We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lakehouse Boutique Hotel & Ice Cream Shop

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasagaming
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lakehouse Boutique Hotel & Ice Cream Shop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went with a small group of friends for a fall wine dinner at the Lakehouse Boutique Hotel. We stayed only one night, however I would definitely come back in the future to stay multiple nights. As soon as we walked in we all noticed and commented on how beautiful the decor was. The lounge area looked spectacular and has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neverhaveiever8
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I visited the Lakehouse last weekend with a couple of friends for a wine dinner. The location was lovely -- right in town which was a stroll away from the boardwalk or a short drive to hiking trails. The staff was very courteous and caring. Our room was clean and so was the hot tub (huge points as often hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clashek
Brandon, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Lots of choices for ice cream. New owners a couple years ago really put a rustic log cabin type feel to the place. Seating inside and out. No extra charge for waffle cone, that's a bonus you don't see often. Well worth the stop if you're in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brock1611
Canmore
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed on a $99 special in the fall. The rooms have been somewhat updated. I would not stay at this location for anything more than $99. Bedroom wall was super thin and could hear the neighbour snoring all night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrpetsaver
Regina, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The facility is terrific. It is a very old hotel that was quite recently exceptionally well renovated. And it is well located on the main street near the lake. Very unfortunately, the owners choose to allow very loud and rowdy parties in the courtyard well into the early morning hours which ruins the stay for other guests. The wifi worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Westgateman1
Karly M, Owner at Lakehouse Boutique Hotel & Ice Cream Shop, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy you approve of the facility and renovations. To be clear we do not allow loud or rowdy parties of any kind. Upon learning of behaviour of this type the offenders are asked to stop of leave. We strive to make our facility a comfortable...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I would have given a 5 star but I didn't sleep(my kids did though which was a blessing) due to music playing all night long. I am not 100% sure if it was from the lounge downstairs and it was accidentally left on? Or another room? The music sounded like it was the lounge music though. Hopefully it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lianne D
Karly M, Owner at Lakehouse Boutique Hotel & Ice Cream Shop, responded to this review

So sorry about the lounge music! We feel terrible and would like to offer you a free 1 night stay next time you visit. Please email reservations@staylakehouse.ca and we will send it your way!

Virden, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed 2 June 2016

What a wonderful array of choices, and my ice cream sundae with hot fudge was the best. Hotel looks first-ckass, a big improvement over when we stayed previously when it was McTavish's. The rooms are a little pricey but are equipped with modern furnishings.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DWB1473
Saskatchewan
Reviewed 22 April 2016

My wife and I stayed here for one night back in December and it was great! The owners were super friendly and very accommodating. They even gave us their cell phone number in case we needed them. We ended up having the place to ourselves which was nice. We remember what it use to look like before all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hafor
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

I haven't stayed at Lakehouse; however, this is my spot for lattes. Mmmmm... This is the place for a cup of coffee in Wasagaming! It's amazing. Their lattes are so delicious, staff is friendly and the place is so clean and inviting. They were even open a few days this year between Xmas and New Years so I was able...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jea_dal
Canada
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I will preface this review by saying that this hotel had just undergone extensive renovations under new management, and literally just re-opened the day we arrived for May long weekend. So some of the rough patches we experienced during our visit may end up being resolved in the future once they are up and running a bit longer. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slbd79
Kris J, Manager at Lakehouse Boutique Hotel & Ice Cream Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review & concerns about the hotel. You are correct, the opening was a bit rough and perhaps a soft opening would have been a better idea. However, over the past few months we have made several improvements. These include a brand new hot tub and a sauna that is in working...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasagaming
1.0 km away
Elkhorn Resort Spa & Conference Centre
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Arrowhead Family Resort
#2 of 2 in Wasagaming
3 reviews
6.9 km away
Honeycomb Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 km away
Agassiz Park Lodge
Agassiz Park Lodge
#1 of 2 in McCreary
2 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lakehouse Boutique Hotel & Ice Cream Shop

Address: 128 Wasagaming Drive, Wasagaming, Manitoba R0J 1H0, Canada (Formerly McTavish's Wasagaming Lodge)
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Wasagaming
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lakehouse Boutique Hotel & Ice Cream Shop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in # 29 which was located at the back of the establishment. It was quiet and we had three good nights of sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Mercury752, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
1 of 1