We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Settlers Motel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Settlers Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 547: English reviews
Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a great stay here. The staff were friendly and owner really informative about the room and local area. The room was well equipped and had some nice extra touches. It was also lovely being able to sit out on the balcony. I loved the bathroom with large spa bath and skylight! Would definitely recommend for a relaxed stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Napen01
Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I enjoyed a very nice stay at Settlers just after the new year. The room we stayed in was on the second floor so we did have a walk up but it was bright, clean, updated, close to the Springs and restaurants and well appointed with a kitchenette. We had the opportunity to meet both Sally and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soccermomWashington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

just perfect for the four of us - relaxed, great accommodation and so convenient for just one night (although we definitely wanted more!). Thanks for the hospitality (and unexpectedly great range of DVD's!)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PegasusArms
Sedona, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed one night as have a hectic itinerary but would have liked to stay more. Hanmer Springs lovely stopping off point and accommodation was more than adequate, great room, free laundrette and use choice of 100's of free use DVD's Excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonG31352
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed just for one night but our room was clean , had everything you would want and was in the middle of everything . Very reasonably priced and a real friendly spot that makes it stand out from those general sole less places . Highly Recommend

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Declan B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay-very friendly hosts. Would have loved to stay longer. Will stay next time. Lovely room-worth the money. Lovely resident cat 💗 close to amenities like the pools and food outlets. Nice quiet location. Rooms are clean and I'm good condition.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U6081YPkellyc
settlershanmer, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Motel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying longer next time! We are indeed in a handy yet quiet location, close to the Thermal Pools & Village. Our cats certainly enjoy visiting our guests :)

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent Christmas night here and really loved the accommodations, the warm welcome, and the quality of the rooms. Hanmer Springs is a nice, walkable town located near several adventure attractions. Settlers is very close to the hot springs and really deserves the wonderful rankings that it receives. One of our rooms (we had three spread among our family) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradyBarlow
settlershanmer, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Settlers, where you chose to spend Christmas night with your family. That is special to us and we are pleased you were happy with your accommodation. Happy New Year to you all and we hope you will return to our beautiful village one day!

Otago Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in one of the bottom studio units and this suited us perfectly. After having been told at an i site we wouldn't be able to get to Hanmer a couple of days after the Kaikora earthquake we rang ahead and were reassured almost everything was running as per usual. The motel is very handy to walk to everything and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 667trish
settlershanmer, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Motel and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Settlers. It has certainly been business as usual for all of us here in beautiful Hanmer Springs and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were diverted to Hanmer Springs from Kaikoura due to the recent earthquake, and our travel agent booked us into the Settlers Motel. We received a warm welcome on arrival and the owner made clear that if we needed anything all we needed to do was ask. The room (first floor with balcony) was great; the kitchenette had everything; the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinandCharma... R
settlershanmer, Manager at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our Motel, after you visited unexpectedly in November. We are pleased you were happy with our accommodation at Settlers and our Team works hard to ensure our guests have everything they need! WE wish you a very Happy New Year.

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was a good size, with excellent amenities and well provided with equipment - we chose to cook and eat in. The motel is very near to the hot springs, and our room had its own spa bath as well. We wished we could have stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katharinemendelsohn
settlershanmer, Manager at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review of our Motel and we are so pleased to hear you were happy with your accommodation and could have stayed longer! Maybe next time. Happy New Year!

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
410 reviews
0.5 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
265 reviews
0.5 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
265 reviews
1.3 km away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
440 reviews
0.9 km away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: RM560 - RM719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Settlers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have mobility issues, I'd suggest asking for a ground floor unit.”
 of 5 bubbles soccermomWashington, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room #3 was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles BradyBarlow, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pay extra to get a stand alone unit if you want some sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles tyrrellfam, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs unit balcony is more private”
 of 5 bubbles prattley5, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Double rooms are excellent value and quality”
 of 5 bubbles 57iainc, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay