We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Calamander Unawatuna Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 433: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here to be able to visit Galle and whale watch in Mirissa Clean modern bright super comfy bed lots of helpful staff lil sports bar on beach Beach n pool clean Quiet season now so can't say if good when busy Desk rate was high but they matched booking.com rate which inc breakfast was acceptable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparxta
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide a comprehensive service at all times of year and we value all our guests at whatever time of the year they choose to stay with us. We hope you will visit us again and test us out in the peak season. Kind...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 27 April 2015

This was a very good place to stay. The rooms are comfy and tidy. There's a good restaurant with a nice buffet breakfast, and decent alternatives for lunch/dinner. The location is very good, and you can swim on the beach, or by their pool. The staff was very helpful and polite during the whole stay. Definitely worth the money. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JurgenK1
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We note that you are very well travelled and therefore we are take it as a great compliment that you found our service, food and ambience to a high standard. We hope that you will visit us again, in the future, when we will have a magnificent...

Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

Also called UBR. Best hotel in the area. Unawatuna is a lovely bay. Actually swimable which many other places are not. UBR is right on the water. Litteraly 5m from the restaurant with uninterrupted views. Really special (and food is good). Excellent service e.g. cheap luxury hotel minibus for daytrips.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tune H
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your compliments about our hotel. We are very proud that you, as an experienced reviewer, enjoyed your stay so much. Unawatuna Beach is rare that it has, despite the strong currents, safe bathing, And of course when the tide is out and the water calm, there is nothing to beat swimming in Unawatuna...

Moratuwa
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Went to UBR on 18th April for one night stay and found it to be a very nice place now. I was there long before with some friend from India, bu the place now looks stunning. Sea was still rough for swimming, but there were people outside offering jet ski and banana boat rides. Food was good, but tasted similar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mupra
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day and night in Calamander Unawatuna Beach and that you recognize all the changes that we have made and the impact it has had on the perception of the hotel from being a well loved but rather run down...

Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

Where do I begin, the rooms are fantastic! Clean, well decorated the outdoor lounge and pool area are second to non, beautiful. The best thing about this place is the service, the staff went above and beyond the call of duty! They made us feel so special. We travelled across sti lanka and stayed in the best hotels all across...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Loay99
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is not often that I have read such a positive review of a hotel anywhere in the world, let alone Sri Lanka! Speaking on behalf of The Calamander Group, I am immensely proud of all the hard work our staff at Calamander Unawatuna Beach have put in to making the hotel what it is today. A friendly,...

Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

A very calm hotel during my days I stayed in. The hotel's restaurant was really beautiful at night because of the light it holds. In the nights the firework display was really beautiful. I would recommend this hotels the bathrooms are very trimmed. The food of course very delicious & there were various type of dishes. My whole family really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warnakulasuriyakamal
Paloma scott S, Director at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and liked our food as well as the location of the restaurant. We hope to welcome you as our guests again soon. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

The rating could arguably be described as harsh. The customer service was very good and the food we had was very good. There is an excellent selection at breakfast. However, the packed breakfast we had when we went whale watching was poor. The main criticism would be the noise of other guests when they come in at night. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan C
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for visiting our hotel for a second time and taking time to review us again. We are of course very happy that you have found that our service and food continue to be of a good standard. Our WI-FI service continues to be improved and recent comments on Trip Advisor have called the service...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

My husband and I and four other friends stayed at this resort for five days while touring Sri Lanka.....we didn't want to leave....it was upmarket and stylish......the beds and rooms were spotless and spacious.......the pool area was amazing loads of sun beds and parasols and great wifi on the beach to.......the restaurant was beautiful in the day and elegant in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soco66
Paloma scott S, Director at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much and liked the location and atmosphere and the food of our restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family as our guests again once you visit Sri Lanka. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 15 April 2015

the Buffet was by far very minimal and didn't offer any variety. stayed for 2 nights and the menu never changed and it was very basic. This is despite the lunch buffet costing Rs. 2,250 when compared with the high-end Colombo city hotel buffet which range 2500-2600/head this was worthless.If the premium is for the location - then traveler's pls...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rushdihameed
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you were unhappy with our buffet fare. We have a different theme night, based on a 7 day cycle, every night, in order to avoid repetition, so we will look into this. We have noted your comments regarding value for money and...

New Delhi
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Calamander is a confusing place. It is superbly located, food is quite good, service is friendly but the hotel is very strangely constructed, probably because the size of the plot is not adequate for a hotel. Rooms are quite small and the layout of the hotel makes you feel you are in a 3 star hotel. And worst of all,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hedgefund007
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time to review our beautiful hotel. Our location is indeed superb and we have created an intimate, family friendly hotel that looks and feels quite unique. Unlike most hotels in Sri Lanka that either slavishly copy the international style of a Hilton or Marriott, or ape the post Bawa aesthetic or mimic...

868 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (446)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Other (215)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (51)
Viewed
Glass Pool (29)
Viewed
Luxury Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
Super Deluxe Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
2.1 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
620 reviews
0.4 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
777 reviews
1.3 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
818 reviews
5.3 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
200 reviews
0.1 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Calamander Unawatuna Beach is one of Sri Lanka's most popular beach resorts, located directly on Unawatuna Bay. The most renowned holiday destination on the South coast, Unawatuna Beach is famous for its natural beauty, laid back ambience, proximity to Galle Fort, a Unesco World Heritage site, and is the best beach in the country. UBR, established over 30 years ago, has been transformed, since November 2011, as Calamander Unawatuna Beach. The resort retains the relaxed character of the former UBR, the excellent service from long standing staff, good food and al fresco dining. The only hotel on Unawatuna Beach with swimming pools, Calamander Unawatuna Beach has built the first glass fronted lap pool in Sri Lanka and the longest, at 25 metres, in the Asia Pacific region. In addition a stunning Italian mosaic, 25 metres in length, outdoor pool, with adjoining jacuzzi and a separate children's paddling pool. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a 4 star class hotel with five star facilities. It is the first beach hotel in Sri Lanka with accredited carbon neutral status and future projects aim to develop sustainable eco-technology in the hotel's power generation and transport services. Guests are encouraged to engage in utilising the resort's facilities in the most eco-friendly way, without compromising on comfort and are invited to offset their individual carbon foot print with a small, voluntary, financial contribution, to the hotel's carbon neutral status. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a trail blazer in Sri Lanka, for the 'affordable luxury' concept. Its design ethos of modernity, complimenting the beauty of its geography, has proven to be popular with our guests from all over the world. This together with high standards of service, Calamander Unawatuna Beach is now renowned for being a family friendly resort welcoming Sri Lankans as well as foreign guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Address: Parangiyawatta, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: RM388 - RM949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamander Unawatuna Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calamander Unawatuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna
Unawatuna Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Calamander Unawatuna Beach staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Calamander Unawatuna Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room layout varies significantly. Have a look at a few different options before selecting one.”
 of 5 bubbles Z4212SRsarahr, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view in the beach, please request in advance some rooms in the old wing has no views at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Rohan0971, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 703.Would be a perfect location for elderly people with walking difficulties or maybe people with young children”
 of 5 bubbles Marymcgrath15, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Opt for the upper level rooms”
 of 5 bubbles TheHarpist, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Splurge for the rooms in the new wing....well worth it.”
  • loved the sink shaped like a flower
  • the luxury rooms with sea views
  • lush greenery outside our door
  • View from the rooms over the pools - you can catch a glimpse of the sea behind the trees
  • Drying racks on every balcony
  • looking towards the bathroom from the balcony
  • bathroom
  • loads and loads of storage space
 of 5 bubbles alex_ghosh, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5