We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a bone jarring ride up to Monteverde, you arrive at this beautiful lodge. Animals and birds abound here on the property attracted by the fruit the staff puts out several times a day! Coatis, agoutis, armadillos, hummingbirds and a huge array of other birds and bats coexist here. Rooms are spacious, bungalow style - no TV and no need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherrywyse57
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge.

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

lovely hotel, cabins in the grounds were very nice and you could hear the jungle noises, great. Food was very good too. there are trails within the grounds which you can walk and spot the wildlife, also zip lining, which is rather noisy as people scream past you overhead, so unless the birds are used to it, best to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timber2013
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed nature and adventure at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time at the cloud forest lodge. They have their own trails around the grounds, and even have night hikes on site. The restaurant and bar were also fantastic--bartender (Gustavo?) was super friendly and made some great cocktails. They have hummingbird feeders at the bar, which was fun to watch. They also have feeders out off a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shonna M
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed our hospitality at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge. Hope to serve you again in a near future.

Lichfield
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast is superb especially the homemade granola. Dinner is extremely disappointing. Bird table next to restaurant attracts birds and monkeys. 30 minute walk down into Monteverde town and $6 taxi back. Several trails and zip wire on site to keep children happy. Adjoining wall of attached lodge is paper thin so aware of neighbours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChorleyLichfield
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Sorry you found dinner to be "extremely disappointing". As you can see from other reviews, dinner is "extremely good" according to other guest. I do apologise for the thin walls, we are trying to figure out a way to solve this problem. Most of our clients book our lodge precisely because we are away from...

northeast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went with my sister and brother-in-law. We loved our little cabin. The rooms were wonderful, and we enjoyed sitting on our little porches watching birds, and having a cup of coffee before breakfast. It was chillier than we thought up in the mountains, but that didn't matter. It never took away from our enjoyment. We spent a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loves2takepics
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge. We are the ideal place for nature and relaxation.

Maine
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Traveled to Monteverde as a change of scenery from Nosara. Picked the lodge based on other reviews and glad we did. Our cabin was extremely clean and cozy - who would think I'd be glad for a fleece blanket on the bed in Costa Rica? Breakfast was quite good, though a limited menu. Dinner in the restaurant was also quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaineLab_mom
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge.

Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This was a beautiful spot. We felt as if we were on top of the world. Colder and mistier than I would've liked my Costa Rica vacation to be, but the hotel itself was great! Make sure to check out the view out the windows of the restaurant. Beautiful!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimhelm
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is interesting that your rating of my property is low, however your review is positive. One of the great things about Costa Rica is the variety of micro climates that we have. From very hot along the pacific coast line (Tropical Dry Forest) and the Tropical Rainforest, all the way to cooler...

Reviewed 17 March 2017

If I could, I'd give this place four and a half stars. That's because it was very nice but not luxurious. The location is absolutely beautiful and the room was pretty nice but nothing special. However, we loved having a little space of our own outside the room to sit and enjoyed the hiking trails. When we had a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the Cloud Forest at our Lodge ash well as our facilities. Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Durham
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed here 2 nights as part of our journey. The journey up to the lodge is via steep bumpy roads. The wind blows quite breezily and it tends to drizzle a lot. Check in was smooth. We took our own cases to our room. The rooms are semi detached but we had no problems with noise from next door....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandyegg2k
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Had a great time when we stayed here for 2 nights. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were great helping us organise a hanging bridge and night tour. Be aware that it is cool and windy in Monteverde (despite numerous blankets I had to sleep in my fleece the first night) so bring one warm clothes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the Cloud Forest at our Lodge ash well as our facilities. Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.3 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
1.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
219 reviews
1.3 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
1,272 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: RM449 - RM704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Banning, California
personalizado1998 monteverdecr Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

From the juan santamaria airport to the hotel lasts about 3 1/2 hours, all the way is pavement, only the last 20 km are natural, but no problem to get, then in the village of Santa Elena is paved, the last 2 kilomentros to the hotel are natural and at the top of the mountain and private

6 months ago Google Translation
northeast
Taylorinnbnb San Jose, Costa Rica Property representative
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi !! Yes there is a safe in the room, a hairdryer and coffee maker.

You will be required to leave a credit card or a $ 25.00 deposit for the safe in case you loose the key.

2 months ago
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Taylorinnbnb San Jose, Costa Rica Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi thanks for your question.

Monteverde is about a three hour drive from San Jose airport. If you are going to visit other places and not only Monteverde, a rent a car is recommend. Transportation cost will be around $ 180.00 per transfer.

Regards, Jorge

1 month ago
Minnesota
personalizado1998 monteverdecr Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Thank you for staying with us, our restaurant opens at 6:30 am for breakfast

2 months ago Google Translation
San Bernardino, California
personalizado1998 monteverdecr Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Dear.

Thank you for writing us.

There are different kind of weathers around Costa Rica, in Monteverde for example it is very cold during the night time and warm at day in certain times at year, so sweater and pants are enough for your adventure at this area.

Congratulations for your 50th anniversary, from us we will give you a glass of red wine which can be enjoyed at our restaurant.

Around the Monteverde area there are good places where to have a nice time during the dinner, some of the most romantics or restaurant with good atmosphere are Sofia's Restaurant, Tree House Restaurant or Morpho's Restaurant, they have very good and mixed menu (personal opinion).

Regarding to the activities you could do here, not very long distances to walk and not much adventure. The Morning Walk would be a good option to start at, it is a 2.5 hours when is a shared tour, but it could be a bit less when is private. The Guided Night Walk is another option, this is about 2 hours hike (not hiking the whole to hours, there are going to be stops) where to be whtness of the natural and nocturnal wildlife when the sun sets down.

Hope this information helps.

4 months ago Google Translation

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had room 14 - only complain was the shower floor should be slanted so the water goes down the drain not stay.”
Beckyher1541, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“N1 and N2 are near where the staff throw out fruit for the animals otherwise all of the rooms are well situated”
sherrywyse57, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for cabin with an unobstructed view.”
socaltravelers2016, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“some rooms over-look car park”
528RichardW, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are the same”
799Phyllis, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5