We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alpine Garden Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alpine Garden Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alpine Garden Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We arrive casually mid week and early spring at Hanmer Springs to find much of the accommodation already booked out. Apparently a show at a neighboring town has caused a rush. No problem there is some space at the Alpine Gardens which boasts biggish one bedroom units with comprehensive facilities. Kitchenette is useful and the local ion is very quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Constant T
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review, glad you enjoyed the stay. Apologies for the squeaky floor...the joy of wooden buildings :) We pride ourselves on our peaceful site and are pleased you thought we had a quiet location.

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We stayed several nights and found it great. Clean, modern facilities, good views, and a homely style. The owners were very helpful and accommodating, and they have thoughtful extras like towels provided for visiting the towns spas and hot pools. Happy to recommend it to others.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Berne B
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the excellent review, we enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again!

Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We were looking for a motel room for one night and stumbled across this place. It's a great place to stay as it's off the main road. The room itself was clean and tidy and had everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The owner was very friendly. I would highly recommend this place for the cost.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona V
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review and glad you had a nice stay with us!

Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Great facilities, location, and very well looked after. A joy to stay there. Town has great facilities nearby including mini golf cafes and a monteiths pub. It's s great town and this accommodation ticks all the boxes. Clean, you get milk, wifi and newspapers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed your stay!

Christchurch
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night 25 th July. Lovely staff at check in, quiet one bedroom unit. Unit itself I thought was really good value, lots of lounge space. Warm enough for us as it was quite mild the night we stayed. Awesome electric blankets! Great to have pool towels supplied for the pools, and a 5 min walk or less...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hotwxsearch
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the excellent review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay...apologies for the noisy pipes and guests...next time you stay you should try our Studio Units down the end, hopefully that would be a quieter spot :)

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed in an ensuite studio for two nights and although it was reasonably cheap, I'd try somewhere else next time. The location is quite good being easy walking distance to the pools and the village centre. The bedroom/living and kitchen areas were a good size, but the bathroom was small and poky. The small heater took a really long time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we appreciate the feedback...we are sorry about the issues you mentioned in your review. It was very cold while you were here (-8 frost!) and if you had let us know you weren't warm enough we would have been happy to put an extra heater in your room and show you the extra blankets that were...

Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We made arrangements to have a very early check-in as we travelled on an overnight flight and consequently had no sleep. Nothing was a problem and we checked in at 8.30 a.m. to enjoy a good, peaceful sleep. The room was beautifully warm and clean with parking at the door. There were lovely views from the grounds over another beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G P
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! We get many people leaving items behind and try to return as much as we can to the rightful owners...glad you enjoyed your stay and we too think we have a very quiet motel here in Hanmer Springs. Hope to see you again :)

Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Excellent location,warm,clean and comfortable, quiet setting, great views, friendly helpful hosts, good parking, a few minutes walk to Springs, restaurants and cafes. Extra towels and bath mats provided for guests going to pools, an all round great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jill M
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jill, Thanks for the great review...we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to have such friendly and respectful guests stay with us...hope to see you again one day :)

hexham
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We stayed for just one night on 17th November.We arrived several hours before check in time and asked if we could leave our car in the car park whilst we visited the nearby hot springs. The welcome was really warm and we were told we could check in immediately. The room was warm and had everything we needed and more!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 599annie
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and we welcome you back anytime. Glad that you enjoyed everything Hanmer Springs has to offer!

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Fabulous location. A short stroll from the Springs, and all the restaurants,but quietly tucked away with lovley views at the back. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The kitchen adequately stocked. The guy who managed the lodges was very friendly and helpful. We booked the BBQ one evening, which he set up for us in the garden with a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jaxhida
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, look forward to seeing you again!

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
279 reviews
0.5 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
634 reviews
0.6 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
121 reviews
0.5 km away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
122 reviews
0.0 km away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deb and James welcome you. Whether you are passing through or spending time in the Village and surrounds we want your stay with us to be relaxing and refreshing. All of our units are spacious, each with a sunny veranda, spectacular views over the Hanmer Basin and out to the mountains. Only a 5 minute stroll to all that the Village has on offer - the Thermal Pools, cafes and great restaurants. We are a 4 star rated motel and our nine modern units offer accommodation options for most travellers needs - comprising of 4 one bedroom, 2 two bedroom family units and 3 studio spa bath units, all of which are serviced daily. We have free Wi-Fi and free towels for use at the thermal pools. A complimentary paper is delivered Monday-Saturday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alpine Garden Motel

Address: 3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: RM386 - RM554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Garden Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Alpine Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alpine Garden Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms are ground floor, we were right beside main road, and didn't hear a any road noise at all!”
 of 5 bubbles CorrenaB, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sunny spot.”
 of 5 bubbles wehr317, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 at at end of complex looked a good spot.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisB393, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If needing WiFi, ask for a room that has a good signal.”
 of 5 bubbles Well-Weathered, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms in quiet area”
 of 5 bubbles irishrover16, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5