We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cantaloupe Aqua

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cantaloupe Aqua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel was very nice. There Is no Beach Access - but its just one Minute away. The view Is stunning and the staff (especially Sandun - our Morning Sunshine :)) Is great. We have rented a tuktuk and Visited mirissa and weligama dir surfing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ra D
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the fantastic 5 star review and we love your picture! definitely profile picture worthy :) Mirissa and Weligama are such fun locations to visit and we are glad you got some surfing done. Sandun and team send their best wishes. Take care!

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Everything about this place is just great. From the view of the Unawatuna beach, to the food, service to the beautiful rooms. A tad bit expensive but totally worth the deal. The rooms are excellent in terms of design, and maintenance. The hospitality makes the hotel and on those lines, this hotel has got to be a great place, because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huda09
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Huda, Your great review was great for our soul! Thank you for your kind comments on our team and service as well as the rooms and food. We would love to see you back at Aqua soon since you are a short flight away! do keep in touch Cheers!

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

The style of this place is modern contemporary. Bright colours offset the pure white finishes. Make it a good night out. Eat here. Our salad for starters kept us happy til our main arrived. Superb seafood. We had a massive platter for only LKR 1200.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wally S
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Wally, thanks very much for the glowing review of our food. The fresh seafood platter is one of our favorites at our Restraunt Coconut, of course washed down with a few cocktails. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday! All the best

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Aqua for 5 days and absolutely enjoyed ourselves! The hotel is beautiful, has a lovely spa, the food was really good and the staff was the sweetest, what more can you ask for? The staff is very helpful to organise tours and go sightseeing. They got us really good offers. Will definitely come again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lakmini J
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Lakmini, It was our pleasure to have you and help organise outings and sightseeing. We are based in a great location to do both beach activities such as whale watching and surfing or more culture vulture inclined ones like the Unesco world heritage Galle Fort. Our team sends their best wishes!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Just had 3 nights there and the location is amazing, right on the water. Unfortunately the private beach wasn't there as the water was right against the rocks. Apparently this happens every year for 2 months around this time. So any beach access required a walk or tuktuk. The rooms, food and service were all nice but the outside needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigvanschalkwyk
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for the review and you have got some lovely pictures. We appreciate the feedback and as you have mentioned the beach is not directly accessible at the moment due to the high tide. We are hoping it will be in the next few weeks! many of our guests do enjoy the private beach which you have to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I am a seasoned traveler and have stayed in many hotels around the world. It is not often I find myself writing anything on TripAdviser about any of the places I have stayed in. However, due to my very recent stay at a wonderful hotel in Sri Lanka, I felt it was my duty to write something about it. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derik T
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Derik! Your fantastic and heartfelt review has made our day, we are sharing it with the team at our daily briefing today! thank you for this level of detail as our prospective travellers would find it very helpful. Do let us know the next time you plan to be in Unawantuna so that we can ensure you get the...

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 6 November 2016

First of all, I LOVED..LOVED..LOVED the location! I was a single female traveler, so feeling safe comes as top priority - I must say that the staff at Aqua were fabulous from the moment I landed till I left. I loved my room - the decor was minimalist but classy - brownie points for giving me an upgrade to Aqua...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stardust2605
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hello! It was our pleasure having you and we do admire your adventurous spirit and love for travel! At cantaloupe we strive to give our guests the best service where they feel comfortable and at home while maintaining privacy. Thank you so much for your recommendation to your friends we will take good care of her and do let us...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Small yet cozy chilled out atmosphere at the property. Located in very close proximity to Unwatuna Beach Road (a wee bit afterwards - which I absolutely loved), Cantaloupe Aqua joins my list for providing a memorable vacation. Stayed here for 2 nights, with two close friends and got a free upgrade for 1 room for the whole stay and for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shalindri C
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Shalindri! It was our pleasure having you and your friends and that you for the kind comments. Our deck and plunge pool is the perfect place to take in the sunset and the elevated sleeping area in Ocean play does give the room a 'loft' feel which many people love. The beach is getting better and better as season...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in Cantaloupe Aqua - really great staff who provide perfect service, amazing room with fascinating view on the Ocean (we stayed in Ultra Zen II), delicious dishes in restaurant, quite surroundings! We loved it and would recommend to others!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missolala
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Spent a few days at this nice and friendly , almost 'boutique' type of hotel with lovely food in Thai style. Nearly all aspect were great : friendly staff, nice rooms, clean everywhere, great sun bathing space,and for us , nice with a smaller type place. Only two minor aspects which were not so good: My daughter thought the pool,-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmb20002015

568 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (191)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Aqua Zen Garden Room (53)
Viewed
Aqua Zen Room (55)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
6.5 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
373 reviews
6.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
642 reviews
5.6 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
792 reviews
2.1 km away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
265 reviews
3.7 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for 2014. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. A further attraction of AQUA is that it features a private beach in one of Sri Lanka's most upmarket beach strips, Talpe. Through the year Aqua changes it's character from Up-beat to relaxation based on events and promotions taking place at the hotel. During the peak season (Dec-Jan, Mar-Apr, July-Aug) Cantaloupe AQUA hosts numerous sun set cocktails and Brunch Parties with an upbeat atmosphere. In keeping with our relaxing weekdays and Upbeat week ends. The parties however do not go on much later than mid night. All guests are given free access pass to the eventDuring quieter months of the year Cantaloupe is the prefect retreat for families with kids and Guests looking for ultimate relaxation. Please confirm with front desk on dates of events coinciding with your arrival to make sure if alternative accommodation needs to be arranged on the day/night of the event. AQUA cuisine just like aqua is inspired! Our inspiration created a menu, which is a combination of Thai Fusion, Japanese, Western and Sri Lankan. From fresh seafood platters with tamarind sauce to Prime Imported Steaks COCONUT will provide you with an exquisite culinary experience. The restaurant area is a veranda, which opens out to the Jacuzzi area. The theme is euro chic with white taking prominence with feature art adding color and character."Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! Nandana, Cantaloupe AQUA's Executive Chef, who has recently returned after completing a culinary course at the world famous, Blue Elephant Cooking School, is always busily preparing some delectable dish for the Coconut Restaurant guests. Nandana's food philosophy and culinary style is extremely simple but never fails to impress, any one of his dishes will have sentiments from at least two nations of the world. Fusion is his greatest skill. When describing his technique, the characteristically shy Chef, becomes vividly animated by his passion. His guests are constantly in an exciting state of anticipation, awaiting the next surprise Nandana will turnout. He prides himself in stocking the kitchen with the finest and freshest local produce and ingredients. His latest culinary conquest is Coconut's new Tapas Menu, which he has painstakingly crafted to weave in elements of Sri Lanka's tantilising flavors. He also just finalized the Thai-Fusion menu and it has already racked up rave reviews. The dining experience Cantaloupe AQUA plate up is easily one of the best in the south! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: RM545 - RM1,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the day trips, negoitiate on the prices for airport transfers or book independently.”
  • Inside the Aqua Zen room
  • view from the room
 of 5 bubbles 986neilp, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a "Zen" rooms which have clear beach/sea view. "Garden" rooms do not have a clear beach/sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms in this hotel has good sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles farishm2015, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles joakims19, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Think they will all be good.”
 of 5 bubbles robsaw, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5