We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Orchard Cottage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Orchard Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Portsmouth, Ohio, Usa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my family had a fantastic stay at this very comfortable and welcoming B&B the food was very good and the general condition of the room was above standard for a affordable hotel Would certainly stay again Top marks Kevin

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent . Very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were very clean and fresh. Breakfast was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. We stayed as 3 couples as we were attending a wedding at Cooling castle . Everyone enjoyed their stay. The beds were really comfortable. They couldn't do enough to help. The kitchen was clean and you are able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carvelljayne
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Orchard Cottage for two nights this weekend and were both extremely happy with all aspects of of our stay. The owners, Kevin and Sue, were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - Kevin greeted us with tea and biscuits on arrival and provided some useful local info while we relaxed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The help your self breakfast was "continental". The croissants were stale. Poor standard to say the least. Shower packed up at first attempt to use it. Dead spider on the carpet. Toilet seat loose. I honestly can't recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidnoble67
Kevin F, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review

The gentleman was informed some time prior to arrival that unfortunately both owners of Orchard B&B had to temporarily step away from running the accommodation as my wife had been diagnosed with cancer and I was caring for her full time during her chemotherapy treatment. We had decided to try to honour existing bookings as, for example, the nearest available...

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

My parents have stayed here several times when they have visited from Cornwall. The proprietors are friendly and very welcoming. The rooms are well decorated and immaculate. You have a lounge area where you can relax and a kitchen fully equipped also. I'd highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Collier1uk
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Orchard Cottage prior to our daughters wedding at Cooling Barn. This is a fabulous place to stay and so so friendly. You get the feeling that you have gone from home to home. The rooms are of the highest quality and comfort. If we are ever in the area again then this is the place we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
Herne Bay
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

A party of six of us stayed overnight at Orchard Cottage whilst attending a wedding at Knowle Country House and what a wonderful find it was. We did not expect the high standard of accommodation and attention to detail. Kevin was so welcoming and showed us around the property when we arrived. The rooms were very clean with lovely bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisylouHerneBay
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I was a little apprehensive as only stayed at a B & B once before and was not impressed. I need not have worried Orchard Cottage is perfect. We had room 1 which is a lovely double room with ensuite facilities. It had everything we could wish for and more and also use of a self-contained kitchen. I have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanbennett110154
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This bed and breakfast offers completely self contained accommodation. It's very well run by Kevin & Sue. It's very clean and comfortable. Perfectly placed for our daughters wedding at Cooling Castle Barn. Orchard B&B offers a brilliant package for brides on their big day. Very highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
Leamington spa
Reviewed 16 June 2016

A group of us stayed at Orchard Cottage while we explored Chatham and Canterbury. The rooms were very comfortable and Kevin and Sue made us feel very welcome - like being at home. What more can we say. Oh, and a delicious breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank utto

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
5.7 km away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#2 of 6 in Chatham
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
290 reviews
5.5 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
567 reviews
9.3 km away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Rochester
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Address: 11 View Road | Cliffe Woods, Rochester ME3 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Orchard Cottage staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Kent, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Norfolk, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Orchard Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 the biggest, plenty of room for a travel cot which the owners can provide if requested and available”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaJ756, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles davidnoble67, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is on the ground floor, is spacious very comfortable and smashing ensuite facilities”
 of 5 bubbles susanbennett110154, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms offer excellent comfort, there is a conservatory for relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles trevors845, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Each room is perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles 337samanthat, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5