We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kirchplatz 14, Ehrwald 6632 Austria
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Vio.com
US$224
View deal
eDreams
StayForLong
EtripUS$224
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (41)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (12)

About

#6 of 13 hotels in Ehrwald
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Kulinarik & Wellness im Hotel an der Tiroler Zugspitze Erleben Sie Genuss und Entspannung im zentral, aber dennoch ruhig gelegenen Hotel in Ehrwalds Ortsmitte: Die Sonnenspitze-Verwöhnpension, unser „Wellness light“ Bereich mit Außen Pool, Biosauna, Dampf- & Kräuterbad, großzügigem und einladendem Ruhebereich und die Sonnenterrassen sorgen für beste Urlaubslaune.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Indoor play area for children
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Hiking
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Billiards
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Solarium
Steam room
Ski In / Ski Out
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German, Hungarian, Italian and 3 more
93Reviews1Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 38
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ildikó M wrote a review May 2020
2 contributions
Enjoyed a weekend in this wonderful hotel with super kind and always helpful personnel, clean room with nice view. Also the wellness is well equipped and has beautiful view to the mountains. The breakfast, after lunch and dinner package was very tasty and could take glutenfree, lactose free and vegetarian option. Very close to the skipiste and to rent ski equipment is just front of the hotel, with also kind people. Returned home refreshed, energised and peaceful. Thank you so much!!! Would like to come back soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Philip C wrote a review Jul 2019
Haslemere94 contributions29 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at The Hotel Sonnenspitze for a week participating in a walking holiday. Our accommodation ( Room 106 ) was very well appointed/comfortable. We stayed on a half-board basis and I can only but applaud the quality of the dinners and breakfasts. In short we were 'fed and watered' extremely well. The recently completed spa facilities are worth visiting. If there was a short-coming it was Francine, one of the receptionists; she hardly ever smiled which is a shame bearing in mind the reception staff should be a real advertisement for the hotel. Otherwise definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pesendorfer_Daniel, Inhaber at Sonnenspitze Hotel
Responded 23 Jul 2019
Dear Mr. Philip C! We want to thank you for visiting our Hotel Sonnenspitze in Ehrwald. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay and you had a wonderful time in Ehrwald. Aslo thank you very much in the name of our chefs who try to create a high quality menu every day for our guests! They are very happy because of your nice recommendation about our food. We also discussed the situation with our receptionist "Franziska" and she is very sorry if she gave the impression to be unfriendly, she apologizes for the situation. But once more thank you for your 5 point recommendation and we would be happy to welcome you again in Ehrwald! Best regards Pesendorfer Daniel Hotel Sonnenspitze - Ehrwald
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vincent D wrote a review Apr 2019
Tervuren, Belgium159 contributions121 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel during our Easter skiholiday. Overall it is a good hotel. it is located in the center of Ehrwald. Parking facilities are available at the hotel. The new and modern wellness & outdoor heated pool are the biggest asset of this hotel. Rooms were old (but I understood they will soon be renovated as well). Food quality was rather poor (too salty cooking, breakfast limited choice). If the rooms are renovated and if food quality would be improved, the hotel could get a 5 star rating. For now, I give 3 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pesendorfer_Daniel, Inhaber at Sonnenspitze Hotel
Responded 23 Jul 2019
Dear Mr. Vincent D, thank you for visiting our Hotel Sonnenspitze last Winter. Also thank you for your recommendation and your note about the rooms and the food. As you already recognized the older rooms will be the next step of our renovation plan. In the meantime we are able to offer our already renovated rooms. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of our food. We had the problem, that we do not had enough chefs in the winter season but since this summer season we have a second chef and now we are able to increase the quality again and to check that mistakes (salty food) do not happen again. We would be very happy to welcome you another day again in our Hotel and want to try to get a 5 star recommendation! Best regards Pesendorfer Daniel Hotel Sonnenspitze - Ehrwald
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulm999 wrote a review Sep 2018
Guildford, United Kingdom35 contributions45 helpful votes
I think we may have suffered from the 'B' team on duty in the kitchen of the Hotel . Perhaps the real chef goes away until the winter. The evening food was just about adequate except one evening when the vegetarian lasagne was inedible. There were so few other guests in the hotel perhaps we could have been allowed a real menu as apposed to the set menu for our group which was very limited. We therefore chose to eat out one day and waste our half board. It is very unusual these days to encounter such poor WiFi. In fact as an IT literate person I would find it hard to replicate the system set up they have at the Hotel Sonnenspitze. iPads/iPhones all drop their connection without warning even when there is a strong signal. A laptop connected once then refused again because it appeared no password was needed - even though there was. Most rooms can not get WiFi at all. The staff were all very good and the breakfasts also good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DunnyDidcot wrote a review Jul 2018
Didcot122 contributions27 helpful votes
This is our second stay at Sonnenspitze Hotel. Had a comfortable room on 1st floor. Really nice size room with balcony, comfy bed all the good stuff we had the first time was still very good. Excellent food again. One little note they do run out of English tea at times, so I took some with me this time. Well worth a visit. Good hotel most amazing place to visit. They are doing some building and roadworks in Erhwald this summer, but this does not cause to much disruption.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Best rooms are on 1st & 2nd floors. 3rd floors room are noisy if it rains
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Aletheia2 wrote a review Jul 2018
Nottingham12 contributions35 helpful votes
Ten day walking holiday based in this lovely hotel. Friendly staff. Food was typically Tyrolean, but a cut above most of the hotels I have stayed over the past 12 years. Only negative was that there was no fridge in the room, which was a bit of a nuisance. Nicest Tyrolean Hotel I have stayed in bar the Kaiserhof in Kitzbuhel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Robert C wrote a review Feb 2018
19 contributions8 helpful votes
The location in the centre of Ehrwald is perfect and it is a really lovely old building. The staff without exception are polite and do there very best to accommodate you. It had a really cozy feel to it . My only criticism was the main course’s served in the restaurant every night were not of the highest quality I was expecting. However would I recommend to you. Yes definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MANOF46 wrote a review Sep 2017
Haifa, Israel74 contributions29 helpful votes
Well located in the middle of Ehrwald, pleasant spacious room but the shower was only hand-held. The lobby and dining room are attractive and welcoming and the basement includes a spa- with sauna and drying room for wet hiking clothes. Overall reccomended - with a little more attention to detail could be perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DunnyDidcot wrote a review Sep 2017
Didcot122 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed at Hotel Sonnenspitze in September it’s a very nice hotel. All the staff were very pleasant., and spoke English. Very traditional style, has a nice comfortable seating area, bar and restaurant. There is a spa area, lift and drying room. We had a room on the third floor it was a good size, with a small balcony. The beds are Austrian twins they were quite comfy. There was good amount of storage, a couple of chairs, small desk and safe. The bathroom was OK the shower was a little small, all worked well. The one thing we did not like was that it rained a lot the week we were there and they have a metal plate under the window. All you can hear all night is the dripping sound of the rain against the plate. Food was very nice, breakfast was a buffet of nearly everything very nice. At breakfast, you choose your main meal for the evening, it’s a four course and we had free wine. The wine was OK but always the same. We liked all the food, but you only get a choose of the main. In the afternoon, they serve cake and a savoury, but you do have to pay or your drinks. The restaurants in town did not have many English menus.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do have a room on 3rd floor if its raining
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
optimist12 wrote a review Jul 2017
Elgin, Illinois15 contributions1 helpful vote
Really enjoyed our 4 nights at Hotel Sonnenspitze. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, including helping us choose our daily hikes. Breakfast was very good and we had a reserved table every morning. I especially appreciated all of the loose tea varieties. The room was spacious and spotless, and the bed was quite comfortable for a great night's sleep. Second floor room had a balcony with a view of the Zugspitze. Beautiful when it's lit by a full moon hanging over it! I would have loved to have taken time to relax in the cozy common room, but unfortunately (or fortunately) we were often out and about, only to return for sleep. The hotel is in a great location to walk to different restaurants, bakery and ice cream. Our only hitch was on the morning we were checking out. We hoped to depart early, by 7:00am, but nobody was available at the front desk until after 7:30. In hindsight, it was something we should have arranged the night before, but we did appreciate that the staff got us out as soon as they could. Just something to know in advance if you need to make an early departure. Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel for its service, rooms and location. It was spot on.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Some second floor rooms have a lovely view of the Zugspitze.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$243 - US$311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsTirolEhrwald
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SONNENSPITZE HOTEL: See 40 Reviews, Price Comparison and 85 Photos (Ehrwald, Austria) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sonnenspitze Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sonnenspitze Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Familienbad Zugspitzarena (0.4 km), The Caledonian Irish Pub (0.4 km), and Ferienwohnung Hosp Miniature Golf (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonnenspitze Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sonnenspitze Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Sonnenspitze Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonnenspitze Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonnenspitze Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Holzerstubn, Anton's Restaurant, and Al Castagno.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonnenspitze Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Sonnenspitze Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sonnenspitze Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sonnenspitze Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Ehrwald.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sonnenspitze Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Turkish, Hungarian, Serbian, and Slovenian.
Are there any historical sites close to Sonnenspitze Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historische Bobbahn Rießersee (15.2 km), Kath. Filialkirche hl. Veit - Telfs (13.7 km), and Villa & Büste Einberger (14.9 km).