We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

1.5 km from Pauanui centre
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 604: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here some time back. The place was gorgeous. We had beautiful room. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. It was just so serene. The food was amazing too. Nigel from the restaurant was very hospitable :) would definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pooja S
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Pooja Thank you for sharing your review of Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We will be sure to pass on your comment regarding Nigel directly to him and the F&B team. it serves as great encouragement for them all See you again soon

Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I organised our stay with the Mareile of the Conference and Events team. Nothing appeared to be too difficult to resolve and our two day stay went very smoothly despite other events making the hotel very busy. The staff were eager to help, especially in the dining room and bar. The food was outstanding. Unfortunately, WiFi was an extra charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetneter
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Jetneter Thank you for sharing your review of Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort with the TripAdvisor community. Ill pass on your very kind comments about Mareile to the whole team. I note your comments about wifi and we don't disagree. We do have wifi in the rooms now which is only new but due to our regional location we...

Caringbah, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay over the Christmas break. It is a beautiful set up, with little tree house like rooms. Unfortunately we found it was very expensive for what you get. However, on a positive, the food in the restaurant was impeccable, but the common things such as Wifi, you had to pay for. These small touches are important...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kharris92
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi kharris92 Thank you for your review of Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations for the money spent and for this I truly apologise. Our room rates are dynamic due to demand and the Christmas period is the peak period for us. if your looking for some exceptional...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice stop when visiting Cathedral Cove area. Resort had good amenities such as gym, pool and tennis courts. Well maintained and private duplex style rooms. A 20 min drive to restaurants... but worth it for the private deck overlooking dense woods.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Kenneth Thank you for your review of Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort It sounds like you made great use of the resort and local attractions during your stay. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here. The hotel and accommodation are very good but what was exceptional this visit was the excellent assistance provided by Misha at reception. She went above and beyond her role in assisting us upon our late arrival. It is this sort of help that does make the difference and casts a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregght
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Gregght Thank you for choosing to stay at the Puka Park Resort, Grand Mercure. We pride ourselves on providing genuine service and those little extra touches that make a stay memorable. It’s great to hear you had a great experience with us. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in...

New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been to three theme nights on a Monday - Texas, Indonesian and Chilean. $34 per person, including a glass of house wine or beer, and dessert, for the buffet. It represents extremely good value, and the food was very good on all three occasions. There are hot and cold offerings. You must book. Of course, the views are amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMLNewZealand
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello BMLNewZealand Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so proud of our Discover Monday buffets! Chef Remy is extremely passionate and will love hearing your comments. We have a new menu calendar coming out next week with some amazing cuisines. make sure you go on to our facebook...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very enjoyable lunch on the deck overlooking native bush to views of Pauanui and the sea. The mains were nice but the desserts were superb. This chef is good. The cost of the meal is comparable to the very average restaurants in the Pauanui Village but the value and the vista of Miha Restaurant is vastly superior....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrantHay
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Grant Thank you for posting such a positive review of the Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. I will pass on the comments to the chef in the kitchen responsible for making the desserts... He will be thrilled with this feedback See you again soon

South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Puka Park Resort was our big spend of our trip so we were certainly expecting something grand for $400 a night. Was a little disappointed at first to find the chalets were in pairs with a shared middle wall but we heard nothing from our neighbours who were a family so didn't mind this. The resort seems to perhaps be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lostsoul92
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lostsoul92 Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We normally prefer 5 star reviews but we are thrilled with your comment below and think its sums us up perfectly. "If you want something special and don't mind being away from the main sights then this is the place for you!" We...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The good... - lovely hotel with individual chalets clean and tidy - excellent food The bad... - location is abit of a walk to anything - chalets are spread out around resort and wouldn't be easy for anyone with mobility issues to get around - restaurant service is lacking, they could only give us a booking at 7:30pm, and by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi R
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Naomi Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Thanks for noting the positives in your stay, the chalets and food in Miha Restaurant. Ill try to address the negatives individually for you and the TripAdvisor community Our location is on the edge of Mount Pauanui and is 600m from the beach and...

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When you stay in a fully equipped cabin in the trees with a view looking out through huge fern trees you know it's very unique location. The cabins are amazing. They have so much character. You will love it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
bradleyconder, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Barry Thank you for your kinds works. We are in a unique location and we love sharing it with our guests. A little fact about us... we were built into Mt Pauanui on the original site of a Maori hospital and traditional place of wellness that is why many think Puka Park Lodge has a special ‘positive’ energy and...

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
26.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
463 reviews
18.8 km away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
172 reviews
3.0 km away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
302 reviews
22.0 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
382 reviews
26.7 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Price Range: RM561 - RM1,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have airconditioning; request one if it's exceptionally hot. Otherwise the rooms are cool.”
 of 5 bubbles jetneter, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms looked good”
 of 5 bubbles 616kennethh, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be aware of the steep terrain of this property, certain Chalets are more accessible than others”
 of 5 bubbles Scott255108, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“request a room closer to the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles Foreranger, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Kauri room with kitchen facilities”
 of 5 bubbles Chelep1508, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5