We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Classy , clean , well appointed. Our family made a last minute booking and we were delighted and what a great hotel it was. We loved the pool , the easy access to the ocean and the lovely bar and dinning on the beach. Added to our enjoyment of this area in SriLanka

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadee P
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest ,Thank yo for the review we are glad to hear that you have pleasant holiday with us with your last minute booking.Hope to see you on next visit at Tataruga Hotel.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Clean and cosy room with great AC. The hotel is located directly on the beach which is a great plus. Nice breakfast, especially the bananapancakes with coconut. Very friendly staff. A good place to stay for a longer period of time. We stayed at the topfloot and the wifi did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Sofie L
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for the comment certainly our staff will like to hear your comment.Glad to note you enjoyed our breakfast with varieties of foods and beverages Hope to see you on your next visit.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yummy food Been hear only for lunch and dinner Amazing setup Perfect Quality place and food Good location Friendly staff Relaxing environment Beach view awesome Good place to enjoy an evening Decent place

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrishelle G
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest ,Thank you for the review .We are glad to note you enjoyed delightful at Restaurant and the amazing set up by the Tartaruga Team .Suerely they will happy to hear your wonderful comment.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came to this hotel at the end of my Sri Lanka trip hoping for a great finale by the beach, and I was up for a disappointment. I had booked a "super deluxe room" at a rate of 115$ per night, only to find out they were planning to give me a small dark room in the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank issa81 .
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for the review we have given you the same picture shown on web page and it is a room you have reserved with us and we are extremely sorry unable to give you suite for the same amount you paid for us with out upgrade charges .The wifi has no issue at all but many people login...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The good: Our room on the top floor was big and clean, although you have to ask for the room to be cleaned. The hotel is right on the beach and close to all the amenities you might need. Loads of good restaurants and bars are nearby, accessed either by beach or along the road behind the hotel. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny D
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review .Certainly the pool is one of our major facility which can use adults and kids as well.there are only two swim pools around here specialy coastal area other hotels did not have this pool facilities at all.extremely sorry we are not allowed any outside person to use the with out permission from Front...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is right on the beach. Our room was very large with a large terrace and bathroom, very nice and tastefully decorated. Food in hotel restaurant on the beach is great too. Staff is very helpful and always friendly. A very decent hotel all together! Wifi was not very strong in the room. Also they allow cars and tuktuks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for the review we are glad to hear you have met super customer service and all the tartaruga team happy about that.The wifi little bit slow sometimes due to coastal areas and management will focus on eye about vehicle parking space.hope to see on next vacation.Lucky.manager

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room #2 is extremely noisy...Located next to the alley, kitchen and bar. The restaurant has a good menu selection and presentation is above average. 10% service charge is added to the food bill...It is unclear as to how this is shared by servers, cooks versus employers. I think it varies with each establishment. The beach, Sri Lanka's Riviera, is inundated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rr_sep
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,thank you for the review.yes certainly restaurant has a good many you will have many selected variety of foods .In the food menu already mentioned 10 % service charge is need to pay extra including all beverages.already focus the rooms to upgrade .Hope to see you again.Thanks& Regards.Lucky ,Manager

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a superior deluxe triple room with balcony for one night in the newer wing of Tartaruga Resort which is just a year old. The room was big in size and very nicely done up. The bathroom was clean (except for no drain on the outside of the shower area). The breakfast was nice but pretty basic. They do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EshaJaggi
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review .We are happy to hear you have enjoyed our food and the room facilities .The management will focus on eye about the garbage and sure this will ceased The Swimming pool is safe for everyone and only few hotels have this Facilities .We hope to see you again next vacation .Thanks.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was with my family only for one night It was very nice lication and friendly staff Only problem is bundles of garbage just infrint of beach entrance from the hotel and bad smell Hotel room is fantastic specially with good quality bathroom / toilet We had very good time during late afternoon right after our arrival We spent whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigosunimal
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for the reply. we are glad to note you have met our service and the management already is getting solution to make the alternative to for garbage solution how ever focus on add several things to the morning b fast. thanks

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I only reserved for the resort room #5 back in September 2016 since its just a 2d1n before we proceed to safari. I was surprised the toilet was flooding and i complained to the management. To my surprise, I was upgraded to the suite in the hotel side. PS. That was after the assistant manager pointed his finger at me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheng L

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
764 reviews
0.0 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
803 reviews
0.4 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
604 reviews
0.8 km away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
342 reviews
5.7 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Address: Yaddehimulla Road | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: RM133 - RM596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor is right at the pool which is good for families, right in the path of all traffic from hotel to beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 885pennyd, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Although while booking, the rooms only state 'with balcony', insist on a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles EshaJaggi, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room on the 1st floor... ask for a room on the front (not on the side) with ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Scuba971, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room on ground floor opposite restaurant area.”
 of 5 bubbles Suri221151, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“beach view”
 of 5 bubbles jasonpeers, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay