We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westleton Crown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Westleton Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

734 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 732: English reviews
Start your review of The Westleton Crown
 Click to rate
cambridge
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room exceeded our expectations. Bright, comfortable bed and sofa and a delightful, unexpected balcony overlooking the pretty pub garden.The staff were really helpful and the breakfast was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank budthefrog
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had Friday night stay for wine tasting dinner with friends, 3 couples. This must be our 4th visit. Standards consistently high, room immaculate, food and service excellent. Manager very professional, remembered us, polite and welcoming. Waiting staff, ladies at breakfast all wonderful. Sausage provided at breakfast for our dog. We love this place and so do our friends, can't wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelinetrue
Colchester
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a one night stay over Easter. What a fabulous place, The bedrooms are clean, bright and airy with beautiful fluffy towels. The staff are extremely friendly and professional. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peppa01
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed over the Easter weekend at the Westleton Crown. We stayed in a room in the converted outhouses. The room was cosy and warm. The bathroom was clean and contemporary. The bed was large and comfortable. The outhouses are arranged around a car park. At times over the busy weekend it looked like there would not be enough room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CG101010
Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a two night break booked through Travelzoo. Our room was the'blacktailed godwit' in an outbuilding on the first floor opposite the main building. The room was large and spacious, spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee items included a cafetiere and biscuits in a small kilner jar. The bathroom was spacious with toiletries provided. The only suggestion which we mentioned was to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catharina G
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we have already added an extra shelf in the shower as you suggested. We hope you are able to return in the not too distant future.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The letter we wrote: Dear Sir/Madam, We thoroughly enjoyed our two night break on the Suffolk Coast. Our room was well appointed, warm and comfortable. The restaurant food was lovely – just as we had remembered. Rather than posting on TripAdviser, in the light of the above, I am writing direct to The Crown to make comments. • The service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to put your review on Tripvisor. It is such a shame that I was unable to reply to your email in the time scale that you required. The team are really disappointed to read your review and I am sure we will learn from the challenges you have highlighted. We did go through a...

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used the Crown as our base from which to explore Minsmere and the surrounding area, including Southwold. It was a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable room. The restaurant's very popular and some might find the service a little slow, but for a relaxing evening enjoying good food and service we enjoyed it. We were celebrating a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

Many thanks Ann for your lovely review. We aim to ensure that each of our guests are delighted with their stay and I am so pleased that you were delighted!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Returned here after far too many years and we were not disappointed. The room 'Tree Creeper' was spacious clean and well appointed - large bed, sofa and roll-top bath with wet room off it. Tea and coffee (cafetière) home made biscuits and a small carafe of what we assumed was sweet sherry but proved to be rather good sloe gin!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

Hi Christine, many thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at The Westleton Crown. It is always lovely to have positive reviews and yours is no exception. We look forward to seeing you within 10 years!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table for lunch on a Saturday lunchtime. We arrived early - around 11:50 for a 12:00 booking. after a short wait we were served our drinks at the bar and told that the restaurant was being set up ready for lunch. At 12:20 we still hadn't been shown through to our table and my husband asked one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trudie L
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your lunch with us. I am so sorry that we did not host your arrival in the correct manner. I believe it was the incorrect chemical used rather than a dirty mop, better to be safe than sorry. We have had such lovely feedback about our new lunch menu, but I would like to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday lunch for 4. Nice surroundings,spacious and airy. Food very nice. Reasonable price. Tap water offered with out any fuss. A welcome approach. Only word of warning is that service is slow even with less than half the tables occupied. Hence only 4 stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Musley
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your lunch with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal, and appreciated our lovely surroundings. We hope you are able to return soon.

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
4.1 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
652 reviews
10.2 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
4.2 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,398 reviews
13.2 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
963 reviews
9.8 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant at The Westleton Crown
Restaurant at The Westleton Crown
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Price Range: RM581 - RM1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westleton Crown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Westleton Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good, I like rooms at back of car park best.”
Jacquelinetrue, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you prefer a quite room ask when booking as the rooms at the front of the hotel are on the road side”
Peppa01, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room that does not have rooms on both sides if possible and upgrade if you can as the standard room is really quite small”
h0warths, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Haven't stayed here”
andiedoha, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you are a light sleeper ask for a room out the back”
blundensofboc, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5