We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (1625)
Room & Suite (920)
Pool & Beach (277)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort infused with its colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary and romantic hotels with the largest rooms of 45sqm2 all facing the beach and the sea. Most rooms are set with a plunge tub on the balcony and its day bed, a great place to unwind in front of the Andaman sea!
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Spa
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
1,691Reviews
2,323Photos
41Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 721
  • 600
  • 205
  • 94
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed 4 nights. Stylish clean newly decorated room, good housekeeping. Room had balcony facing the sea although partially obscured by trees. Hotel common areas and grounds well looked after. Pool was amazing warmest water I have swam in, children's pool as well. Plenty of
Read more
Response from FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear independent69, WOW you made my day as well as for my Team!! It is, honestly, so so nice to receive such great score and very nice comments; It is honestly a fantastic and great reassurance as well as outstanding motivation to all of us at Lone Pine Hotel to keep working hard at it and assure all our guests have only memorable time with us. As many time metioned, here and other social media, on the importance to highlight any issue that may not be up to the guests' expectation to ensure we can rectify, correct to ensure a more enjoyable stay for them and for us a constant improvement. But again your awesome score and message really, really are an outstanding motivation to all of us! We look very much to welcome you back and provide you further memorable experiences while with us. We wish you a wonderful wonderful and amazing time ahead. Most sincerely, Francois
Read more
TLDR: Paid for 5-star service and got way less than that. And to trust reviews when returning guests mentioned that they would never come back. 1. Room was dusty, had sneezing fit at night which disrupted everyone else's sleep 2. Breakfast spread was subpar, there were fruit
Read more
Response from FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you very much, Ms Lim, for sharing with us here and Google.com, I apologise, most sincerely, for any discomfort we may have caused and will review with my team your feedbacks for immediate improvement. Please accept once again my deepest apologies. You can be rest assured the whole team only want our guests to have a pleasant and enjoyable time with us, this is our aim, we will keep working harder to achieve our goal! I look forward to welcome you back and prove to you this was an accident and not the norm. Allow us to make it up to you on yoru next visit. I wish you a wonderful time ahead.. Most sincerely Francois
Read more
We found this hotel charming!! We stayed in the old block and we found our room to be comfortable and clean,yes it is a little tired & worn in places (but nothing major and I believe to be upgraded shortly) I was astonished to read all the bad reviews,as honestly we couldn't
Read more
Response from FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mark F, WOW, WOW, WOW you made my day! it is honestly so so nice to receive such great score and wonderful comments; what a reassurance and outstanding motivation to keep working hard at it and assure all our guests have only memorable time with us. As many time metioned her the various social media, on the importance to highlight any issue that may not be up to the guests' expectation to ensure we can rectify, correct to ensure a more enjoyable stay for them and for us a constant improvement. But again your awesome feedback really, really is a blessing from the sky and such a motivation. We look very much to welcome you back and provide you further memorable experiences while with us. We wish you a wonderful wonderful Chinese New Year filled with joy and good health. Most sincerely, Francois
Read more
Great relaxing venue. The hotel was in an excellent location with the beach on one side and all the life on the other. The newly refurbished room was great. Big, well laid out and the bed was soooooo comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. Pool was great. The staff in the
Read more
Response from FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Camper795142, It is with so much joy and reconnaissance that we received you very generous score and message here; it is such a relieve and wonderful boost of moral to receive your positive comments and great score. We are so pleased to read that our Team was friendly and caring, it really give us a new strength to know we are doing it right and be recognised for it, you can't realised how important it is for us to receive such motivation and encouragement. It really and honestly fire our eager to work harder to assure that all our guests receive only the very best from all of us. Thank you so so much for your very reassuring message, we are extremely grateful you share your positive experience here with us, so much in need! See you back, soon, in Lone Pine Hotel and we wish you an outstanding and amazing time ahead. Most sincerely, Francois
Read more
This was our 5th time at Lone Pine and probably be our last.although they have upgraded rooms slightly.that is the only improvement. The breakfast on offer was terrible.eggs were never cooked properly. As for ordering a pot of tea we gave up and got it ourself.staff hardly
Read more
Response from FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr George C, First of all, thank you very much for sharing with us here even so I would have much preferred to hear it when you were with us to assure that not only we could improve where necessary but also to offer some clarification on issues you have highlighted. I would like to offer my most sincere apologies for any substandard of services provided and you can be rest assured we are in constant willingness to improve ourselves in serving our guests better. Yes, with an eventful operation at times, I could not be available as much as I would have loved to be but it was to assure we keep improving for our guests in many areas. Changes are not easy and regrettably not coming as fast as we wish but we see the light. Yes, we have a new crew, still young and shy but we are progressing to bring back the glory where this property should be for the benefits of all our guests; allow me to correct the misinformation which I would have preferred to correct verbally with proper explanations while you were here, our Associates are surely receiving better salary packages than in the past. In regards of the property upgrading, we have already upgraded 64 rooms and expect to start the older and original buildings, approximately after Chinese New Year. Once again, I deeply regret you felt unattended and will ensure to improve myself. I sincerely hope your wife recovered well and feel much better now. I do look forward to welcome you back and prove to you that we are offering memorable time for our guests and this last visit was only an accident. Have a lovely time ahead. Most sincerely, Francois
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLone Pine Hotel
The Super Deluxe at the Lone Pine Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLone Pine Hotel
The Premier Room at the Lone Pine Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLone Pine Hotel
The Grand Premier Suite at the Lone Pine Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLone Pine Hotel
The Grand Premier Suite at the Lone Pine Hotel
PreviousNext
123456184
we are not halal but pork free. Have a great day Francois
0 votes
Show all answers
most of the hotel in Malaysia served halal food. no need to worry about that.
1 vote
Show all answers
Good morning, one wing of the hotel will be under renovation but it should not affect our guests stay as we have taken necessary measure to isolate the section and in November we should arrive to the late stage of renovation with no noise but more painting and touch up. Hope It help . Have a lovely weekend ahead. Sincerely Francois
0 votes
Show all answers
Very sorry only noticed your query today and am pleased to inform you that in august there is no plan for the renovation to take place. not to worry! let is know if you need further assistance, please to help. SIncerely Francois
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234569
"Try the newly refurbished rooms"
"All rooms face the sea, but the "Sea View" rooms have an unobstructed view."
"Check if upgrading of facilities and rooms is planned"
"This is a family type vacation hotel with huge room space."
"Deluxe queen sea facing room on the third floor"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lone pine batu ferringhihotel lone pine
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandBatu Ferringhi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing