We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (13)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (5)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This 18th-century building has a central location in charming St Ives, a 30-minute drive from Cambridge. There is free Wi-Fi in public areas of the building, and a lively bar serving a large choice of wines, beers and local ales. Rooms at The Golden Lion Hotel have simple decor and traditional wooden furnishings. Benefits include a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with a hairdryer. A full English breakfast is available in the morning and the restaurant serves a range of meals made from seasonal local produce. There is also a regularly changing specials menu for you to choose from.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
113
85
30
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
113
85
30
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews refurbished hotel christmas meal super hotel car park coaching inn centre of st ives breakfast service would highly recommend this hotel on site parking sunday lunch no hot water great place to stay central location nice room very pleasant stay biscuits an overnight stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Good location, good breakfast and cleanly rooms and great breakfast staff.Downside:Shower is a bit of disappointment and no car park at the hotel but nearby public car park is not bad. Would recommend and happy to come back to stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Wander51012679932
Reviewed 4 days ago

I had a early start so ensured a room was available for me when I turned up. I was met by Arty who was a very helpful team leader and a credit to the company. Room was what I was expecting as stayed in a...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2019
Thank bigdukesimo
Response from Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at Golden LionResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you were well looked after. I do apologise again that the food wasn't 100% satisfactory and with the miscommunication between the departments. We are currently working on improving breakfast to ensure that our guests...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed in the Golden Lion hotel 3 days a week for the last 3 months for work. All the rooms are very well appointed and the staff are always helpful. The restaurant serves good gastro-pub style food and the breakfast is generous. I would...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank geemoore69
Response from Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at Golden LionResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all of your stays with us and that the team looked after you on each of your visits. As a company we are always looking at changes that we can make to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fantastic time at this stunning hotel.Brekfast was excellent and the beds very comfy .Prices at the bar were resonable and the staff very helpful.Definetly will come back in Saint Ives Cambridgeshire .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Tourist02407930748
Response from Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at Golden LionResponded 3 days ago

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, many thanks for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay at Coaching Inn Group properties regularly but this is by far the worst room we have ever had. We got room 17, a tiny box room with barely enough room to get past the beds to the bathroom. It's also above the kitchens...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank D6253WLdavidj
Response from Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at Golden LionResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share a review, I am sorry that the room you were given did not suit your needs. We do try to keep all noise to a minimum so not to disrupt our guests so i am sorry that...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Philip W
16 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Cathy W | Reviewed this property |
Takes about 5 mins to walk to car park, and a couple of pounds each day but you have to get up and get to the car park by 8am which can be a bind. We had no problem getting a space it’s a very big public car park. Not ideal
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Do not accept room 17."
D6253WLdavidj
1 week ago
Read review
"There is no parking at the hotel - bring some change for the nearby pay and display"
PeterO3034
13 Nov 2018
Read review
"For the best prices, book direct with the hotel rather than through a third party site."
305RobertB
28 Jul 2018
Read review
"No elevators, so ask the desk staff to arrange someone to take your luggage up if you need help."
DonMcS
25 Jul 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden lion huntingdon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSt Ives
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing