We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tongariro Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tongariro Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tongariro Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the lodge and didn't leave disappointed! The chalets are extremely comfortable and surprisingly really warm! The view outside on our deck was beautiful! I loved waking up to the sound of soft chirping birds and fresh country air! The staff were super friendly, we loved meeting beau the dog too! The lodge restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happyash A
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable time at The Lodge and you took the time to enjoy the birds, the view, and the country air,as well as Beau. It is a beautiful spot, and its great that you could enjoy it. I am sorry about the spoons and bowls, we would have leant them to you had...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of hubby's 40th birthday celebration. The lodge had organised all the activities for me and the staff (Talia) went above and beyond making contact with the tour companies etc. The room was comfortable and clean. Wifi included. The food is also worth a mention. The cooked breakfasts were just delicious and the dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Pleased that your celebrations went well and that you enjoyed your time with us, and of course the food. We look forward to welcoming you back, when you are next in the area. Thanks & Happy travels.

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This is a Perfect place to stumble across, mountain closed due to high winds and torrential rain so no snowboarding, so we sat by the fire with a nice bottle of red, great atmosphere would be a great setting for a Stephen King movie. Staff were friendly and accomodating

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Changi11
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, I couldn't agree with you more, we are the perfect spot to come in from the cold and enjoy the fire, a glass of red, and warm ambience. Thanks for your feedback. Pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Summertime, its great on the deck with a...

Wellington
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our night away at Tongariro Lodge. Lovely surroundings for a crisp walk, a five minute jaunt to some old school hot pools and back at the Lodge for wines and an absolutely wonderful dinner at the restaurant ☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julieabby
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, we appreciate your feedback, and are pleased that you enjoyed the Lodge and what it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks

Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed overnight at Tongariro lodge. 2 bedroom villa it cost $399, 5 adults and one 3 year old child. They have tennis court and spa pool. The reception is so nice as well as the dining area. Nice and quiet place. Near the town, they got NEW WORLD Supermarket there. Everything was good except for the internet was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrla090984
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Its great that you enjoyed your time with us, and I am sorry about the internet issue. We have been upgrading the internet recently, and we did have a short time where there was no internet access to the Villa's, however we always have free Wifi...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Wanted a quiet weekend away, this is just what we had, welcome was wonderful, very special thanks to Becky very helpful nothing a problem. lovely Chalet although I must say starting to look a little tired. Surroundings wonderful loved waking up to the tui's.Great walk along the river nice it was so close.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mollyo_11
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found Becky helpful, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all the staff. With regards to the Chalet, we are currently upgrading the bathrooms in...

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Tongariro lodge on a three night anglers package, inclusive of chalet accommodation and all meals. The chalet was a very basic cabin with thin dividing walls, inadequate heating and NO WIFI. It offered nothing in the way of little luxuries such as bath robes or above basic toiletries. However the cabin was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_sundae64
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Lodge. I am pleased that you had a fabulous fishing experience and that our guide looked after you well. Also pleased you found the staff to be friendly. I am very sorry that so many other area's we didn't meet your expectations. I do want...

Reviewed 23 May 2016

This was our first time at tongariro lodge. The accomodation was excellent. I really appreciated how everything was top quality and very well planned for comfort. The restaurant served good quality healthy meals and the ambience was charming. The staff was extra helpful without being intruding. Overall great value for your money. Perfect stay if you are planning on doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreea M
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us. It is great that you enjoyed the Lodge. W agree that it is a great spot to stay to enjoy all that is on offer in the region, and also to enjoy the comfort of The Lodge and the 22 acres of park like...

Aberdeen, UK
Reviewed 22 April 2016

My wife and self stayed for 4 nights in early February, as part of our Ruby Wedding celebrations in NZ. The Lodge was well appointed and delightful in every respect. The food was unbelievably good, and the staff and managers were unfailingly helpful and efficient. Two comments: firstly, if you want guided fishing, then be sure to book it well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milne_don
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time and your Ruby Wedding celebrations with us at the Lodge. Thank you for taking the time out to give us your positive feedback, it is appreciated and will be passed on to all staff. We hope to see you back here to celebrate many more wedding anniversaries with us. Thank-you.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

We wanted to stay somewhere close to Tongariro national park as we planned to start the walk along the crossing early. Tongariro Lodge is located near town and within a beautiful compound. The property is well maintained, room is clean and spacious. We had dinner in the restaurant the night before as we wanted to go to bed early. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelvie
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chelvie, thanks for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Its great that you enjoyed The Lodge hospitality, and the Tongariro crossing. We get alot of guests staying with us that do the crossing, and it works really well. Appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
34.5 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,312 reviews
8.5 km away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
109 reviews
39.1 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.7 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
247 reviews
1.7 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: RM658 - RM2,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tongariro Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wide range of accommodation options from 5bdrm house to cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles NigelSWatts2013, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for the package deal.”
 of 5 bubbles brieberryw, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The friendly staff will put you in the best accommodation for your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles rjt89, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Opt for villa if you are a big group (turns out cheaper, self-contained and saves your restaurant bill).”
 of 5 bubbles bestbloke, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the edge of the property (17,18 & 19) seem to have a lot of road noise if the windows are left open at night.”
  • Paddock
  • The deck
  • View
  • View
  • Bedroom
  • Off the deck
 of 5 bubbles LvdW16, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay