We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Galileo Donovaly

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Galileo Donovaly
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 22: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Galileo Donovaly
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

They left us waiting to check in over an hour without any proper answer when the room will be ready. There was noone else at the reception waiting to check in only us. Receptionist's customer service should improved a lot Temperature in the room was too hot, slept with windows open and in underwear. The heaters were completely switched off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martina K
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Martina, we would like to respond to your complaint. We feel very sorry about your negative experience. However there are some inconsistencies in the review you posted. Probably you're writing for someone from your family, as any guest with your name was not staying in our hotel. Check in is possible after 2pm. Guests are informed about the...

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

One of the most amazing hotel wellnesses....did not expect that. Super calm, not busy, service is perfect and the saunas are still barely used. Low price and non-hotel guests are also welcome. Open till 10pm which is very comfy after ski.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zsófia Rozália P
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this review

Dear Zsófia Rozália, thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed time in our spa and you were satisfied with quality of our services . We hope to see you again and very soon. Best regards Your Hotel Galileo**** Donovaly

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed in this hotel out of season however it gave us the feel that the hotel was still buzing. Great were excellent Great car park under the hotel. Only thing I would warn people that the amazing spars and fitness centre on top floor, you have to be TOTALLY NAKED to use :) A bit shocked at first but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G33275
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Use to North America 5 star service due to my job but this team on October 4th Tuesday night and following morning was incredible. We enjoyed every minute of our short stay and were sorry to leave would have stayed longer but our itinerary was too busy to allow us. Selection of Slovakian wines on wine list and knowledgeable stuff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _Martina_lon
Hungary
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel in Donovaly. The restaurant excellent. Delicious meals. Friendfull staff. Tipp: enjoy the local specility "haluski with brinza chees' and the grilled duck with cabbage. Absolutely delicious. Nice view from the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kovacs007
Hammerfest, Norway
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We spent 4 days there, and it was a big disappointment what we felt. No one except the receptionist speaks English or German. The houskeeping always tried to clean our room late in the afternoon, when the ski slopes are already closed and almost everyone wants to rest in the room or spa, so it was really annoying for us....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna H
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

The carpark was full after our arrival, so we were little bit disappointed. Many people goes to local restaurant close to the hotel, and hotel is close to the main road which is busy. Breakfast was ok, but there was not variety of food. Lift always busy, we used rather stairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxinko83
Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

I love this hotel.it is situated in the heart of Donovaly. Rooms are clean and the interior is made with sense.I feel really good here. The kitchen is fabulous, with perfect service! We uses to be here almost every month from the beginnig and its still better and better. If u wanna stay in the hotel you can use SPA...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Zuzana B
Doha
Reviewed 26 December 2014 via mobile

This must be the best hotel in the valley of Donovaly. We are currently enjoying a live gypsy band in the 5 star restaurant after a wonderful meal. We've spent a week enjoying the accommodation with the very helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JohnLambert-Smith
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is a real 4 stars. The entire staff was very friendly which is pretty rare in Slovakia. The food at the restaurant was fine - Slovak specialities was really interesting. Soft drinks and alcohol are not so expensive and the lounge room is cosy, homely. The room was very clean, spacious and agreeable. Nothing special to say about...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ValekMiro

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donovaly hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#1 of 5 in Donovaly
47 reviews
0.5 km away
Sport Hotel Donovaly
Sport Hotel Donovaly
#2 of 5 in Donovaly
19 reviews
0.6 km away
Patty Apartments
Patty Apartments
#3 of 5 in Donovaly
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Apartments Tatran
Apartments Tatran
#4 of 5 in Donovaly
13 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Encian
Hotel Encian
#3 of 7 in Donovaly
9 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Gardenia
Villa Gardenia
#1 of 7 in Donovaly
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo Donovaly

Address: Donovaly 196, Donovaly 976 39, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Donovaly
Price Range: RM458 - RM477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galileo Donovaly 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Galileo Donovaly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Galileo Donovaly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room on the back side of the hotel. No gallery but less loud if there's some party down the hotel.”
ValekMiro, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room on front of hotel so you can see the slops.”
virginiag809, 13 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony”
  • bathroom
  • Bedroom
gardenofengland, 26 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If you must stay here, don't allow them to put you in a room directly above the restaurant. It will be loud!”
288larryb, 23 May 2013 | Read review
“rooms in the front are sunny and view out is magical”
veve_sweetie, 20 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5