we had booked had been given to another guest. We had specifically booked the room as it had two beds and a kitchenette. The room we were shown only had one bed and different facilities to what was stated on the booking. Unfortunately the manger was not on site; the staff member who... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmyHobart_12
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry the room was changed, the elderly person who we moved into this unit you had booked, was disable and asked if there was an access unit with a seat, which was in this unit. This was explained to you at the time and the receptionist offered a 35% discount for the inconvenience which you accepted. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Simple, clean and comfortable rooms with friendly service. The package built around the Tongariro crossing (breakfast, dinner, packed lunch, shuttle service to and from hike) was perfect and all recommendations from the owners were useful (our only advice would be to leave earlier in the morning for the Tongariro crossing to avoid large crowds - we started the hike just... More 

Helpful?
Thank cedayr
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, the Tongariro Freedom Package was designed for our guests to enjoy the Park, our package has been running for over 12 years and we normally get our guests on the crossing at the best time of day to enjoy the views. The crossing has become very popular and the 6am starts are also busy, so... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights while completing the Tongariro crossing and got the adventure package which included stay for 2 nights, large cooked breakfast (delicious... Thanks Jason!), large packed lunches for hike and then dinner after hike (huge steak and chicken... Thanks Jason !). Also included transportation to and from hike. Excellent value! All the staff was so friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Great spot to stay to explore the National Park. Lots of good walks - the chairlift ride up Mount Ruapehu is fantastic. Rooms at the motel are well equipped. Good communal spa. Friendly staff. Great price including a cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Booked the Freedom Package and after my partner and I reached, we were informed that we would probably need warm jackets which were waterproof as it was a rather wet day. He promptly lend us 2 jackets and showed us to our room. Initially we thought it was going to be some kind of a bushwalk but luckily Jason gave... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaniel L
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

Location was good for its proximity to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The town was beyond quiet - seemed to pride itself on closing by 9pm. Although breakfast was paid for via Agoda, the host was unwilling to offer a breakfast option for those leaving early. Although the room was comfortable this was the only positive. Disappointingly the host was severely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bhavik M
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you did not get the service we normally provide, it seems we had a number of people who came into the office at the same time and I am sorry we kept you waiting. We know the details of our shuttle time which leave from the lodge to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing,... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2015

What an excellent place to stay ! Number 1 and most important , friendly and helpful staff , always on hand . Lovely rooms , delicious freshly cooked food. We stayed there to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and their freedom package made it so easy . How great it was when we had finished the walk to see their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny W
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Penny for your feedback and I am pleased you had a great time here in National Park and enjoyed your time on the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, some thing you will always remember. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

My husband & I stayed in bedroom 5 which had a comfortable bed, lots of space for our luggage, clean bathroom, mini kitchenette & a television. We did the Tongariro Freedom Package which was well worth it. The hot breakfast before the walk was a great start too the day. Also the hot dinner and included spa time was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Jessica, I pleased you enjoyed your time in Tongariro National Park and our Tongariro Alpine Crossing Freedom Package. We hope you can return another time More 

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2015

This is a motel / lodge in the town of National Park. It is a great place to base your hike of the Tangariro Crossing. Jason was great at arranging our place on their hike shuttle service. The rooms are not overly luxurious but what you would expect for this type of establishment. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colonel_Butler
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our bed and breakfast in budget lodge rooms. I am pleased you enjoyed your hike on the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the shuttle service Jason arranged More 

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
12.5 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,308 reviews
12.7 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
386 reviews
25.7 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
203 reviews
6.2 km away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
91 reviews
26.5 km away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Gillian and John welcome you to their lodge and motel in National Park Village. We cater for families, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds or Twin share, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, electric blankets, Sky TV in lodge and all units, drying room, Internet and wireless access available, large open fire, Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge & Motel

Address: 21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Price Range: RM295 - RM505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Lodge & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Adventure Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Lodge And Motel
Adventure Hotel Tongariro National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adventure Lodge & Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Adventure Lodge & Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had rooms 8 and 9. Deck out the front, heaps of parking, close to spa and laundry”
 of 5 bubbles trishg386, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get an end room”
 of 5 bubbles ElaineY626, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor is closer to the bathrooms, spa is quite nice and private - make sure you go out and stargaze at night!”
 of 5 bubbles chantellel386, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The studio room (with disability access) has a private bathroom and does not have neighbours directly next door”
 of 5 bubbles 29Jeanne29, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book to your needs. We booked motel unit: spoke to guests with large families who stayed in Lodge & heard only positive comments”
 of 5 bubbles jimharris100, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay