We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highlander Hotel

Expedia.comUS$66*
View Deal
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Highlander Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 619: English reviews
Start your review of Highlander Hotel
 Click to rate
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have recently stayed in this hotel for 4 nights travelling with Newmarket Holidays. We had a lovely time, the hotel is very nice and the food was also lovely. The staff are very hardworking and friendly and the service at mealtimes was very well organised with all the food served nice and hot. Desserts were served from a trolley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mag16_12
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff at this hotel were so friendly, caring and helpful. I thought they really stood out, even if the internet access at the hotel didn't. The room was clean and had everything in it that we needed - really appreciated the heated towel warmers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your kind comments about my staff. I am surprised that you had issues with the internet as this has not been a problem since our new system was put in throughout the hotel but we will monitor it.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent 2 nights at this hotel mid April with my partner as it was his 40th birthday and we were very disappointed with it. Hotel badly needs updated, decor is late 80's early 90's. The main reception had a damp musty smell, although our building and room didn't have this. The deal we got through the hotel direct included dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tallmo67
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the hotel did not meet with your expectations. It somewhat surprises me that if you were so disappointed that you did not ask to see me during your stay.

Reviewed 1 week ago

arrived 10 apr,lovely room,clean and tidy.local barman an absolute star although one of the few local staff.excellent food but location means your own transport is essential.would not hesitate to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary d
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes our barman is a bit of a character. We hope that we will see you again soon.

Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night but it is a lovely hotel. Vey busy for time of year but it was Easter Weekend. Our breakfast was very good in the morning as well. Our room was very spacious. They take in bus tours so unfortunately the bar was not occupied just after 10 which was the only disappointment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizcha2015
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. Unfortunately some of our guests have a very early start in the morning which does deter them from using the bar late. I do hope we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

working in the area so stayed here for a few weeks rooms clean staff friendly food ok booked out on the 10th feb 2017 as i had found other accommodation when i discovered my aftershave that i had just bought was missing my room had been locked at all times so it had to be a staff member with access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
Cynthia R, Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you believe a staff member has taken your aftershave, we have not had any issues of this nature. Can you give me a call to arrange a suitable time for you to come and discuss this with me.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First and foremost l will caveat this review by saying that one gets what one pays for. One would never get a five star experience from a one star hotel. Having said that the recent experience at the Highlander was disappointing, if slightly comical and entertaining. The fabric of the building is, like many other reviewers have suggested, is extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt G
Cynthia R, Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are somewhat disappointed by all the negative remarks you have made but everyone is allowed an opinion and the hotel obviously did not meet with your expectations.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed four nights at this well organised comfortable and friendly hotel in a beautiful location. Our room was very clean and most comfortable, the bathroom was superb. After a day out at the Kyle of Lochalsh, our coach had a tyre bow out, coupled with a road closures due to a double RTC, we didn't return to the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SteveofGloucester
Cynthia R, Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at a later date.

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the staff were excellent, this review is not about them but the hotel itself. Drove through the opening between the 2 buildings and my heart sank, it looked like a care home. Went to reception to check in which was quick and easy and was told our room was in the block at the back. There was a strange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophkay
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments regarding my staff and I am sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. I only wish that you had spoken with me at the time and I could have tried to rectify the situation.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Highlander last Sunday and Monday night having booked a last minute break in The Highlands. Check in was efficient and our room, and bed, were very comfortable. It was very clean and the bathroom had obviously been recently refurbished. The shower was excellent and the towels were not the threadbare ones issued in some hotels. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review we very much appreciate your kind comments and I will pass them on to my staff.

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
1.1 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
281 reviews
0.4 km away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
219 reviews
29.8 km away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
321 reviews
3.6 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
450 reviews
3.8 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Price Range: RM336 - RM549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scottish Highlands, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highlander Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Highlander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room at the rear as there's quite a lot of traffic passes the hotel”
839MargaretB, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get into the main building or the one with a covered walkway.”
stephenmM6861YR, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are likely to have less noise, see review.”
P942VQroberth, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Triple Rooms are Large”
TimP874, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Seems like all rooms are quiet and well-maintained: no preferences.”
eddyb50, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$66* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$68
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates