We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,248: English reviews
England
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Reading the reviews of this spa I arrived with great anticipation but it didn't really deliver. I suppose I should have guessed when I booked a spa day, because unlike other spas I have used, this one was very restrictive about substituing treatments. When I arrived it was pleasant enough but a bit tatty, the robe was not towelling and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DebEngland
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Verbena Spa. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations as we do wish that all guests enjoy their visit. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

I have stayed a couple of times over the last few years so have noticed the changes. It is no longer the same welcoming Yorkshire hotel -you could be at any overpriced hotel apart from the lovely man taking care of your car. The setting remains special and it is such a pity the Feversham has lost its way. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank DMF500
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa. We are delighted that you found our Hotel Porter to be “lovely”, however we are sorry that you did not find your stay to be as good as on previous occasions. We have seen many changes recently and we are in the process of many more and so...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

It all started badly when Valentina on reception obviously doesn't know anything about customer service or must of been having a bad day! Everything seemed a job from showing us round, to showing us the room. When we couldn't work the complicated television system and had to phone down reception to ask for help we felt bad for asking she...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Sophie P
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we have responded to your comments on the telephone and via email to your mother. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Don't waste your money. Staff unhelpful, snobby and when we asked for our coats, were told you'll get them when credit card transaction finished!!!! Food seriously over-rated - needs a new chef with skills appropriate to what this hotel is trying to portray, but failing miserably. Very slow service with more attention to clearing crumbs from the table cloth than...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tim W
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch with us, but we are most disappointed that you found us to be “snobby” as we do not mean to be perceived this way. We hope to offer all guests a warm welcome into our cosy hotel and we are sorry that you did not feel that you experienced this....

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2014

2 nights stay here, first the rooms, don't stay in 11' 12' or 14, it like trying to sleep on the M1. The dinner menu is limited, as is the chefs talent to cook them, out of 6 mains five were cold, the portions small and the composition underwhelming. Staff appear to have an "attitude" with the service poor to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank skirover01
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do endeavour to exceed expectations and it is always disappointing when a guest does not feel that we have done this. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

wakefield
Reviewed 23 September 2014

from the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble.we settled into our room then wondered over to the spa,not long after had a wonderfull massage and facial (so relaxing i fell asleep).we could not decide what to eat so both had the taster menu with wine and it did not disappoint.superb hotel and staff thankyou to you all especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank orlandoWakefield
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Kind words like yours are a wonderful motivator to our team. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Reviewed 23 September 2014

We are just outraged at how snobby & unhelpful the staff were here when making a general enquiry in person due to disability, I required a suite with a wet room. Their whole attitude was innapropriate & very out of date, afterall, lets not forget how expensive this hotel is!!

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Glyn B
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

This is a very disappointing review considering that you have not actually stayed at the hotel. Having spoken to the person that you enquired with, we believe that there may have been some misunderstanding as they are quite surprised at your comments. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact the hotel on 01439 770766. With kind regards,...

Reviewed 21 September 2014

Stayed here overnight and was delighted with every aspect. Arrived late after a 5.5 hour drive and received a warm welcome from Tony the Night Porter - shortly followed by him happily reopening a bar for us and serving two glasses of wine for us to take back to the room and enjoy. Stayed in room/suite £235 - a delightful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for this lovely review! We are so pleased that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable and we certainly do hope that you are able to return soon. With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Durham UK
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We had room 11 (as someone else mentions) room was nice had all the amenities, good shower, comfy bed and good TV. Room was hot, even in Mid September. Window opened but was on the main street so difficult to leave it open. Evening meal was superb as was Breakfast. All staff wonderful. Not into Spa things so never used....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dunelm22
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you do decide to visit again, maybe we can even tempt you to enjoy the Verbena Spa next time, if only for a dip in the Jacuzzi! With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2014

My sister and I went here as part of a special deal for my birthday. I have never felt so relaxed in my life! We were greeted by warm friendly staff who were more than welcoming. The place itself is beautiful - the various rooms were so relaxing and you can come and go as you please. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RWE2014
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your Spa Day! Hopefully we might see you again soon as we do have a special 2-4-1 offer on treatments on Tuesdays and Wednesdays this month (October 2014). With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

559 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,389 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
577 reviews
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,866 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: RM650 - RM2,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a suite with a pool view”
 of 5 bubbles willp144, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not at the front if you want the window open.”
 of 5 bubbles christine_bedford55, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pool suites are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles sld112017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Junior suite - room 10 is recommended”
 of 5 bubbles Bugsy1962, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ground floor rooms very noisy wooden boards you can hear every footstep”
 of 5 bubbles sallybelzonicham2017, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5