We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gilded Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
#17 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gilded Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gilded Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in the rooms above the restaurant in late June. Since it was pre-season, it was not loud (I can certainly see how it could be, though!!). It was so fun -- it felt like sleeping in a screened-in treehouse! And the proximity to food and the beach (and a pool with bar!) was great. Yes, the roads there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had a couple of fabulous days at the Gilded Iguana - this was our favorite location of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica. Even the several hour ride on bad roads was worth it! The staff and the food were both fantastic, and the room was clean and very comfortable (we had an AC room). We arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank rumneyc
NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I think i reviewed the hotel in the resuarant area - thats ok - they are almost one in the same. I so loved staying here. I felt like I was home. Everyone was so nice. I had plane problems and arrived very late. They stayed until I arrived and offered to fix me a meal. The rooms were simple... More 

Helpful?
Thank pamkat40
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed at the Gilded Iguana last year for ten days with my family. We were going through a hard time being part of a rescue search for my brother and needed a place to stay during this time. They not only provided a place to stay but went out of their way helping us make it our command center... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita D
New Denver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

So worth finding your way to Nosara! The Guided Iguana is like the house on the block that all the kids (vacationers) want to go to after school. Seemed to be the hang out for people staying at other accommodations near by, if just for a drink, or for dinner as well... somehow never too busy though. Great live music... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam M
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I wouldn't say this was the best hotel, but not exactly the worst. It is in between a hostel and a resort/hotel. I chose the iguana from the great reviews and listed in a Costa Rica guide book (frommers?) I stayed 5 nights but it felt longer, maybe it dragged on a little. Nosara itself is a beautiful location, not... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JuneBug83
GildedIguanaNosara, General Manager at Gilded Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Our apologies that your stay with us was not what you were hoping for. We do try and steer those with noise issues towards our quieter a/c rooms with a word of caution on our website. I didn't mention it in our correspondence before your arrival because we didn't have space in our a/c rooms, and it wasn't mentioned that... More 

North America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I came to fish and to learn to surf. This review hotel only. Having experienced jungle environments in Malaysia, Thailand, Borneo and Africa, we had a preconcieved idea of what to expect. We could not have been less prepared for what we experienced in the 3 weeks we were there. The owners, Matt & Joellen, have assembled a staff that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank clpipeline
GildedIguanaNosara, Guest Relations Manager at Gilded Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your rave review, we always enjoy reading our reviews, and this one almost makes me blush. Our staff has been assembled over many years, and we are fortunate to have a team of real gems. They all do a great job and are well cut out for the tribulations the service industry can present. Occasionally... More 

Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My fiance and I just returned from Nosara, Costa Rica on a scouting trip for our wedding in June. We stayed 3 nights at the Gilded Iguana and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were simple, clean, AIR CONDITIONED, and had nice, big bathrooms. The restaurant/bar had incredible food! We tried to go to as many different restaurants as we could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed 2 weeks at the iguana. The food was excellent, and the service was 2nd to none. Our rooms were very clean and the air conditioning worked well. Joellen and her staff made us feel right at home, they could'nt do enough for us. I can say I highly recommend the iguana and will return next year. Oh and... More 

Helpful?
Thank yourpalal08
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

A great place to stay for surfers. The local beach, walking distance, is long and has great waves. Awesome sunset! The Hotel is nothing fancy, but clean and has a pool. The bar & restaurant is very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheBoatBums

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.4 km away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#15 of 23 in Nosara
46 reviews
0.6 km away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#10 of 23 in Nosara
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Olas Verdes
Olas Verdes
#6 of 23 in Nosara
39 reviews
0.7 km away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#7 of 23 in Nosara
116 reviews
0.2 km away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#4 of 23 in Nosara
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A landmark at the beaches of Nosara, Costa Rica, The Gilded Iguana Hotel brings casual relaxation, comfort and excellent service to the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. One of the most famous and well loved vacation destination hotels in Nosara for surfers, expats, families and adventure holidayers. **NEWS** - Gilded Iguana has been sold to new owners - but is sure to be better than ever for open Nov 2014. All reservations still valid! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gilded Iguana Hotel

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Price Range: RM223 - RM447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Gilded Iguana Hotel Costa Rica/Nosara
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#7 Family Hotel in Nosara
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gilded Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gilded Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring ear plugs if you get a room without a/c and windows”
 of 5 bubbles suentony2016, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Other rooms were bungalows in the back, probably more private. We enjoyed the fridge and coffee pot in our room.”
 of 5 bubbles aliciachristopher, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The A/C room was nice to have, though I'm not certain it was necessary.”
 of 5 bubbles johndX6379RL, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I stayed upstairs for more breeze and was very comfortable without AC”
 of 5 bubbles 816marke, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Rooms away of the pool are less noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles marymO663TB, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5