We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 277: English reviews
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed as part of a package. Rooms clean & comfortable in wonderful situation. The restaurant has several bird feeders/tables so you get fantastically close to the birds. Had an excellent steak in the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell4422
Trinity, Florida
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We just finished our 3 day stay at the lodge. The rooms are basic and clean. Do not expect too many amenities, no TV only one face cloth, no heat. The road in is long and unpaved. With that said the place has great views, lots of hummingbirds, we saw monkeys in the canopy below. There is a pizcoati that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou F
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you had a great stay at our Lodge and I will surely check on the trails to improve the markings. Thanks again!!

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. Very friendly staff and lots of wildlife seen here. Beautifully cared for grounds and peaceful setting. They have trails on location as well as zip line canopy tour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The setting in the cloud forest is just superb. It's 2 hours plus drive from San Jose but worth every second of it. The cabana style rooms are spacious, well-appointed and very quiet. There are some great trails for walking both in daylight and at night. The staff are just brilliant, so helpful and accommodating. Particularly Gustavo in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobF48
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Cloud Forest Lodge. Hope you to see you back some day.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fantastic lodge in the cloud forest, providing excellent rooms, food and grounds to explore. Our group was met with the most delicious cocktail of rum and fruit juice. We were immediately taken by how beautiful the grounds were and the hummingbirds flying to the feeders set up right beside the main restaurant lounge area which are always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Cloud Forest Lodge. We hope to see you back sometime.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The grounds, room, and the people, everything was fantastic. Getting there was a bit of a drive, but worth it for this hidden gem. The resort is tucked away from the rest of the city and the crowds. My only complaint would be that the beds were a little hard and the pillows a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Our goal is to provide a personalised service in this beautiful setting surrounded by the Cloud Forest. Thank you for your comment on our beds and pillows we will consider this in our future renovation. Thanks again!!

Oakland, California, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge provides comfortable accommodations with spacious rooms in a garden setting. The rustic rooms face nicely tended gardens and there are a number of hiking trails surrounding the grounds. The bar area has a number of hummingbird feeders outside the windows and it is delightful to see these little creatures feeding. There's packs of agoutis and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean Y
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are working on getting better Wifi in the rooms. Because the Lodge is located in an isolated area and the humidity of the cloud forest, it has been hard to get an efficient system. Thanks again.

Kent
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I liked this hotel very much and found it extremely relaxing and very quiet. The rooms are basic but good enough for a couple of nights, although it is far away from the main town. The gardens are very well kept, you will see a range of activity from the dining room, particularly with the humming bird feeders. For me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roydi
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed relaxation at Cloud forest Lodge.

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest: we had expected a little more from this accommodation. It went wrong on the basics: de beds were not comfortable, as were the cushions. And the little cabanas were not sound proof: everytime our neighbours said something to each other, we could hear everything. Bath room was very nice, though. Staff was friendly and we even got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Koen V
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review!! We are sorry you were a bit disappointed. Yes, our rooms are not sound proof and we are working on finding a way of fixing this inconvenience. We have already fixed some rooms. As far as breakfast, we do have a set menu with three different options and we do charge for additional orders; however for...

Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Nothing really stands out for this place for me, good or bad. The cabines are a bit rusty but clean. The view from most of them is to the parking lot and trash cans which ruins the experience of being in the cloud forest. The food is not great but also not bad....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank svobik
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Sorry you didn't really enjoyed your stay at Cloud Forest Lodge. We have 22 rooms and only 4 overlook the parking lot. However, past the parking lot there is the Cloud Forest. Trash cans are not in from of the rooms; they are around the parking lot ( 3 of them) and they are there to...

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
940 reviews
1.3 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.3 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
158 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
170 reviews
3.1 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#8 of 22 in Monteverde
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: RM448 - RM532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabanas are all semi-detached and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles RobF48, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are small double bungalows with a view of the forrest.”
  • View from the dining room
 of 5 bubbles 908judyg, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 2A is right outside a trail head and feels secluded due to it being located in the corner of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsEFine, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are pretty much the same”
  • Supension bridge over cloud forest canopy in one of the reserve's trials
 of 5 bubbles 826donaldm, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the top of the hill offer the best view toward the Pacific Ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles T5969BRdanielo, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay