We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
200 South Of Km Mark 166 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504 Costa Rica
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (599)
Room & Suite (172)
Pool & Beach (73)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 14 hotels in Uvita
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
666Reviews8Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 551
  • 85
  • 14
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eric wrote a review Jan 2023
Bethesda, Maryland4 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful setting with access to "private" public beach with no people. Friendly helpful well trained staff. Best food we had in Uvita. Neat private rooms/buildings with views, private trails with howler monkeys, treetop views of birds.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aracari Restaurant, Otros at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
*Thank you, for your kind words. Our location in paradise is certainly enhanced by the pride our wonderful staff has in sharing it. We look forward to your return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WanderingGeeks wrote a review Aug 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom106 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed at La Cusinga for four nights and absolutely loved it. We were in Colibri 1, which is an absolutely massive room tucked right at the entrance to the property. The room is gorgeous, done in wood and stone to look very natural, with its own private porch looking out over the jungle to the sea. We were initially worried that we would hear lots of coming and going but we never heard anything other than rain and the jungle sounds, including howler monkeys! The beds are comfortable, with plenty of pillows. There's a ceiling fan as well as a floor flan to stay cool. We loved: *The poza: it's easy to get in and out of this gorgeous little pool and we had so much fun trying to swim through the current to the falls itself. We swam here two mornings (before rain made it too heavy) -- heaven! *The pool: really beautiful and the part shade is appreciated, as are the outdoor showers *The staff: everyone was friendly and helpful -- especially Ángela at the front desk and Orlando in the restaurant. *The food: consisently good and always beautifully presented *The beach: Don't miss this!! It's about a 20-25 minute hike (steep in several places), but it is so worth it. Obviously conditions can change so be aware when you go.. But, when we went, the waves were big enough to be fun but not so large that they were scary. There's a cave to explore, and two pretty little waterfalls at the jungle line to rinse off in. We saw lizards, scarlet macaws, endless crabs, toucans and armadillos. It really did feel like a lost paradise as we were the only people there until another family arrived as we were leaving. It was incredible. On the property, we saw many birds, whales while we were eating breakfast, and a whole group of Capuchin monkeys which we were lucky enough to see right over our heads on the rope line near the pool. Our young teen particulary loved the big lizard 'Marty' who wanders around sometimes outside the restaurant and all the little lizards that climb the walls around the lookout. One thing to be aware of is that the hotel is several miles outside Uvita -- if you don't have a car of your own, it's a 10$ taxi ride each way. We had such an amazing stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Ventas at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 30 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the nice and encouraging comments in regards to your last stay at La Cusinga Lodge! The facilities of our property are made to provide an all needful to have a nice, relaxing and comfortable time. Thank you very much for bringing your experience to our attention and for specify each area you visited. We see an opportunity to make things better and we want to thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us, that feed back is what keeps us working really hard every day and keeps us thriving for excellence. We are looking forward to having you back soon. Best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaquesatraveller wrote a review Aug 2022
Expat in India12 contributions14 helpful votes
Great private location with sensational sunset views and great beach access. Excellent premium restaurant with some of the best food we had in Costa Rica - although not cheap. This changed perhaps five years ago so the older critical reviews are now out of date. Very friendly, helpful and well trained staff. We missed the induction so never got to the jungle pool, but the main swimming pool was beautiful, secluded, very clean and almost better for not having a sea view. We stayed in the dormitory rooms above reception (Tucan) which had probably the best sunset views of the property. No hot water initially but the staff fixed this. Good security, cameras etc. Quite a few student groups passed through - but this was fine. The 10-15 minute hike down the well marked wide trail to the beach with the cave is well worth it - beautiful, large and secluded.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Upstairs dormitory rooms above reception were good and clean with stunning views. Other rooms...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aracari Restaurant, Otros at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Hello, For our entire team, your comments are very valuable because they help us improve day by day to always meet your expectations. We hope to have your visit again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
canadianfamily05 wrote a review Jul 2022
Uxbridge, Canada69 contributions3 helpful votes
We went for lunch and had a delicious lunch with an even better view and then hiked a couple of trails. The swimming hole was so refreshing and the walk to the most beautiful beach was challenging but worth it! Thank you for your great service!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Ventas at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 21 Jul 2022
Dears customers, we are really happy that you have enjoyed in our property Doors are open for your proximate visit. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gustavo M wrote a review Apr 2022
San Jose, Costa Rica6 contributions3 helpful votes
We went to try the spa and the restaurant... The experience was terrible. Food was tasteless. The ceviche was watery and lacked lemon. The chicken wrap was too simple and lacked taste. The chips were soft and old... Did not taste fresh at all. Service was horrible. The waiter missed one of the orders... The only good thing was a chilly Imperial. In summary a complete waste. Cannot recommend this place at all for food. The spa well... We couldn't try it... The therapist was not in site and it'd take a while to arrive. Better find another place before visiting this place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid ceviche, avoid the chicken wrap, avoid the chicken fingers they are bad.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lelani T, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 13 Apr 2022
I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your visit. I sincerely apologize for the issues with the food. Customer satisfaction is our top priority and we would have replaced any dishes you were unhappy with. Ceviche and chips are made fresh and should not have been as you describe. I appreciate your comments and have already spoken with the chef to ensure we can improve. Reservations are required for spa services. This allows us to prepare and provide our guests with the best service possible. If you would like to give us another chance please email or call reservations for more information. We appreciate your visit and hope you will give us a chance to make a better impression.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ativu wrote a review Apr 2022
Munich, Germany88 contributions76 helpful votes
I spent more than a week at the Lodge. I had a bungalow with ocean view. The few was amazing! The property has a lots of walking trails including one to a beach of the Ballena National Park. The beach with the caves is beautiful. I was there completely alone. That was great! You can see lots of animals in their natural habitat at the property. I saw howler monkeys, capuchin monkeys, coatis, lot‘s of beautiful birds (including toucans and parrots). It was wonderful! Staff is also very helpful! The only disadvantage of the bungalow is that they are not soundproofed, you can hear every word of your neighbor. Guest should be made aware of this and should adapt their behavior to guarantee everyone a good rest at the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Ventas at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Hello, For our entire team, your comments are very valuable because they help us improve day by day to always meet your expectations. We hope to have your visit again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah M wrote a review Jun 2021
11 contributions3 helpful votes
La Cusinga Lodge is a great choice if you are looking for a home base in the Uvita area. We happened upon it on our last trip to Costa Rica through eating at Aracari Restaurant. We ate breakfast at Aracari during our stay and the service and food were exceptional. Roy and Michael, two of the waiters, shared great conversation with us. Our stay at La Cusinga exceeded my expectations. Hazel, the receptionist, was available when we needed her. She helped acclimate us on our first night in Costa Rica. The property includes walking trails, a pool, a beach, and even an area with a posa, or waterfall, where you can take a dip in a natural pool. There was no air conditioning in La Paloma, the room where we stayed. The lodge has running water and there was a fan in our room. The view of the forest and ocean outside of the room and our little yard with a reclined chair was my favorite part. I had an outstanding aromatherapy massage by Marcella at the yoga studio, which I would recommend at anyone looking for an extra treat. I would love to return to La Cusinga in the future. The place started felt like a second home during our trip. Thanks to all of the staff there. Keep on doing what you are doing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Paloma room is nice for couples
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Ventas at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Morning Hannah, We are so pleased to read your comments, for us exceeding expectations is a goal and we hope we did it this time too. If you are around anytime, feel free to visit us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria R wrote a review May 2021
Toronto, Canada86 contributions55 helpful votes
The Cusinga Lodge is an amazing place to spend a few days. Great hiking trails, meticulously maintained property with breathtaking views. Clean swimming pool with a shade surrounded by lush forest. Great food and carrying personnel. Totally recommend
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Sales at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 27 May 2021
Hola María, Para todo nuestro equipo, sus comentarios son muy valiosos porque nos ayudan a mejorar día con día para siempre cumplir con sus expectativas. Esperamos pronto contar nuevamente con su visita.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
junglechef51 wrote a review May 2021
Uvita, Costa Rica6 contributions1 helpful vote
La Cusinga is one of those special, magical places in Costa Rica that seems to get better and better with age. The views are spectacular, the hiking trails are amazing, and every part of the property feels special and private. They have added a beautifully designed pool right in the middle of the jungle and it fits right in. My wife and I enjoyed several mornings and afternoons there. But we also enjoyed the privacy and the magic of the fresh water poza (pool) a short hike away from the man-made pool. It sits at the bottom of a small catarata (waterfall) and is surrounded and shaded by the jungle. When we were there we felt as if we were the only people on the planet. Our cabin was cozy, the sheets were excellent, and the sound of the howlers early in the morning was a familiar wake-up call. The WiFi in the cabin was a good strong signal as well. The breakfasts were unformly excellent with ripe fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice and a choice of omelet, Gallo pinto, or pancakes. I'm not a huge fan of Gallo pinto, but the presentation here is special and the flavors work together better than most. I had ceviche for lunch twice and it was exemplary. Dinner was very good and the menu quite broad. We had a fantastic romantic getaway and would recommend La Cusinga to anyone who wants to experience the real Costa Rica.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Sales at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 27 May 2021
Hola, Para todo nuestro equipo, sus comentarios son muy valiosos porque nos ayudan a mejorar día con día para siempre cumplir con sus expectativas. Esperamos pronto contar nuevamente con su visita.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie K wrote a review Apr 2021
50 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
I had the chance to stumble upon this amazing hotel property that gives access to the unique and exclusive Arco beach, as well as to natural pools within the river in the forest. There are hiking trails through the forest all around and accessible from Cusinga hotel, and accesses to more beaches too.... I also ate in the restaurant of the hotel, the Aracari, and had a wonderful time and meal. I first had a cocktail on the hotel deck - taking in the view. Then an excellent veggie meal with yet again more breathtaking views. I can only recommend you to visit this place and please give a scratch to the unlikely resident Pepe the cat - he is one adorable fur ball.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Sales at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 27 May 2021
Hola, Para todo nuestro equipo, sus comentarios son muy valiosos porque nos ayudan a mejorar día con día para siempre cumplir con sus expectativas. Nuestro amigo Pepe y el resto del staff, esperamos pronto contar nuevamente con su visita.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$187 - US$271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la cusinga eco hotel uvita
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasUvita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA CUSINGA ECO LODGE: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 821 Photos (Costa Rica/Uvita) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge (6.7 km), Uvita Waterfall (4.9 km), and Uvita Beach (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bagel Time Bakery, Bar Restaurant Los Laureles, and Pizza Time.
Does La Cusinga Eco Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does La Cusinga Eco Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is La Cusinga Eco Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.