We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Zenzele River Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Zenzele River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
Start your review of Zenzele River Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent a weekend at Zenzele. The chalet was just ok, but have never been presented with such bad food ever. We got to breakfast there were 3 or 4 rashers of oily precooked bacon and 3 precooked fried eggs. We asked for fresh bacon and soft fried eggs and were once again presented with precooked bacon and eggs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diegoronaldo
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Zenzele river lodge is a beautiful place, from its peaceful and tranquil surroundings to the breathtaking nature views. The rooms (luxury chalets) and exquisitely decorated, very modern and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philisiwes2017
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for enjoying your stay with us we really appreciate Kind regards Leah

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Petro and all the staff are very friendly and helpful!! The food is excellent and the accommodation great!! You are in the heart of nature whilst enjoying all the luxuries!! We were there celebrating our anniversary and Lebo set a romantic table for us on the deck of our cabin and all our food was served right there outside our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johandie W
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for enjoying your stay with us We really appreciate Kind regards Leah

pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place. staff very helpful. would come again. only negative--aircon remote not working and staff checked and said just push down hard--but still would not work and key sometimes sticking when trying to lock/unlock door.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank your for enjoying with us We really appreciate your comment Leah

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were impressed from the minute we arrived. There is a personal touch that is immediately evident. The accommodation is fantastic and very private. Breakfast is at a civilized time so one probably won't need lunch. When we were there the owners were also present and they are very hands on hosts. Meals were great and generous. This is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank your for enjoying your stay with us. We really appreciate your comment. Leah

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The place was neat & clean. The amenities were satisfactory and above standard for a 4* establishment. The food left a little to be desired considering there was no real alternative in the vicinity, but it kept the hunger at bay. The tranquility of the place is a perfect getaway for the couple looking to re-charge batteries and not have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherileev2017
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your response we will improve Leah

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 February 2017

A beautiful spot for a one night stay! We enjoyed our stay at Zenzele River Lodge.We were greeted by very informative staff, who explained the in's and out's of the place. Zenzele lodge has a variety of birds. We were even lucky enough to see a crocodile on the bridge. We went on a game drive and saw kudu, sable,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephib950
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for enjoying you stay with us we appreciate and do some improvement Leah

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 17 February 2017

My group of five birders plus our guide stayed here one night. I was sorry to leave the next day, as I could have remained for a week or two. My room--more like a cabin--was beautiful, with many touches both elegant and comfortable. A deck with comfortable chairs faced the river. We enjoyed a delicious dinner al fresco on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for enjoying you stay at zenzele we appreciate Leah

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

This 600 ha game farm has giraffe, zebra and lots of different species of deer. Being by the river it potentially has crocodiles and hippos but I didn't see any. The birds are incredible - the dawn chorus was lovely to wake to. A great place for a relaxing few days with pleasant meals in a sheltered indoor/outdoor setting. Ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PleasantTravels5
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for you comment we appreciate Leah

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We had a wonderful time at Zanzele lodge. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms and views are absolutely beautiful. The dinners and breakfasts were good although the snails and desserts could be revisited.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank roxannes322
zenzeleriverlodge, Front Office Manager at Zenzele River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for you comment. Leah

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zenzele River Lodge offers you an experience in the wild African bushveldt, the Luxurious way. You can go to sleep with the cries of the wilderness on your door step and wake up with the harmonious sounds of the fish eagles hunting in the open skies. Be blown away by the astonishing sun rises and sun sets that colour the sky, using the pallet of mother earth whilst sharing stories around the boma fires. You become one with the elements of nature and in the same breath Zenzele River Lodge will give you an experience that will stir your soul. Zenzele River Lodge (320ha) near Pretoria is the most aesthetically pleasing game ranch and lodge, situated in the breathtaking and malaria-free bushveld region - Rust de Winter near Pretoria, South Africa. It is less than an hour's drive form Pretoria, situated in the Limpopo province. Zenzele River Lodge game drives offer the most spectacular view of different kinds of wildlife, both fauna and flora. We invite you to luxuriate in the peace and come and soak up the tranquility, warmth and excellent service, that the exquisite Zenzele River Lodge has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zenzele River Lodge

Address: Pienaars River Road, Rust de Winter 0142, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Rust de Winter
Price Range: RM238 - RM475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zenzele River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Zenzele River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Zenzele River Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Zenzele River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are 10/10”
_dolores_grobler, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose luxury rooms on the river”
hiltonv521, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 6 and 7 (large in comparison to others). Would recommend 1 for privacy.”
charmaineb305, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Luxury chalets along the river”
sheilamclellan, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They all have lovely views of the river and very private, Chalet no. 5 was very private”
  • At the top of the view point
  • Next door to Zenzele Mystic Monkeys
  • Chalet No. 5
  • View from my patio at Chalet No. 5
CidneyCapeTown, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5