We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

GrandMercureUS$109*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$121*
US$109*
Great Deal
US$121*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 629: English reviews
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 November 2014

I recently organised accommodation for a group of staff and had the pleasure of dealing with Martina. She was very accommodating and helpful and kept me updated prior to the booking. Cannot speak more highly of her; would absolutely recommend - our staff also have great things to say about the hotel itself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atareta
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Atareta, Thank you for taking the time to post this review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's great to hear our amazing team of staff were so helpful and accommodating. They are a brilliant team and will go above and beyond to ensure all guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The property itself...

Creswick, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Just back from 13 lovely nights at Puka Park in a one bedroom chalet, with its very luxurious refurbishment. Kitchen area is small but functional and the chalet was spotless. Bed was very comfortable, with great amenities in the two bathrooms. The rainforest setting is simply beautiful and pool area and restaurant quite good. Staff were very helpful in transporting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoseandJeff
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi RoseandJeff, Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. It really is a beautiful and tranquil property, with unique chalets which overlook the beautiful surrounding bushland. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed...

Perth Western Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We had read all the reviews - most good, some pretty damning... I have to say that we were so very, very impressed and blown away by the absolute friendliness and charm of this lovely, lovely resort. When making our reservation, I did specify that we would prefer a refurbished chalet close to the restaurant and facilities (after reading the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Car0bella
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Car0bella, Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are extremely glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. It is certainly a unique property and, despite the fact there are some hills to climb, it is well worth it. Our refurbished...

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 October 2014

I have just spent three nights and four days at Puka Park and I found it so amazing and restful.Scott and the staff were truly dedicated to making my stay memorable,they certainly did that nothing was too much trouble.I was picked up and delivered to my room when I requested always opening doors carrying luggage right to your room.Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Horses4u
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Horses4u, Thank you for posting this review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic stay. It really is an idyllic location which provides the perfect setting for a relaxing getaway. Our newly refurbished apartments provide a comfortable, modern, and luxurious feel, while the resort has many...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Went there and stayed at one of the newly refurbished RIMU Chalets. The room was spacious, grand and very private. Nice balcony but no views - but lots of native bush right up to the rail. Great bed and very mondern bathroom with free-standing bath. The lighting in the bathroom was not very good (dimable) when needing the mirror. The...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stgeorgesonthebend
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi stgeorgesonthebend, Thank you for taking the time to post this review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our newly refurbished apartments really are beautiful, and the surroundings are certainly tranquil and private. It is quite a unique property and, being built into the...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alecanderson
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2014

This is a very pretty resort, very pretty and very hilly! The single chalets give a sense of tranquility and peace but if you've got a lot of luggage or you're not feeling fit, you may need to wait for staff with a buggy or choose somewhere else. While there is no wifi in the chalets, there is a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarlzL
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi MarlzL, Thank you for taking the time to post this feedback after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We're very glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. It really is such a beautiful and unique location with fantastic food and amenities available. It is disappointing to hear that you had a problem with wait...

Shanghai
Reviewed 29 September 2014

The service and attitude of the staff made this a bad bad experience, not inline with our expectations for a 4-star accor hotel, 'grand mercure' even. This is a hotel made up of chalets - so there is lots of walking involved as you cannot park your car close by, plus no wifi in the chalets. This is perhaps part...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Flora W
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sincerely sorry that you did not have the experience that you had hoped for. The hotel has been designed so that the rooms are nestled in the bush and as part of the architecture of the chalets there are cathedral ceilings with 2 triangular...

Reviewed 23 September 2014

This the best place to be if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle. We booked in a Rimu Suite for two nights over a wet weekend and what a great get away. We were in Chalet 49, which had our own private balcony looking right into the bushes. We didn't have a great view of anything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ClaudiaJHunt
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi ClaudiaJHunt, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. It really is a beautiful, tranquil location, which is perfect for a quite getaway at any time. With such a great location, and fantastic, newly-refurbished apartments overlooking the...

Reviewed 29 August 2014

The chalets were very nice and luxurious, we had 28 and 29. The only negative was the accessibility. We had to park in the car park and walk uphill to our chalet. This wasn't a comfortable walk at all and became very annoying, very quickly. Despite being advised we must park in the car park, not all guests followed these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nicole S, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It is certainly a unique property, and after our recent refurbishments, the chalets now have a very luxurious feel, which we are glad you enjoyed. To accommodate the amazing views from the property,...

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
26.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
480 reviews
18.8 km away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
177 reviews
3.0 km away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
312 reviews
26.7 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
419 reviews
1.1 km away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Price Range: RM537 - RM1,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a low room if you have mobility issues”
Carlydria, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want to walk to your chalet as opposed to using the golf cart vehicle, I suggest you ask for a chalet lower down the hill.”
DoveSydney_Australia, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a room close to the main building”
RestaurantCriticNYC, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our chalet 42/43 close to main building not far up the hill. other chalets are further up, staff golf buggy transports your luggage”
65Graham65, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one near the resturant as some of the hills are quite step to climb if you are not fit, they will come and get you in there golf carts and drop you back to the room as well so no problem the chef there has to one of the best ever as the food was amazing”
, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
GrandMercure
US$109* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$121
TripAdvisorUS$109
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates