We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sambiya River Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Sambiya River Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sambiya River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Belleville, Canada
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This lodge at one point was probably 3 or 4 stars. It is showing its age but is still comfortable, great food and service. Internet and hydro are on generators so only at certain hours are they available. Wildlife walking around and you can see them as you are dining. The pool was a wonderful way to cool off after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet L
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Janet L, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate it and hope you will visit again soon. Cheers!

Reviewed 10 December 2016

Looks like a beautiful place - shame we didn't get to see it by daylight. Unfortunately, when booking, the lodge staff didn't inform us of ferry issues which completely disrupted our schedule and visit. A real shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shakeel P
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Shakeel P. We too are disappointed that you missed spending more time with us. We apologize for the ferry issues. Unfortunately, the ferry and its reliability is out of our control as it is a facet of the National Park, not Sambiya River Lodge and we are often not informed if a breakdown until we arrive there with clients. We...

Reviewed 16 October 2016

It was great, after a private ride through the National Park and after crossing the Nile it was a great experience to be well received. After the whole day in the car, the place was quiet and the other guests also seemed to enjoy there time in this location. What I found charming was on the hand the action, that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meike S
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Meike S, Thank you so much for your beautiful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time and the experience that the Park and Lodge offer! It is our goal to make all clients comfortable and feel welcome. We hope you will visit again soon. Karibu!

Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The lodge is nice and is located in a nice location. Off season, you can get prices for foreigners as low as hundred bucks. HOWEVER, reception upon booking did not tell us that the ferry boat was in the process of going into a 1 week break for servicing the engines, as otherwise people would book north side of park....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FOL-1003
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

FOL-1003, We are sorry that you had such a bad experience and felt like you did not have a choice in your schedule. That should never be the case and our owner is looking your issues. It is safe to say, we are by no means fleecing our customers. Our clients are always our priority. Many visitors to the Park...

Loenhout, Belgium
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed here 2 nights on our 2-weeks tour in Uganda. The cottage was very clean, beautiful garden, very quit place in full nature. During the nights many sounds of the animals. Very, very friendly staff. They do everything they can to make your stay comfortable. All food very good, we had dinner and lunch-box. Wifi is only at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karinevdheuvel
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

karinevdheuvel, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Lodge met your expectations! We do hope you come back and visit us again soon. Cheers!

Larnaka City, Cyprus
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I am reading the reviews in great surprise, since our experience there was a complete disappointment. The rooms and toilets were not clean at all, the water in rooms smelt iron rust and the power goes off sometime after 9 or 10 pm. I guess the high price for the rooms can only be attributed to its proximity to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CyprusEffie
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

CyprusEffie, We are sorry to read that you had such a bad experience at the Lodge. Management and the owner have looked into your complaints extensively. As our records indicate, you were actually upgraded from the bandas (which was the price you were quoted by the travel agent) to our self contained cottages and as it stands, we are still...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Sambiya River Lodge was an excellent place to stay. The staff were helpful, friendly and eager to assist us arrange the tours of the park and falls we wanted to do. The rooms were good quality, clean and reasonably priced. The meals were delicious. I would definitely recommend staying here and hope to return myself at some stage. Thankyou to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Paula K, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your review captured exactly what we are trying to accomplish for our visitors. Our staff thanks you for all your kind words and we all hope to see you return very soon! Karibu!

Gulu, Uganda
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This place is beautiful! The guest houses were adorable and very clean, the bathrooms and showers were clean and spacious, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I was very impressed with the food as well; there were many courses of wonderful and fresh food (made to order!) The staff made sure that everything was perfect and that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adventurer0829
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

hannahheselton, thank you so much for your glowing review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself and what the Lodge has to offer our guests. Our kitchen works very hard to offer fresh and quality food and we are glad that you enjoyed that. We do hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Reviewed 9 August 2016

Absolutely amazing place to stay at if you're doing the safari! Debbie the owner is an absolute delight and the staff is super friendly. The lodges have their own bathrooms which was important for us. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sadinie S
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Sadinie S, we are so thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you were happy with our staff! Please come again soon.

Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed at Sambiya during a weekend in Murchison and had a lovely time. The lodge made us feel like family, generously assisted us in planning our weekend and game drives, and topped it off with wonderful food and beautiful surroundings. The surrounding nature and wildlife make the lodge intriguing in and of itself. We couldn't have asked for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Carolyn P, thank you so much for your glowing review. We appreciate you taking the time. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - that it felt like home. That is our goal! Please come again soon!

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison Falls National Park
0.0 km away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
449 reviews
0.0 km away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
0.0 km away
Paraa Safari Lodge
Paraa Safari Lodge
#2 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#6 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
140 reviews
0.0 km away
Amuka Safari Lodge
Amuka Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Nakitoma
69 reviews
0.0 km away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sambiya River Lodge is a family run eco lodge in the Heart of Murchison Falls National Park, a twenty minute drive from the top of the famous Falls. Situated on a bluff over looking the Sambiya River valley, the property is home to numerous birds, bushbucks, waterbucks, Cape buffalo, leopard, as well as visiting lions & elephants. We have a resident UWA ranger guide to take guests on walking safaris, as well as game safaris on the new circuits recently put in on the southern side of the River Nile. Pleaser see our website for further information. We look forward to welcoming you to Sambiya River Lodge! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sambiya River Lodge

Address: Central Reservations Office | 1 Kafu Road, Kampala, Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sambiya River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sambiya River Hotel Murchison Falls National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sambiya River Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sambiya River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Cottage 14 though they are all good. This is located near the dining hall and has the best view we were told.”
sbolducs, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The cottages are lovely”
YonasGM, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“each cottage has a great view and a fair bit of privacy...location depends on how far you want to walk to the dining hall”
166janetl, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“look elsewhere, Northside recommended.”
FOL-1003, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“guest house rooms (not cottages) have personal bathrooms”
adventurer0829, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates