We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bella Vista Mar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bella Vista Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Mar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Stayed at this place for 2 days. No running water the whole time. We kept being told it was only out for a few hours and that it would be back ASAP. We could not shower. I had to haul water from the swimming pool to flush the toilet. Brushed my teeth with bottled water. No contrition, no refund. They...

2Thank Jimmy L
Manaleja, Owner at Bella Vista Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and we can understand your displeasure. We too felt very bad about the entire situation. As was explained to your group leader (and I believe yourselves) when you arrived: Guanacaste (the province we live in) has problems with water at this time of year. The rainy season last year did not fill the reservoirs sufficiently...

Reviewed 2 April 2015

This was out first trip to Costa Rica, and we chose to spend three of our nights at Bella Vista Mar. It was a very good choice. Alexa was a very gracious host. Our room was simple, but efficient. I mean, if you are at the beach, are you really spending your time in your hotel room? Of course not!...

Thank Dominic C
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2015

As a first time traveler, not knowing where to go or where to stay, Bella Vista Mar was my reward. Beautiful, peaceful, I felt the most relaxed than I have in years. The house, rooms are wonderful, the pool area magnificent. Alexa and her staff were most kind and helpful. Breakfast was a treat that started my day with a...

1Thank steven b
Manaleja, Owner at Bella Vista Mar, responded to this review

Thanks Steve! We enjoyed having you here with us this season, and hope that you take a little of that relaxation and sunshine back into your hectic job in Canada! See you again next year!

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We spent an entire week at Bella Vista Mar on a yoga retreat. This is a peaceful, quiet, relaxing and beautiful spot to recharge and reconnect. The whole B and B is charming, very clean and extremely safe. There is an amazing view of the ocean that is unbelievable. Sip your morning beverage and take in the beautiful view. Being...

Thank Allison M
Manaleja, Owner at Bella Vista Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It was great to have the whole group here for a week of yoga and relaxation! So nice to know you enjoyed it all! Hope to see you again!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Maybe it isn't fair we had just stayed at a wonderful B&B the night before and when we came to Bella vista Mar we noticed that it was a little worn around the edges. The proprietress was a little too hungry for the tourist dollar. I didn't like that she had an extra fee for an additional person in the...

2Thank Laura E
Alexa130, Owner at Bella Vista Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. While we are not a brand new facility, we keep the property clean and in repair. The comment about the room charges are a bit confusing. Our rates are clearly posted on all sites and it is common hospitality...

Reviewed 15 January 2015

With such nice views, a relaxing atmosphere, wonderful pool, and delicious breakfast it's a shame that we immediately regretted our decision to stay there within the first hour. The whole time there we felt unwelcome, like we were walking on egg shells, and that we had done something to inconvience the owner. We were mistreated by other guests (not our...

2Thank atweiman
Manaleja, Owner at Bella Vista Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Always, there are many facets to comments like these. Let me try to address them for you. First, the phone situation. We were without phone and internet for a total of 4 days - part of that time while you were here. You are correct - you heard me on the phone because I continue to...

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Though not easy to reach (the roads to Nosara are unpaved, and once in Nosara the hotel is a bit "hidden" on an uphill road), this is a really nice place. Well-run, relaxed, great views at the ocean, good advice on local things to do. Rooms a bit small and without airco, but there is a fan and when we...

1Thank WvdP
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Super place, friendly helpful people, clean comfortable rooms, stunning view, great pool. We say monkeys from the driveway and the hummingbirds that visit during the delicious breakfasts are beautiful. It's located a bit out of the way from the main attractions which offers a nice refuge but I'd say having a car to get there is necessary (as the roads...

Thank SurfsUpSunshine
Arena, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Disclaimer: I did not STAY at Bella Vista Mar. I stayed next door at Casa Banda, but I did enjoy breakfast on the patio at Bella Vista Mar with the group of people with whom I was traveling. I had the omelette though I would have loved to try the banana pancakes for which the cook, Roxanna, is famous (they...

Thank Sarah W
Nosara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Reviewed 9 November 2014

I stayed at this wonderful hotel for two months with my wife and five year old son. Bella Vista Mar has spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and surrounding rainforest from its perch atop a small mountain. Being that it is at the end of the road, it is very peaceful without the drive-by traffic that you get in other...

Thank Aaron A

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (59)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
View from Room (7)
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Room/Suite (9)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Dining (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (33)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
3.2 km away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#8 of 23 in Nosara
114 reviews
1.8 km away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
1.6 km away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#9 of 23 in Nosara
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
2.5 km away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#13 of 23 in Nosara
52 reviews
0.5 km away
Teak Pacific Hotel
Teak Pacific Hotel
#14 of 23 in Nosara
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
No other hotel in Nosara Costa Rica can offer a more beautiful panoramic view of the ocean including Playa Guiones and Playa Pelada. Located upon a hilltop, Bella Vista Mar truly lives up to its name. We are conveniently located for all your vacation activities, and will help you plan to do as much or as little as you like! Horseback riding? World's longest zipline? Sportfishing? We've got all that and MORE! Our friendly staff and homey atmosphere are the ideal combination for a perfect vacation destination.You'll enjoy our relaxed and casual lodging policy. Come as you are, be yourself! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Mar

Address: Playas Pelada | 300 Mtrs Oeste de la Garta Lodge, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Price Range: RM397 - RM446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Mar Hotel Nosara
Bella Vista Mar Costa Rica/Nosara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Mar staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“WE loved the Nosara room.”
 of 5 bubbles KatrinaG_01, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I'd recommend an upper room to mask the noise of the gardener and other guests.”
 of 5 bubbles RoadtripprGirl, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles MarilyneM, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 898jimmyl, 12 Apr 2015 | Read review
“See above comments.”
 of 5 bubbles PooveyK, 27 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5