We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Manor Motel

Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (21)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Set in park like grounds with stunning views of the Central Otago landscape. All our spacious units feature double glazing for warmth on those chilly winter nights, large comfortable beds with bed toppers, flat screen Sky 50+ channel TVs and kitchenette facilities. Enjoy, relax and unwind, sit outside your unit in the quiet surrounds. Colonial Manor Motel is conveniently located across the road from a heated, covered swimming pool and a local gymnasium as well as restaurants, cafes, bars, shops, banks, takeaways, and the Cromwell Information I-site.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Business
HOTEL CLASS
162Reviews
34Photos
1Q+A
33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 24
  • 2
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed only one night here but would have loved to have stayed longer. This is a beautiful establishment and really well run. We had an upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens and the fabulous surrounding scenery. Loved sitting out during a balmy
Read more
Response from SteveH6067, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello and we hope your travels were happy ones and we are very pleased you had time to enjoy your lovely unit. So often our guest are surprised by the garden and grassed area which we want all our guest to enjoy . It is very satisfying to have received your review and know you will be back. Make it soon-thank you!
Read more
We were impressed with how quiet the place was. It is perfectly located to the town centre and all that Cromwell and Bannockburn area has to offer. The room was an upstairs room. Very spacious and well serviced. The only slight downside was the TV image was quite dark. Adjusting
Read more
Response from SteveH6067, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Geoff, it was a pleasure to have you and your lovely wife stay. You were very appreciative and complementary of our motel and the effort our team makes to provide a comfortable clean place to rest and enjoy. Your room upstairs has lovely views and is quiet but all our units are the true double glazing so yes we are quiet. We have noted the TV comments and this will be well sorted for your return! Thanks again.
Read more
The worst ever bahaviour I experienced in any hotel. We went to New Zealand from Sydney for a week's holiday. I booked many hotels on the way from Christchurch to Queenstown. With this booking somehow I missed to add details of our kids while I was making the booking. On
Read more
Response from SteveH6067, Owner at Colonial Manor Motel
Responded 3 weeks ago
The story above is only lightly sprinkled with true events. Yes you did come with two extra guests(a nine year old and a five year old) which you yourself said were not on the booking because ?? well we never found out why- you had booked our smallest(cheapest) upstairs unit which could not accommodate your family and you said you wanted an upgrade to our spacious family unit. With a bit of re-organizing we were able to do this and yes there was an extra cost but we dis-counted your cost by $70.00 over the two nights , so you had a very good price. You kept asking for us to reduce the cost even more right up to you were shown into the unit. It is agreed you were frustrating to deal with. You just kept on trying to pressure us for more "reduce" in the price when you had already had a massive one. It should be mentioned you were offered a refund to go and find a more suitable unit elsewhere but you said no. You then took your family in the unit, closed the curtains and as far as we could see your vehicle and yourselves never moved for two days. On the day of check out you were left until well after 10.am and yes you were asked to check out, often we are asked for late check out but we did not have that request. Our housekeepers were in your block of units reading them for group check in. The unit was left with curry like colored stains in several places on the carpet, rubbish everywhere and a flooded bathroom and kitchen floor area. It took a long time to prepare and needed to be aired out . This is part of this type of work so we accept that. It was not 10.35 when you were ready to go but the point is you were going when you choose to come back and seek out someone who had not spoken one word to you that day and raise your voice point your finger and wave your arms around in a very aggressive and intimidating way. Yes the "tattooed" man, a rather pumped up description of him but ok, did step in and say for you to leave which you still took some time to do, trying to push past all the time with your voice raised. It may be considered alright to berate and bully woman in some cultures but here we do not accept this.It really was unwarranted. All this could have been avoided if the person above took a pittance of the time he has to compile the above and emailed us to say he had two extras with him.But sometimes all some one wants is as much as they can get for nothing while most others have to pay what is due.This is one of those instances . We wish his family well .
Read more
We have just returned from staying 4 nights at Colonial Manor Motel in Cromwell. You always wonder when you book a property whether it is going to live up to the photos and comments written. We shouldn't have given it a second thought, Sharon & Steve are the perfect hosts and
Read more
Response from SteveH6067, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review , its so encouraging for all of us here who truly do want you to have a relaxing or busy time when away from home. You are so observant of the details we try to add for comfort and enjoyment in all our units and we do listen to you. It was good to see you out and about locally soaking up the many lovely delights of Cromwell... yes it is a friendly safe town well set up for tourists from all over. Your review is so appreciated -thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Stayed at this motel with a group of friends for our annual New Years expedition. The female manager (Sharon) was almost OTT sweetness and light when we checked in. Our rooms had an extensive list of rules for us to abide by which we also thought was OTT. We soon found out
Read more
Response from SteveH6067, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel
Responded 11 Jan 2019
All that needs to be said here is that at quarter to one in the morning this intoxicated group and including almost all the children were running up and down stair wells ,yelling and slamming doors(one door had to have the handle repaired ) and as other guests, who quite rightly complained to us, said perhaps this group who be suited better to taking themselves to accommodation that's not shared by others so when they become intoxicated to the extent they were it will be less likely to ruin other guests stay.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementColonial Manor Motel
Road View
View from our window
open plan room great use of space
Photo provided by managementColonial Manor Motel
Photo provided by managementColonial Manor Motel
PreviousNext
12345
Yes we do and the cost starts from $10.00 (build your own breakfast)
0 votes
"Far end of the building is best"
"All refurbished cosy rooms"
"Upstairs suite was cheaper than downstairs, but no kitchen. I was travelling alone on business and this did not bother me at all."
"All rooms are great"
"All rooms seem the best"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionCentral OtagoCromwell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing