We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (322)
Room & Suite (77)
Pool & Beach (40)
Overview
182 Matara Road Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600 Sri Lanka See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
117
106
31
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
117
106
31
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unawatuna beach buffet breakfast lily pond sri lanka colonial house large pool standard room galle matara road main building modern facilities tuk tuk an upgrade bird life per day relaxing place minute walk to the beach an oasis
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The manager is very rude and unhelpful, they could not help to book a tuk tuk for leaving to Mirissa in the morning, we had to walk under the rain at 5 am in the morning to find our own tuk tuk, something you will...More

Thank Freedom248302
Response from PragnaJ, Guest Relations Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage HotelResponded 2 days ago

Dear Sir, Madam Thank you for your comment. We regret to hear that you were not happy during your stay. Please note upon arrival our staff has upgraded you free of charge to a Standard room while you had booked a Budget room for 3...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really wanted to like Nooit Gedacht. The location is great the grounds are large with a great pool area & building layout. There’s plenty of room to escape the hustle & bustle of Sri Lanka which takes place relentlessly outside the gate. The buildings...More

Thank Drew L
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We spend 2 nights at the hotel at the end of our Sri Lanka holidays. It was relaxed, good food, older but nice rooms and a good pool to cool down and play, which the kids really appreciate. We unfortunately got a room with a...More

Thank Kirsten P
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We had a room on the upper level facing the lily pond. Saw lots of birds. The room was simple, comfortable, and clean. We enjoyed the pool and the elegance of the old mansion and estate. The staff was very attentive.

Thank martinita200
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We were at the hotel three nights. The breakfast was fine, but in the evening it took a very long time to get the food and the food was not the best. The WiFi was very bad. The gym was good and the pool area...More

1  Thank Lisa F
View more reviews
About
Description
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was More later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Spa
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Outdoor pool
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
,
Spa
Room types
Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
,
Spa
Room types
Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
38
Price range
US$40 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort
Also Known As
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna
Location
Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
,
Spa
Room types
Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
38
Price range
US$40 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort
Also Known As
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna
Location
Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Photos
Traveller (322)
Room & Suite (77)
Pool & Beach (40)
Dining (31)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 36 nearby hotels
Flower Garden Hotel
862 reviews
.12 km away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
103 reviews
.18 km away
Heaven By O
104 reviews
.24 km away
Neptune Bay Hotel
167 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 123 nearby restaurants
mmmh Sucre & Sale
219 reviews
.31 km away
Kat's Coffee
162 reviews
.19 km away
Bedspace Kitchen
827 reviews
.33 km away
Le Cafe Francais Bakery & Boutique
281 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 55 nearby attractions
Unawatuna
2,122 reviews
.94 km away
Ayurveda Lanka Spa
34 reviews
.13 km away
Yoga with Asiri
231 reviews
.13 km away
Karuna s Cooking Class @ Sonja's Healthfood Restaurant
161 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Our room on the upper level facing the pond and mountain was quiet and private."
martinita200
21 Jul 2018
Read review
"ask for a newer room"
76jamd
7 May 2018
Read review
"Older rooms attached top the old house are poor quality. Modern rooms adjacent to the pool are a lot better."
Decco105
4 May 2018
Read review
"New Wing, luxury room"
sinfat
29 Dec 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing