We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Somerset Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Somerset Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Somerset Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Thank you for wonderful hospitality, a lovely clean room and gorgeous linen! You will definitely see us again...next time in summer so that we can use the pool! We missed out on your famous breakfast because we had to leave early. Also next time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thailia
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This what a guest house/self cater should be. Friendly host, knows the town.Takes care that guests are comfortable. Neat rooms well fitted. We did not use the pool as it was winter. What a pleasant surprise. Will visit again in the future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giellie
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Our accommodation was very comfortable in a cozy apartment. We enjoyed the quietness of Montagu with the birds singing in the garden. We even had the musical sound of a small waterfall in our private garden. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calebj352
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Excellent accommodation with extremely friendly hosts. We booked 3 rooms of which one was a self catering room. The lodge is conveniently located and close to shops and the Springs. The rooms were wonderful ... very clean and neat with the most comfy beds. I stayed in a room with a four poster bed and a huge en-suite. Extremely safe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ravithab
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

I travel for business once a month and it is such a pleasure to find a elegantly funished very comfortable guest house with everything you need PLUS a great host. I would recommend Somerset lodge to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carey007
Suider Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Was everything I expect like on their Website. Quiet, unique and fresh. The host was also great with information. The room was cosy and very well equipped and we had an excellent nights sleep. Attention to detail also a plus!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carelien A
Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

It's always nice to pop in by David and Michael in Somerset Lodge. It's a year later after my last visit and amazing to see that guesthouse owners can keep up a high standard on there rooms and the property. Thanks guys for a lovely evening. David I wish other guesthouses can come and learn from you. You make the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andries_steyn
ZULUZELLA, Owner at Somerset Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much Andries for all the compliments. I'ts always a pleasure to see you here, and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Take care. David [ Owner ]

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

lovely villa with good furnishing and delightful garden however don't get given the very small bedroom with a bed where your feet hang over there edge, with one side so close to the wall that my husband couldn't get in or out! and no chair or table except the one small bedside table, tiny but well equipped bathroom, again not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 692lynh
pietermaritzburg
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Very comfortable bed in a small room. We did not qualify for breakfast. Did not feel very private because of the pool in front of our door. Very friendly hosts who offerred to book our supper in town, and posted our misplaced cellphone charger. A lot of attention to detail.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dion S
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Stopped over on our way to Cape Town and was lucky enough to choose Somerset Lodge. David is a wonderful host and really looked after our every need. The room was spacious and very well equipped and we had an excellent nights sleep. Loved the plunge pool and made good use of it as it was very hot on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephenXXXXX

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
3.3 km away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
73 reviews
0.9 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
460 reviews
1.4 km away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#4 of 27 in Montagu
304 reviews
0.6 km away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
92 reviews
0.9 km away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#5 of 33 in Montagu
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Somerset Lodge is set in a gorgeous English country garden against a backdrop of magnificent mountains, offers luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Our swimming pool, situated in its own secret garden, invites guests to relax and unwind, and is the perfect antidote to city stress. We are situated a mere two minutes walk from the Montagu Nature Garden, and our garden is visited by a large variety of bird species. Our rooms are tastefully decorated with every conceivable home comfort, and our linen is of the finest 100% cotton percale. All our garden rooms are en-suite, and are equipped with Satellite TV (2 channels), Air Conditioners - a welcome tray with tea and coffee, and bar fridges. All rooms have their own private entrances and patios, with braai facilities. In the morning a full breakfast is served in our dining room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Lodge

Address: 4 Thomson Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Price Range: RM219 - RM262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Somerset Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Somerset Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a look at a couple of rooms and all were excellent. David is such a superb host.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenXXXXX, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great and cater to your every need and are beautifully decorated and well laid out.”
 of 5 bubbles execchic, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“It depends on what you plan to go there for.We choose BISHOPS ROOM which is close to the pool and is slightly bigger than Clifton(also close to the pool but has a better view of the beautiful paintings). The other two rooms are self catering and are therefore bigger but further from pool. If you not fussy,then any room is fine”
 of 5 bubbles BiancaDLewis, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles execchic, 11 Feb 2015 | Read review
“try to stay in the room called "Hilton". It is huge and calm, unfortunately the wifi is quite slow there. I think in other rooms not that far from the reception the signal will be stronger.”
 of 5 bubbles 151sarahe, 7 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay