We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brenton Beach House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Brenton Beach House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Start your review of Brenton Beach House
 Click to rate
Peebles
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Derek, the owner, is a lovely man who is so friendly and easy to get on with. He was very welcoming and we enjoyed our stay here in Brenton on Sea. We had originally thought that we were nearer the beach rather than higher up the hill but the path down was quite easy to negotiate, or, you can drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brina58
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It took a bit of finding, but it was worth it. Our room was beautiful, looked in to the garden with small pool, a balcony along its length. Very well appointed. Breakfast is wonderful, personally cooked by mine host, nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this place, only 10 mins into Knysna, two good restaurants nearby, a lovely beach...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z6640OFdavidm
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm so happy i choose Derreck his great B&B!!!! Warm, helpfull and cosy!! Superb bed! We had the honeymoon suite with it's beautiful views! Breakfast all you need in friendly setting, and great assistance booking teetime at Pezula! Will hopefully come back and stay longer!! Our warmest and kindest regards to Derrick and his staff!!! Winnifred, Tom, Roxane and Titus...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank titusb2017
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm welcome from host Derrick. Excellent breakfasts with best omlettes. Spacious and clean rooms. Great walk to Buffels Bay on beach. A very comfortable experience and away from the crowds of Knysna.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJFP17
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

How does one respond to such a review? Flattered. Merci.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Brenton on sea is a very small village with just two restaurants but an extraordinary beach. Derrick, the owner of the Beach house welcomed us and we felt at home from the first moment. The house has 5 rooms only, so it's a very quiet place. We enjoyed the silence and the hospitality of Derrick and his staff. The boss...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harald C
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We spent a very enjoyable 8 nights at Brenton Beach House. Our en-suite room was spacious, had a balcony, overlooked the pool, and the fridge and microwave were very useful if we did not want to eat out. Derrick, the owner is friendly, helpful and a mine of information. He made us feel very much at home. The buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Derek and his staff looked after us from the moment we arrived. Our pre-arrival e-mails looking for further information and clarification were always promptly responded to and the upshot is that we spent a very relaxing time at Brenton over the New Year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelrR841JR
Seattle, United States
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The Beach House is lovely, warm and inviting with an attentive host and staff. Derrick was a fountain of information in response to all our questions and helped use our short time wisely in the Knysna area. His breakfast, including homemade bread, was excellent. The beach, just a walk down the hill, was extraordinary. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Amy, thank you so much for such kind words. All the best for 2017. Cheers Derrick

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This was even better than we had hoped. Our booking was for a family group of 8. We were all delighted with our rooms, the pool in the garden and the warmth and friendliness of the management and staff. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Venetia2013
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We had a nice room ,but it felt a little humid. Everything was tastefully decorated,the house was old but renewed, so the bathroom was good and the bed very comfortable. Lovely breakfast in the morning and a very friendly host.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 489hendriks
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have never not disclosed our location by the way. The GPS and full address is on our web site so cannot comment on that point that we are far from town. We are a short 15 min drive away. I have found out what the "Humidity" problem was in the bathrooms. Our cleaning ladies...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
6.6 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
734 reviews
8.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.6 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
88 reviews
0.2 km away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
74 reviews
0.2 km away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are situated just 5min walk away from the 6km long Brenton beach which has had Blue Flag status for the past 3 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brenton Beach House

Address: 116 Watsonia Avenue, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly J&C's Beach House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: RM333 - RM582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Brenton Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brenton Beach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms good.”
 of 5 bubbles CJFP17, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Gary Player sea view suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Venetia2013, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is magnificent!!”
 of 5 bubbles wendyallison, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Blue Room under the breakfast/bar lobby”
 of 5 bubbles HeleneHugues, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We had the standard garden upper level room. Very Spacious!”
 of 5 bubbles butler46203, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5