We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sambiya River Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Sambiya River Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sambiya River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Rosenberg, Texas
Reviewed 18 July 2014

First of all, the whole staff was incredible—extremely helpful, friendly, and quick to do their jobs. Secondly, the food was seriously SO good it didn't even make sense. The small cottage rooms were very nice, and kept very clean and neat, as well as free of mosquitoes (somehow). Every night a security guard will escort you to your room to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wesley N
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Wesley N., We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The owner of Sambiya takes great pride in the food and that everything is made fresh - soup, bread and all - and so we are glad that you picked up on that! We hope that you will visit again soon. Best wishes!

Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is my fourth consecutive year visiting Uganda! One of my favorite places of the trip is my stay at this Lodge when we visit Murchison. I have been greeted by the owner Debbie each year. She is very friendly and has a very good staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marlene L
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Marlene L., We hope to welcome you back again for your fifth visit next year and are thrilled that you always enjoy your stay. It is so refreshing to hear that your group had such a successful visit. Kindest regards from Uganda! Karibu!

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned after a wonderful 2 night stay at the lodge. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The dining room food was fresh and tasty and Debbie, the owner, was a gracious hostess who was available for questions and conversation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brie3333
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Brie3333, welcome home! We are so thrilled to hear that you got to meet Debbie and that your stay was so enjoyable. We hope that you will visit us again soon! Best wishes!

Paoli, Indiana
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were on our way to Sambiya River Lodge after a chimp trek late in the afternoon. Our vehicle broke down with two broken fan belts. We were all alone on the road and about 12K to travel with no help in sight. After some phone communication the lodge owner Debbie came to our rescue in her vehicle. The flies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Edward P., we are so glad that we could help you! We truly strive to make every MFNP visitor feel welcome and safe and are proud that we could do that for you. We hope we can be of service to you again in the near future! Kindest regards from Debbie!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Wish I could be able to rate the Lodge,but I cannot.We arrived at Tangi gate,Murchison Falls Park and were told at the gate that the ferry was not working.We were never called by Sambiya to warn us that the ferry was not working prior to our arrival.It was 19h00 and we were stranded at the gate.We had to find alternative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buzwe B
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Buzwe B, we are very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. Unfortunately, we do not run the ferry and because of this, we are not always informed when the ferry does not work. It is very unfortunate that your vacation was ruined due to circumstances we could not control. We have gone through all the information you submitted...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed in this lodge in Murchison Falls National Park for two nights. I enjoyed the beautiful nature from my cottage room, and could spend a very relaxed time. The lodge and my cottage were clean, nice, safe and well maintained. The hotel staff and owner was very nice and friendly. The owner gave me a lot of wisdoms in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mountaingorrila
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Mountaingorrila, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you return again soon! We look forward to your visit. Karibu!

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Sambiya is a great choice to stay at Murchison Falls! It's very close to the falls and one of the closest hotels for animal tours. The property is beautiful and the people working there are incredibly nice! I definitely recommend staying here for an affordable option in Murchison.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Pat A., Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return again soon. Welcome!

Drammen, Norway
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Without knowing we ended up in Murchison Falls National Park during the eclipse in Pakwach. It was off season and we just couldn't understand why it was so incredibly hard to find a room in Murchison since we had no problems any other place in Uganda off season as it was. I guess the eclipse partly explains why we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vikingsven
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Vikingsven, We are sorry that your stay in November 2013 did not meet your expectations and we are especially disappointed that the office did not send you a confirmation right away. After you posted your review this was discussed with our booking office and we are working to increase response times. We do hope you will chose to stay with...

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at Sambiya River Lodge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious, and the accommodations were very comfortable. Loved the lounge where we had a Nile Special beer and talked about our day on safari. Also loved having tea served on our veranda in the morning! Convenient location to Murchison Falls National Park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

Debra R., We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sambiya! Thank you so much for taking some time after your trip to review us. We hope you will return again soon! Karibu!

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed it especially coffee in the morning at 7-15am served on our veranda, to hear the dawn chorus and watch the sun rise. Welcome excellent, rooms not over large but very good, food excellent, service from all staff very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IainRevell
birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge, responded to this review

IainRevell, We are so thrilled that you enjoyed our stay with us! Thank you for your review and we do hope you will visit us again soon. Karibu!

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison Falls National Park
0.0 km away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
447 reviews
0.0 km away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
0.0 km away
Paraa Safari Lodge
Paraa Safari Lodge
#2 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#6 of 13 in Murchison Falls National Park
135 reviews
0.0 km away
Amuka Safari Lodge
Amuka Safari Lodge
#1 of 4 in Masindi
63 reviews
0.0 km away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sambiya River Lodge is a family run eco lodge in the Heart of Murchison Falls National Park, a twenty minute drive from the top of the famous Falls. Situated on a bluff over looking the Sambiya River valley, the property is home to numerous birds, bushbucks, waterbucks, Cape buffalo, leopard, as well as visiting lions & elephants. We have a resident UWA ranger guide to take guests on walking safaris, as well as game safaris on the new circuits recently put in on the southern side of the River Nile. Pleaser see our website for further information. We look forward to welcoming you to Sambiya River Lodge! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sambiya River Lodge

Address: Central Reservations Office | 1 Kafu Road, Kampala, Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range: RM415 - RM521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sambiya River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sambiya River Hotel Murchison Falls National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sambiya River Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sambiya River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Cottage 14 though they are all good. This is located near the dining hall and has the best view we were told.”
 of 5 bubbles sbolducs, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The cottages are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles YonasGM, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“each cottage has a great view and a fair bit of privacy...location depends on how far you want to walk to the dining hall”
 of 5 bubbles 166janetl, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“look elsewhere, Northside recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles FOL-1003, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“guest house rooms (not cottages) have personal bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles adventurer0829, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5