We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Brandreth Farm Tarlscough Lane, Burscough, Ormskirk L40 0RJ England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burscough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Just 15 Minutes from the M58 motorway and located a mile from the village of Burscough, Brandreth Barn provides a rustic Bed and Breakfast accommodation, with a vintage style tearoom. Set in the heart of Lancashire, this 1774 converted barn has been lovingly restored to a rustic English farmhouse style. A stay at Brandreth Barn is a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, the relaxed atmosphere makes it an exciting place in which to visit and explore Martin Mere Wetlands Trust, which is a 5 minute walk away. Brandreth Barn is surrounded with beautiful countryside, with lots of walks, pubs and lovely places to eat. We are perfectly located for trips to Preston, Manchester and Liverpool by car or train. If you are visiting the area for pleasure or business, Brandreth Barn is the perfect place to stay. |
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
128Reviews1Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 105
  • 20
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
franny69 wrote a review Jan 2021
Burscough, United Kingdom99 contributions28 helpful votes
Best full English breakfast in west lancs. freshly made and not festering in a warm plate. Fruit smoothies are amazing too. Shame it’s closed due to covid. I’ve missed it. Great for cyclists passing. Accept dogs too. Lovely family setting
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sharon O wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic hosts lovely accommodation Breakfast very tasty bacon and sausage delicious Fully recommend this B&B There’s a little tuck shop as you walk in the door very sweet Charlie’s tuck shop very quaint decoration kids will love it too
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Kellys165 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Was looking last minute for somewhere to stay near Ormskirk for visiting friends. The email communication was prompt and friendly and instructions re arrival clear and helpful. Our room (rm8) was comfortable and warm with double and single bed and plenty of tea/coffee. Whilst there were lots of surfaces in room it would have been useful to have something at bedside for phone etc overnight. Breakfast was amazing...with plenty of choice and the fullest of full english! The only problem we had was the flush mechanism on toilet causing cistern to overflow. I was anxious about this flooding bathroom and causing problems with the room below and we had to continually flush the toilet approx 20 times to prevent this before the problem rectified itself. It would have been helpful to have had access to assistance but there was no emergency contact number and when I tried the number on website there was no response. Whilst this was unfortunate it did not spoil our stay and we will definitley be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Sandgrounder41 wrote a review Sep 2019
Southport, United Kingdom17 contributions7 helpful votes
Whilst we are local we have not needed the facilities of the B&B just the Tea-Rooms. We have been going regularly for a while now. However on our last visit a couple of weeks ago, one of us ordered the Large Breakfast, but when it came I almost said where is the rest of it!!!. Whilst I requested no mushrooms/black pudding, nothing was offered as an alternative, unlike previous visits. NO hash browns, just a couple of thin potatoe "slices" URGH!. The other two people I went with, their meals were fine. Also nobody asked if everything was ok with our meals, most unusual. We miss a lady called ED who used to cook all our breakfasts, she always ensured we were happy with our food. For the record Margaret, it is with great sadness that we will not be returning. We feel there is absolutely no atmosphere like there used to be when ED was there. In fact on our last visit I would go so far as to say there was an element of snobbery in the air. My breakfast was a disgrace for £9 (prices really shot up lately). So on the loss of ED comes the loss of business. Whilst we know my comments won't phase you in the slightest, I felt an obligation to write it this review. We know you won't be bothered about us not coming any more, however, I would ask myself this, how many other "regulars" will (if not have already) deserted, having such a poor breakfast and clickish atmosphere. This needed posted for others to see, how the place has gone downhill since ED is no longer there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret W, Owner at Brandreth Barn
Responded 22 Sep 2019
Thank you for your comments. We always welcome feedback, and constructive criticism is an important part of that. We are very sorry that you felt disappointed the last time you visited us. We were all very sad when Ed decided to leave her employment to prioritize her time with her family. Our ethos has not changed. We do our utmost, as we have for the past 30 years, to offer quality food (locally sourced wherever possible) at an honest price with a warm and friendly welcome to all customers whether they be regulars or new faces. You are right in saying that the breakfast price has increased. We have had a large breakfast on the menu at £7.75 for many years and absorbed any increasing costs rather than pass them on to our customers. However, a month ago we put our large breakfast up by 20p to £7.95. Some items on our menu have actually come down in price, such as bacon and sausage sandwiches which we reduced from £6.50 to £4.25. We are also offering more options such as vegetarian, gluten free and will adapt meals whenever possible to accommodate people with allergies or intolerances. We have started adding a selection of daily specials which have been met with many compliments from both regulars and new customers and we are looking forward to the winter months when we will offer a wider range of homemade comfort food. We are sorry that you felt short changed by your breakfast. We often make our own hash browns from our home grown potatoes fresh each morning for our all day breakfasts. If we have been busy with breakfasts earlier in the day we occasionally run out of hash browns in the afternoon. We then offer home grown sautéed potatoes as an alternative. This should have been communicated to you and we apologize that on this occasion we failed. It is obvious that a lack of communication on the day has caused upset and we will learn from this. If you ever have a change of heart then you will of course be welcomed back warmly. Best Wishes, Margaret and the Team.
Read more
franny69 wrote a review Jul 2019
Burscough, United Kingdom99 contributions28 helpful votes
I’m absolutely disgusted with myself for not going sooner .. went last Sunday & again this Saturday for the best home cooked full English breakfast I’ve ever had & I only live half a mile away! Dog friendly & proper china cups for a decent cup of tea !!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireOrmskirkBurscough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Brandreth Barn
Which popular attractions are close to Brandreth Barn?
Nearby attractions include Windmill Animal Farm (1.2 km), WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre (1.0 km), and The Legh Arms (4.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Brandreth Barn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Brandreth Barn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Brandreth Barn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Brandreth Barn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bagel Deli, Master McGrath's, and O'Briens Tea Rooms.
Are pets allowed at Brandreth Barn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Brandreth Barn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rufford Old Hall (3.4 km).
Is Brandreth Barn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.