We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thambapanni Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 287: English reviews
Start your review of Thambapanni Retreat
 Click to rate
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful room of absolutely luxury, with a fabulous balcony overlooking the wonderfully kept plants and trees. A fabulous place to stay, and the staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly - particularly Ishan who was so helpful and kind from day one, Nuwani on reception, and Hashan in housekeeping - thank you all! I stayed 10 days and could happily have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kathmoss2017
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kath, Thank you for the great review following your recent stay at Thambapanni Retreat, Unawatuna. We are glad to know your stay with us had been a memorable experience. Nuwani and the whole staff is an asset to us,their giving the fullest corporation and giving exceptional service standard to the guests who are staying with us. We are very...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here only for 2 night unfortunately. Better book a week! It is a beautifull place Just 5 min from the beach. Directly when you enter the hotel you feel the warm welcome from the staff especially the lady Nuwani who is behind the reception, but actually taking care of you at all time. Just to make sure you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anneroos S
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Anne, It gives us a great pleasure that it was your great relaxing hotel ever .and glad to see all positives that you have written such as airy and spacious room. And we are happy that you enjoyed by using our all three properties. That is one of unique features that who have staying at Thambapanni Leisure hotels. It...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay at thambapanni retreat. We had been staying in budget hotels so this was a one night treat! And compared to some places we stayed we were ecstatic when we saw the room! Very big with a bath outside the back! But then we noticed a huge trail of ants continuously marching through the room, very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty M
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty, Thank you for your stay at Thambapanni Retreat, Unawatuna and for sharing your experience on Trip Ad visor. We strive hard to offer our guests, clean and serene accommodation, we are grateful that you recognize this. Thank you once again for choosing Thambapanni retreat as your preferred Hotel. Best Regards Front Office Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three wonderful days at the Thambapanni Resort after arriving in Sri Lanka and it was a perfect start to our holiday. We were probably slightly over-ambitous in going straight form the airport to the hotel after landing at 21hr00, since by the time we had fought our way through the Colombo night traffic and got down to Unawatuna,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BellePlagneNickP
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay at Thambapanni Retreat, Unawatuna and for sharing your experience on Trip Ad visor. We strive hard to offer our guests, clean and serene accommodation, we are grateful that you recognize this. Thank you once again for choosing Thambapanni retreat as your preferred Hotel. Best Regards Front Office Manager

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent place to stay. The personal is very kind and helpful (especially Nuwani ou planned our trips in Srilanka). I found it a very good alternative to let the hotel organize our trips, so we could relax the rest of the time. The organization was very good with only qualified guides and drivers.The yoga class that is propose is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d0cblack
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review following your recent stay at Thambapanni Retreat, Unawatuna. We are glad to know your stay with us had been a memorable experience. Hope you have realized the value of a renowned transport organizer and all Transport needs can be fulfill at our resorts with more comfort and assurance . Having indulged in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were not particularly impressed with this hotel - having stayed in seven during our time in Sri Lanka ! The service at reception was average but acceptable. Our room you could tell was very poorly maintained with the plaster peeling off and the drawers falling apart. The bathroom walls were just exposed plaster not even painted and also v...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ravina T
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While thanking you for staying in our hotel, I would like to clarify a few things which you have pointed out in your review. The management will check and take care of the issues if there are any as our concern is the comfort of our guests. But you may not understand the concept of the hotel.. We...

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our last five nights of three week holiday in Sri Lanka and what a lovely hotel to have our rest from tours before going back to the U.K. ... our initial thoughts in the beach were disappointing as very full of noise and cafes/bars but we realized we had arrived on Freedom Day and a Sunday !! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandclane
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. It is our constant endeavor to provide you best of the services while you stay in Thambapanni as our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. Also the room which you accommodated has...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Thambapanni Resort. We were unsure when we were driven down the very busy noisy side street but then we turned off down this tiny lane to the peace and quiet of the hotel. Set well back in the trees but just 100metres walk to the beach. Our room was on the ground floor next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rose S
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Rose, Thank you for your review about our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasing and truly our hotel is situated in a very unique location. With a lush garden filled with varieties of flora and fauna and a bright blue pool with a various type...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here, staff were very helpful and friendly. Well situated in the town. A reminder that some of the rooms are 100 or so steps up, so you might want to ask for a lower floor when booking if this might be an issue for you- although the high rooms are lovely. We also felt put on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moira670
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Moira, Thank you for your stay at Thambapanni Retreat, Unawatuna and for sharing your experience on Trip Ad visor. We strive hard to offer our guests, clean and serene accommodation, we are grateful that you recognize this. Thank you once again for choosing Thambapanni retreat as your preferred Hotel. Best Regards Front Office Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel Beautiful finishing touches Relaxed atmosphere Staff smiling and friendly Clean Fantastic location!!!! Walk outside to shops and the beach only five mins away Breakfast is average Beds could be softer Some leaking in our bathroom

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natrouble
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Natrouble, Thank you for your great review of your stay here with us at Thambapanni Retreat . It is great to read such positives comments about your stay. Our dedicated staff does most sincerely appreciate to your kind remarks. Thank you for giving us the entire pleasure & privilege of serving you. ..looking forward to welcome you soon..

706 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (443)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
Superior Bungalow (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
824 reviews
0.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
777 reviews
0.2 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
625 reviews
1.1 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
366 reviews
5.6 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A luxury boutique hotel with 16 rooms, surrounded by lush greenery and two minutes walk from the lovely Unawatuna Beach. All rooms are air conditioned, has en suite bathrooms with hot and cold water and mini bar. Some rooms over looking the sea or the the pool. The bungalows surrounded by many trees and view of the jungle. Most rooms have large balconies and on request a hammock will be included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thambapanni Retreat

Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle 60800, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: RM271 - RM684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thambapanni Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thambapanni Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna
Thambapanni Retreat Hotel Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thambapanni Retreat staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Thambapanni Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top of the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles BellePlagneNickP, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 110, 111, 112”
  • View of reception from the poolside
 of 5 bubbles MarionL683, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 10, 11 and 12 are superb”
 of 5 bubbles Elaine_Smith44, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Super deluxe room on the 2nd Floor is very good.”
 of 5 bubbles shamalid, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Access road to the hotel is very small, may be a problem for big groups.”
 of 5 bubbles nitishd233, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5