We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Home Stay Strand

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Home Stay Strand
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Home Stay Strand
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was my 4th visit to Unawatuna and "The Strand" (in 10 years) and while Unawatuna seems to be changing at the rate of knots (far more commercialised) I'm pleased to see that "The Strand" remains a comfortable and quiet place to relax. I stayed in the room called "The Nest" and it's lovely - it has a wonderful L...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FiascoLoves2Travel
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

We were so glad to see you again and look forwards to your next visit with your family. Thanks for your kind comments and Room tips and nice photos. Asoka

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Mr Asoke is a lovely friendly man who own's and runs the house. Has lots of interesting stories and is very friendly helpful person. House is a large old elegant charming affair surrounded by the jungle - monkeys jump from tree to tree in the morning whilst having breakfast. Unawatuna is a bit of a touristy, busy beach but this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bazrobbob
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind review and hopefully Unawatuna beach will be much better after the Coastal Conservation efforts now going on. Jungle Beach is also a fine place to chill out~Asoka

Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Unawatuna gets more and more busy with tourism so we were so happy to find a peaceful place at strand homestay for 2 nights. Mr Asoke is incredibly helpful as well as the other people, the house is really nice and charming, the garden gives you a "jungle-feeling" ! Clean rooms and delicious breakfast- we could not find a better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolanimal
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words in your review and all stars! Unfortunately my rating drops every time I get a NEW eXcellent review. Anywayz we are happy our guests have voted us as one of the TOP 25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka. Thanks and come again!

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2013

After two nights in moderate accommodation in Colombo, we didn't know what to expect when we arrived at Asoka's elegant home stay. The freshly swept entrance and warm welcome assured us that the reviews were not overstated. We stayed in the blue room, whilst more basic than the rest of the rooms, it was clean and homely, a pleasure to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwb52
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

We are glad you really enjoyed your stay with us, we too enjoyed your gr8 company and await your return soon. thanks for your nice review!

Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We had a really nice time at Strand over Christmas. Any slight reservations listed below should not detract from the fact that this is a great place to stay, and that we thoroughly recommend it. Our room, 'the blue room' was delightfully set out, and all in blue as you might expect. However, arriving after a six hour tuk tuk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hingus2000
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words about our home. Monkeys dislodge terra-cotta tiles on the roof often and we find out only when it rains. Sorry about that inconvenience.

Perth
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent our last 5 days in Sri Lanka down at the beach at Unawatuna, staying in the Strand home stay guesthouse, looked after by Mr Ashoka.  My wife had seen favourable reviews on trip advisor and based on this booked us in. We found Mr Ashoka to be a real character, full of tales about his Elvis fan club,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariann S
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are going to upgrade our Wi-Fi Router to get better coverage in all rooms.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is a beautiful guesthouse tucked away in a junglely garden with monkeys! The owners make you feel very relaxed and at home here and it is excellent value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our home, we are happy you enjoyed your week-end with us and gladly look forward to your return soon.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A gorgeous little spot tucked away off the beach. Run by a lovely couple who made us feel very at home. The rooms are big, clean and generally have a little private area/patio/balcony which was great. We only stayed one night before changing guest houses, though, as our room was right next to the staff quarters so staff were coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodieodea
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

We thank you for your Review and take note of your pointers, we have used a Sheer curtain only as thick curtains darken the room, however we will fix a second curtain that can be drawn back in the daytime. Many travelers appreciate the polished wooden floor in the room above to tiled or concrete floors, also we strive to...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Strand Guest House this week. We truly enjoyed our stay, the very hospitable staff, the key location just off the main Unawatuna beach in a quite area, and all at a fair and reasonable price. The furniture and furnishings takes you back to another time - large 4-poster beds, armoires, etc. - and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianraggett
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

We are thankful for your 'post-haste' review, and would be happy to have you for a longer stay soon.

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed for a few nights and really felt it was the best place we could have chosen in Unawatuna. We fully support the comments of the previous writers. The atmosphere created by Asoka and his family in the colonial style house is really welcoming, family like and provides you with a local flavour. And yes, in the beautiful garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esmaama
gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay Strand, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words,we wish you a merry Christmas when you get back home!

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:26
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (69)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 km away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.2 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
843 reviews
0.5 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
792 reviews
0.3 km away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 29 in Unawatuna
446 reviews
0.1 km away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#14 of 140 in Unawatuna
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We open our doors and hearts to travelers who wish to imbibe our way of life. Strand is a Sri Lankan family home, approved by Sri Lanka Tourist Board as a "Home-stay" accommodation for Tourists. We are in Sri Lanka's #1 beach destination, Unawatuna on the sunny south coast, but it is not on the beach front, only a couple of minutes walk. Four upstairs rooms, AC Suite, Duran Duran Suite, Casa Anna [AC], and The Nest[the most popular suite]. Ground floor rooms, Garden Suite, Casa Lillo and Blue Room makes up our home, a colonial vintage villa where five generations of our family has lived. Complimentary Breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi No Taxes, No Service charges! TripAdvisor 2013 Award Winner as one of the TOP25 B&Bs in Sri Lanka! Certificate of Excellence awarded in 2014!! Strand is like no other place~FEEL LIKE HOME! Google "UNAWATUNA HOMESTAY". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home Stay Strand

Address: 218 Yaddehimulla Road | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: RM77 - RM149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Home Stay Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Stay Strand Hotel Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home Stay Strand staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Home Stay Strand staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Antiques styled rooms and well maintained”
 of 5 bubbles Vajeendra, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room with a balcony or a small terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles BobBelgium, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms vary, some with ac, check with Asoka.”
 of 5 bubbles corinne020, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Every room is good!”
 of 5 bubbles ECI53, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The Nest (room on the first floor with a lovely balcony from where you can spot the monkeys)”
 of 5 bubbles tt140, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5