We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sterrett's Caravan Park

Save
Share
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BY England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (17)
View from Room (3)

About

#2 of 4 Speciality lodging in Symonds Yat
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Sterrett’s Caravan and Camping Park has been carefully developed over many years and is set in the beautiful Wye Valley at Symonds Yat West, Herefordshire. We offer: Touring / Camping - (20 Touring pitches with electricity if required), 3 x rental vans (sleeps 6), Holiday Lodge (sleeps 6), Showers / amenity block, New rental vans and management team. Sat Nav code: HR9 6DA
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Picnic area
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
56Reviews3Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 9
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andy N wrote a review 16 Jun
1 contribution
The man in the office who checks you in and greets guests is rude and offensive. He swore at me and my son (7 years old) when we were entering the site. The woman in the office was very polite, the site was lovely however, a little more attention in the touring park toilets would be beneficial as they run out of paper.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Rollinson, Owner at Sterrett's Caravan Park
Responded 3 days ago
Hello Andy, Could you please give us a call, to to verify that you have the correct Camping Park, and give us some more details. Were are concerned if your experience was with us, and wish to put it right. The Park mobile is 07751 022106, thank you. You can leave a message and we will return your call.
Read more
sallylamb77 wrote a review May 2021
Redditch, United Kingdom142 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Booked to stay in our Motorhomes, paid £50 per night. Used postcode off google maps to get there and it takes you the wrong way. Lovely friendly welcome from Jane. She also took time to tell us places of interest and how to get there.. Took us to our pitch which was basically on the car park due to recent flooding. To pay £100 to park in a car park for 2 nights is a bit high. As expected the toilet/shower blocks shut but taps and electric available. The elsan point both times we used was dirty and not clean and the hosepipe kept falling off. There is a bar on site. Friendly worker but very little covid restrictions and seemed to only be locals there. It was reasonably priced, no food. It was an ok site but won’t be rushing back. It’s in an amazing area even when it’s pouring down! Good play area for kids. Lots of bins about but couldn’t see any recycling facilities
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Rollinson, Owner at Sterrett's Caravan Park
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your review, your positive comments are very much appreciated, although I would like to address a few of the negative ones. Regretfully, we do not have control over google, but the Park is clearly marked on google maps, and is pretty straightforward to find. I do not think that £25.00 per night, per camper, including electric hook-up for each is unreasonable. You were parked on the hard standing because the ground was extremely soft after one of the wettest Spring periods for decades. If you had taken your campers onto the grass you would have been stuck there, you would also have had very wet and/or muddy feet getting to and from your vehicle. Of course, it would have been better to have pitched on grass, but it was not feasible, however unfortunate. The Elsan point you used was not supposed to be in use, we were in the process of reinstating it after it being flooded by river water. There were boards across the door and a sign to say that the building was out of use, if these had been moved by persons unknown then we apologise. We have a new amenity block in the nearby neighbouring camping field, which was not affected by the flood. The Elsan there is new, clean, and very serviceable. There is NOT a bar on the Park, there IS a bar nearby, which is absolutely nothing to do with Sterretts Caravan and Camping Park. It should not be reviewed with respect to our Park, good or bad. There are signs at various places on the Park to inform people of this. You make a valid point about re-cycling bins. We had ordered re-cycling bins from our local council and there was a delay in delivering them in time for our re-opening on May 17th, they are there now and have been for some time.
Read more
Olivia M wrote a review Jul 2020
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom109 contributions27 helpful votes
Overall we were really pleased with our choice of camping grounds for a mini break in the Wye Valley. When we first arrived we were a little worried at seeing the very tacky arcade, but the actual field for tents was lovely, sheltered by trees and roomy pitches. The location was great being near local shops and a local Greg's (a 5 min drive away). The toilet block looked fairly new and extremely clean! Due to Covid there was only two toilets for the ladies side and two showers, so I did have to queue a couple of times. The showers heat was a little intermittent as well, going from scolding hot to luke warm! The staff seemed friendly, however we did lack a bit of a welcome when we first arrived, for example they didn't tell us the toilet block code or what attractions would be near by. Also, it's worth noting that the camping field does not get any evening sun due to large trees on the one side, this didn't bother us but worth noting if you want that warm evening glow!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tim Morgan wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Any concerns we had about social distancing were soon dismissed. Site wardens were very friendly and welcoming and explained all the safety rules that have been put in place straight away. We were escorted to our pitch and were pleased to see all pitches well spaced apart. The distancing rules didn't really cause us any problems with only short waits at toilet and shower blocks at busier times. It was very reassuring to see staff constantly cleaning the communal areas. All of our group had a great time. A lovely place to visit and a great site with some of the best facilities we've experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Graham Y wrote a review Sep 2019
Doha, Qatar21 contributions6 helpful votes
Excellent Location for visiting Symond Yat on River Ross on Wye ,Newly Built large Shower and Toilet Block,plenty of hot water,also facilities for fresh water supply and waist removal,level/slightly sloping self draining site, Lots of restaurants etc nearby
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHerefordshireRoss-on-WyeSymonds Yat
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sterrett's Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to Sterrett's Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Woods of Whitchurch (0.7 km), Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo (0.4 km), and Ye Old Ferrie Inn (0.7 km).
Is parking available at Sterrett's Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sterrett's Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Potting Shed, Ye Old Ferrie Inn, and The Old Court Hotel Restaurant.
Is Sterrett's Caravan Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Symonds Yat.
Are pets allowed at Sterrett's Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sterrett's Caravan Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Goodrich Castle (2.8 km) and Monnow Bridge and Gate (6.8 km).
Is Sterrett's Caravan Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.