We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent place to stay. Comfortable rooms with wifi and safe. No heat but plenty of blankets when cool. Always had hot water for showers. Enjoyed watching the birds and monkeys at the feeding station from the the dinning room. The food was OK and plentiful. Good location. All rooms are the same.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 799Phyllis
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed our accommodations and the wildlife at our Lodge.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well kept hotel, clean and comfortable. Wifi in both lobby and at rooms/cabins. No fridge or tv in rooms. Safe box with deposit. Very friendly and helpful staff. Can be hard to find - use CityMaps2Go, your regular car GPS will get lost. Undisturbed. Nice trails to walk and a zip line, and as a very nice thing, they're not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Sofie L
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed Cloud Forest Lodge.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent view from the bar. Hummer feeders plus fruit stations for the birds. Isolated and removed from the dust and noise in town! Shared wall with another room wasn't ideal but the walls weren't too thin. Road up IS rough as others say but we had no issues. Stayed 3 nights. Had a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgree206
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review!! I am glad you had a good stay at our Lodge.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This lodge is set in the cloud forest directly a bit inside with beautiful restaurant and friendly staff. The lodges are homely and spacious and very clean. The lodge #16 with a palm tree right next to it and at night the wind and wildlife will make the palm nuts to fall on the rooftops and rumble. Pick a different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gmp R
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I will probably have the palm tree removed. Thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We sty here for only one night , it wad very pleasant stay , on first day we arrange a canopy zip line tour which was excellentvespecially for kids, unfortunately start rain and strongvwind also during the night. Following mornig we saw few squirells, birds.... Food in the restaurant was good and service people very helpfull.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spiderbar
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! Sorry you were with us only one night. We are glad you enjoyed the zip lines and our restaurant.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 2 week tour of Costa Rica, we found Cloud Forest Lodge to be one of the better Lodge's we stayed in. Our Lodge had a homely and cosy feel and the restaurant food was very nice, plus all the staff were very friendly, welcoming and happy to help in any way they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! Our location is both the down side and the highlight of your stay at Cloud Forest Lodge. It all depends on your expectations. If you come to enjoy nature, adventure and relaxation, our location away from town and in the middle of the Cloud Forest is perfect. However, if you want to mingle...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely lodge with rooms in cabins. There is lots of space inside each room and the beds are large enough to require a bus to get from one side to the other. Unfortunately, you can hear the people in the next room when they're having a conversation so hope for quiet neighbours. There's also only one bedside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cowsandmoons
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Cloud Forest Lodge.

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where can we begin? We had just arrived from a 3-night stay at genuine 4-star resort in La Fortuna and within 10 minutes of arriving at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge we looked at each other and remarked that this would be our favorite place most likely. We were right. It's absolutely perfect here. Beautiful, quaint, and peaceful yet incredibly friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesseandgracie
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge. We are very proud of our staff, specially Wilbert our manager. Our goal is to provide a memorable experience for our guests. Hope you can come back and visit again.

Leadville, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Monteverde area was our second stop during our driving tour of Costa Rica. The Lodge is in a wonderful quiet location. Lots of activities on site and the staff is a wealth of knowledge on local attractions and restaurants. Don't expect many luxuries from you Cabin/room. No TV but great wifi service (we stayed in cabin 3). Also no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank n0zeb
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Cloud Forest Lodge. You obviously visited Monteverde with the correct expectations: to enjoy nature, adventure and relaxation. Thanks again, I hope you can come back and visit again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Cloud Forest Lodge was so beautiful, quiet, and relaxing. The employees are all very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and well taken care of (unfortunately, I was not lucky enough to see a scorpion). The trails are fun, but not challenging, and the restaurant was a great place to end the day. I think the only reason...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am so glad you captured the spirit of Monteverde at Cloud Forest Lodge. An encounter with nature and relaxation is what we really offer our visitors, together with our best posible service.

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
984 reviews
1.3 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
1,195 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
187 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: RM472 - RM538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are the same”
 of 5 bubbles 799Phyllis, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was up some steep paths, but there were others more accessible for those who need it.”
 of 5 bubbles pzdj, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cabanas are all semi-detached and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles RobF48, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are small double bungalows with a view of the forrest.”
  • View from the dining room
 of 5 bubbles 908judyg, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 2A is right outside a trail head and feels secluded due to it being located in the corner of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsEFine, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay