We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,287: English reviews
Durham
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a special and unusual treat for us - we normally stay in more modest accommodation. Sadly, we were disappointed with this hotel, mostly from a vfm aspect. Other than an outdoor heated pool and a Michelin (= very expensive) restaurant, I’m not sure what it offers that you can’t get at half the price. Our room was ‘standard’...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItalianLakesRus
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear ItalianLakesRus, Thank-you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas. It sounds like you stayed at a busy time and I do apologise if this impacted on your stay. However, I am glad that you were able to dine in the restaurant and that you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful spa day and overnight stay Relaxing, spotless rooms, comfortable beds, staff very helpful Cannot fault it hope to return Excellent spa facilities good value packages with great products used Maybe two courses for lunch would be better as portions not huge! Overall very satisfied Set in a wonderful location within easy walking distance of town plenty shops and cafes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, I am so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and were able to enjoy the spa treatments and facilities. We're so lucky with our location in Helmsley - there's definitely a lot of tempting delis, shops and tourist attractions. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards,

Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel with very good facilities and dining. Room excellent with great service. Centrally located in Hemlsey and car parking which ˆs good given how busy the town is . Staff all very friendly and ready to help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank das90a
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear das90a, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived last weekend. Lovely set up and lovely town. Room was like a sauna which was uncomfortable. I prevously asked for vegatarian menu before visit. Unfortunately a restricted4 dish main menu was presented with only one gnochi main presented so minimal effort here. Vegatarians...inwpuldnt bother!!!!no effort for my girlfriend special weekend afyer pre warning so she had to eat bowls...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rich L
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rich L, Thank-you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you felt the need to list this review as we have discussed the issues directly and have differing opinions as to your stay at the Feversham. Without addressing each comment (as we have done with you in private) I think that our...

Middlesbrough
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent food, staff, lounge, bar area, dining room and décor. Average spa, although pool and surroundings a nice extra compared to most spas. A larger hot tub would be advantageous or two separate tubs. Room 6 small, noisy, too hot. In need of refurbishment throughout. Including, stained grouting, tap top missing, filled in drill holes. Room tired in general. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenalana
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Karenalana, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel in a very honest review. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't meet all of your expectations but hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to rectify these. Kind Regards

Bombay, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic hotel and experience - from check in to departure everything service related was superb. We had treatments in the Spa, ate dinner in the restaurant and stayed over finishing off with a fabulous breakfast - definitely recommend. Service of this consistent standard regardless of which touch point you access isn't easy - huge well done ..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bombaykenn
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bombaykenn, Thank you very much for such a lovely review. I am pleased to hear that the hotel met all of your expectations and we really hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice little hotel this one. Centers around an outside heated pool. Spa is excellent and usage of its facilities is free with you accommodation. Very nice good quality served breakfast. Friendly staff and well maintained. Parking is underneath the hotel so don't worry if you cant find parking on google maps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whiteball
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Whiteball, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind Regards

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a second visit after a gap of around five years. In that time we have always recommended to family and friends for a 'special night away'. Not anymore. Its not that the place is bad, its just not great anymore. In every area (save for how friendly the staff are) the standards have slipped and the experience no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrew w
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Andrew W, Many thanks for your review of the Feversham Arms. I am very sorry that you left feeling disappointed. We work very hard to ensure we exceed guests' expectations and this has clearly not been the case in this instance. I have passed on your comments to our Restaurant Manager and Rooms Divisions Manager to action with their...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

loved every minute of my stay, staff wonderful felt so comfortable from arriving to departing,cant wait to return.the hotel is perfect for couples or people alone lots of space to read or have a drink, food wonderful,also dog friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colleen246879
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear colleen246879, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards

Aldridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in York for 4 nights to celebrate my birthday and decided we wanted somewhere different for Sunday Lunch. What a good choice - this was the best Sunday lunch out we have had for ages. The soup was creamy and served with fresh bread and butter, the roast beef melted in our mouths and the vegetables were cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen N
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maureen N, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you had a brilliant lunch in our Weathervane restaurant and I have passed on your comments to all the relevant people mentioned above. We look forward to welcoming you back, Kind Regards

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (275)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,461 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
643 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: RM637 - RM2,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, LateRooms, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
cleveland
1 month ago
Yorkshire
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid 3 and 5 (and some others) - traffic noise.”
ItalianLakesRus, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front not worth the price”
karenalana, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool view rooms are great some with balconies.”
Whiteball, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“south side rooms are peaceful”
colleen246879, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“In new rooms around the pool”
rapton, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5