We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 292: English reviews
Start your review of Anchor Lodge Coromandel
 Click to rate
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We booked this Motel due to its location close to the centre of Coromandel Town. I have to say we stayed in a number of motels on this trip and this was by far the best. The exterior is much as you would expect from this type of accommodation in New Zealand. However the interior of our unit had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redsgothenburg
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great spot, rooms lovely and clean staff Owner's were v accomodating. Had the use of the hut for group BBQ spa and pool fantastic. No complaints Note watch out for the mossies if you are up the back units.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location within easy walking distance of township. I had a studio style room its picture is not shown on the website. A dark room with view of a roof. Although clean and modern it was very small and didnt have any relaxing chairs to sit on. Just 2 dining chairs and table with king bed and 1 single bed. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazaq
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review

We quite often get feedback from guests but being over priced is not one of them. Always contact us directly for best rates. You have booked through a third party website that charge commission. Your friends that stayed next door in an identical unit to you have given us a 10/10 review on the third party site so it is...

Woodford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We planned to go to Coromandel peninsula but ended up in Coromandel town which is 2 hours away from hot water beach where most people aim for. Lovely town great food The anchorage motel is exactly that small rooms must admit very clean. I booked sea view room but when shown it, it was upstairs I didn't agree it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DuquesaLondon
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review

Think you have reviewed the wrong motel. We are Anchor Lodge not Anchorage as you've stated in your review

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Anchor Lodge caters for all travellers from Backpackers to Families, accommodation is clean but dated, nevertheless comfortable. We stayed in the 2B/R 2 B/R Villa. Facilities were ok and place was reasonably well equipped, Free WiFi is advertised but service is poor, very slow with intermittent connectivity. Setting is good with township an easy walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SA5045
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with our daughter and husband in a two bedroom unit. Loved the setting and each unit was private from the next. Used the pool and spa - both really clean in a delightful setting. Our unit was well appointed, clean and we had covered parking for our vehicles. We ordered breakfast for the next morning and thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisforever
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great place to stay if you are passing through or exploring the Coromandel. A short walk to the centre of town. Efficient reception and helpful advice. Good sized room with a small well equipped kitchen area and a balcony. Very comfortable bed with exceptionally good linen. Wi-fi and air conditioning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpd4
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Expect heaps of sand in the spa as well as random bits in the pool. Spent a few nights with my friends family and I have to say the interior of the rooms are dated not to mention stains on pillow cases and duvet! For the amount you pay for a family unit I expected more. It's also full service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingpenny01
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review

You are way off the mark! I actually think this is a false review from the people staying in the book a bach house next to our motel that we said no to when they asked if they could use our pool. We said no because it is for motel guests only so I'm not even going to bother addressing...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Anchor Motel is set in the most beautiful location looking out at the surrounding landscape . The Motel is a lovely little village full of little log cabins and flats with there own private balconies. I highly recommend a visit Peter Hall

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 February 2017

My daughter and I stayed at the Anchor Lodge in Coromandel town for the long weekend and we booked a two bedroom unit by the pool. The unit was absolutely spotless and the motel units are in a beautiful setting surrounded by bush and flowers and yet it is within walking distance of the town. It was so nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 56Irene

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.0 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
20.5 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
472 reviews
0.6 km away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
238 reviews
19.4 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
307 reviews
22.9 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Price Range: RM178 - RM977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Lodge Coromandel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Anchor Lodge Coromandel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 bedroom motel unit with lounge was the best room I saw in the complex”
 of 5 bubbles kazaq, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A first floor room is probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jpd4, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor heading towards the harbour. That gives you the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles tourah, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view make sure you ask.”
 of 5 bubbles JudiRainbow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the harbourview suite, certainly wirth the extra money for the balcony and view”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5